We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very quiet and relaxing place, with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Pilari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Pilari
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
paris
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very quiet and relaxing place, with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

At the end of August I spent a few days with close friends and their little 4 year-old boy at Agriturismo Pilari. The cottage is located in a lovely valley, near an old castle and close to a sweet village (less than 1 min. by car) where one can find everything (grocery, nice cafés, excellent bakery, and even a restaurant).

The place is extremely quiet, the swimming pool is large and overlooks a wonderful countryside, and the cottage is perfectly clean and provided with all the needed comfort.
The owners are very warm, they even drove us to their wineyard uphills and took an hour to explain to us how they produced their own wine (which is actually very good !). We were also free to eat the figs and blackberries of their garden at anytime. The owners also organized a dinner on Saturday night, where all guests were invited. We really felt "at home" and most welcome.

It is mostly a location for those who want to relax and take profit of the "dolce vita" that such a breathtaking place allows. It is perfect for a honeymoon or for families with young children. The only counterpart is that, as the village is located between two steep hills, any trip further to Trasimeno, Cortona or Perugia takes between 20 (for the closest town) and more than 30 minutes, but the roads are so beautiful (and really not stressful) that, for us, it was not an issue.
We will definitely come back to Agriturismo Pilari !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been visiting Vanni and Diletta for 6 years now they have a wonderful property surrounded by beautiful Tuscan forest and mountains, the infinity swimming pool and jacuzzi are the best place to totally relax and take in the views
It is the perfect base to explore Tuscany and Umbria every year we discover a new gem from Seafood restaurants in Umbertide to a fantastic Nobile Capaverso made by Adriana Avignonesi
We have already re booked for next year as we have done for the passed six years to make sure we have our little peace of heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

A wonderful place, surrounded by the peace of the Tuscan countryside. You can go and see cities of art like Florence, Siena, Arezzo, Perugia or wonderful villages like Cortona, Città di Castello and the amazing small villages of the Val di Chiana, then come back in the afternoon, take off your clothes and refresh yourself ii the swimming pool! Here you could spend a few hours, immersed in water of the pool or the jacuzzi, watching the ruins of the gorgeous castel of Pierle, which is situated on the other side of the valley on a small hill, just listening to the sounds of nature.
All the apartments are very beautiful, well restored and furnished with taste.
The owners, Vanni and Diletta with their two children, are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

The place is amazing and for those who are looking for relaxation is the best you can imagine, the house is sorrounded by secular trees and the valley is far enogh away from the noise of cars. The owners, a nice family with two children, are really the best we could wish, i can define them with two words: kindness without intrusiveness. The cultural destination are within easy day trip, whereas nature is at hand every day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mec_971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Situated in a gorgeous, oak-lined valley on the Southern border of Tuscany, this property will give you access to the deepest rural lifestyle enjoyed in Italy.
If you are looking for somewhere quiet, relaxed and in touch with nature you will certainly find it here. The properties have been recently renovated in the Tuscan style and are based on the original farm buildings, fully modernised.
At the time of the renovation a new pool was installed with a built-in jacuzzi all placed sympathetically into the landscape and surrounded by the natural woodland.
The proprietors, Vanni & Diletta, are delightful people offering personal and friendly service and who will help in any way to improve the quality of your holiday.
Within reach of Perugia, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Orvieto and even Florence and Assisi, you can readily go exploring Italy's history and splendour and be home in time for dinner.
The nearby village of Mercatale offers every facility you might require and appears to be populated by very friendly people. There is an abundance of excellent eating establishments within easy reach and the honest local food is exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
11.6 mi away
Agriturismo Agrisalotto
Agriturismo Agrisalotto
#4 of 79 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.2 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pilari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pilari

Property: Agriturismo Pilari
Address: C.S. Val di Pierle 116, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm is situated in Val di Piele, a small valley next to lake of Trasimeno, between Toscana and Umbria.Here you can spend a beautifull time full of nature. You can also visit the most important towns and places of the two countries (es. Cortona, Assisi, Firenze, Siena etc...).Pilari apartments are in the ancient village that is the farm heart and its origins are lost in the past. The oldest part of the village was built as a watch tower of Pierle castle near the XIII century. This castle was a very important fortress for Pierle valley and now it is a very important sign of the history valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing