We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and affordable find!”
Review of Dolce Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolce Maria
Ranked #3 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful and affordable find!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This intimate B&B has everything you could want for a visit to Cortona. Located in a beautifully restored palazzo just a few minutes away from Cortona's main piazza, the guest rooms are full of the charm and character you would hope for when visiting this lovely medieval city. And for a town that can be expensive, it's surprisingly affordable given such outstanding quality. My room was light and airy with nice views over the rooftops. The hotel is run by family members who own and operate the hotel and the adjacent restaurant (Locanda al Pozzo Antico, also very good). It's clear that they take great pride in the work they have done in the transformation of the palazzo and in the quality of service they provide to their guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGPene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
106
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at Dolce Maria for four nights and was delighted by the rooms and service I received. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the family whether keeping your coffee topped up or enjoying the homemade jams available and making sure the free wifi works. I would heartily recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Dolce Maria on Friday and were utterly delighted with our choice. Paola and her mama Dina are a treat and very gracious. Cortona itself is authentically wonderful and everything you would expect from a small medieval town in he Tuscany region. Having read about one of the rooms (La Torretta) from other trip advisor reviews, I was very excited to learn it was available. The room itself offers extremely comfortable sleeping accommodations, a fully renovated, beautiful, up-to-date bathroom and of couse "the hidden treasure" - a small door in the back of the room opens up to a narrow, castle-like, stone, spiral staircase, which eventually leads to a small private terrace with a View To Die For !! ( Do not drink too much wine before attempting to navigate this staircase!) Our only regret was that we did not eat dinner in Paola's restaurant, choosing instead to walk around and eat in the square. Had we stayed more than a night, we definitely would have loved to have taken Paola's cooking class. Additionally the breakfast served was delicious, especially the cappuccino! It is also worth mentioning that the Dolce Maria is literally steps away from the center square, where you will find wonderful little shops and trattorias. The only thing you will not find, however, is the fountain pictured in the movie filmed in Cortona, Under The Tuscan Sun. A local resident, who happened to speak some English, advised that it was just a movie prop!! Nonetheless, Cortona is a magnificent place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bethg0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Dolce Maria is absolutely everything you could want from a B&B in a small Tuscan town. The building is straight from a storybook. Paola, her family and staff are wonderful hosts, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious (her mother bakes different things to add to the breakfast spread and is there to make espresso or cappuccino, as you prefer). The internet is strong and though there's no elevator, the stairs aren't that steep or difficult. The B&B is on a quiet street a block from the main square.
I was in Cortona over New Year's and Paola made me feel incredibly welcome; I'm so grateful to her and everyone at Dolce Maria! I enjoyed several wonderful meals at her restaurant next door, as well. I can't wait to go back and try a cooking class!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justtojess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Within about half an hour of arriving at Dolce Maria and exploring our beautiful room (we had the Torretta, which, as other reviews mention, includes a secret, windy back staircase up to a small rooftop deck with a breathtaking view), we decided to ask Paola (the owner) if we could extend our stay an extra night. We were so glad we did. We don't always like B&B's--sometimes we'd prefer to be anonymous guests than share meals and close quarters with fellow travelers--but this place afforded the perfect balance of privacy and interaction with our wonderful hosts. Our room, which let in oodles of sunlight that bounced around a space with 15-20 foot ceilings, felt like an upscale hotel room. Our cooking class with Paola and Simone was one of the most memorable experiences (and meals) of our trip. Cortona in mid-December was just lively enough to hold its wonderful charm but quiet enough that, when we made the trek to the top of the town, we were completely alone staring out across the Tuscan vista. Because it wasn't a busy time, Paola and her family could afford to bare the full extent of their generosity. We spent mornings chatting with Paola's mother over (yummy) breakfast cakes, evenings by the fire in Paola's excellent restaurant, Locando al Pozzo Antico, and days exploring nearby towns by car. We had a particularly fun visit to the Cantine Faralli (http://www.cantinefaralli.com/), a small winery run by friends of Paola who readily agreed to host us when Paola called them on our behalf. Dolce Maria is the type of place you hope to return to again.

Room Tip: Request the Torretta room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liskin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Dolce Maria was a great guest house in Cortona and Paola and her family were lovely hosts. We stayed in quite a few b&b places on our trip but Dolce Maria clearly had the best breakfast. Nonna makes the best cakes! The rooms were excellent, and certainly was a reflection of the beautiful setting which Cortona enjoys. Our rooms both had ensuites and we could control the heat which was pretty important as it got a little cool as we stayed in early December. I would highly recommend the guest house for anyone looking to stay in central Cortona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed one night in Dolce Maria and loved it. We were in need of a place to stay as our previous two-night booking had not worked out. We decided to take our chances and walked around Cortona in search of a room. We happened upon Dolce Maria, much to our good fortune. The owner, Paola, met us and showed us her available room which was lovely, beautifully furnished, very clean and had a modern bathroom. We instantly agreed to take the room and as a bonus, Paola showed us the steps leading up to a small patio with a spectacular Western view of the valley below Cortona. Just breathtaking. We enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the sunset from the "torreta". The following morning we were offered breakfast, included in the price of the room, served in an upstairs apartment with Paola's charming mother in charge. The food was excellent and the buffet included some home-baked goods. Dolce Maria turned out to be one of the more memorable stays we had during our three weeks in Italy. Do not hesitate to book here! The prices are very reasonable and there is an excellent restaurant attached to the B&B.

Room Tip: The tower room is lovely...there are steps to navigate and no lift. If that is not a problem for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#10 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Maria

Property: Dolce Maria
Address: Via Ghini 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 meters far from the main square, the B & B Dolce Maria enjoys peace and silence back in time. The old building of historical interest from 1400, above the main floor where resident the family owner has 6 exclusive rooms of different sizes, with suggestive panoramic on the roofs of Cortona and Valdichiana, or which overlook the quiet courtyard.Each room is furnished with antique furniture of the family, which gave a further elegance with frescoed walls and important windows high 3 meters, without depriving the modern comforts of air conditioning, The entrance to the house at number 12 entroduce in an elegant corridor that leads to 3 upper floors through the ancient stairs with handrails in sandstone, or give access to small and elegant restaurant where you can taste the delicious dishes of typical local and Tuscan cuisine accompanied by the best national wine labels. A few steps from the B & B are also the most important buildings, monuments, museums, the S. Agostino congres center, the theater Signorelli, the shopping streets and far 80 meters the free public car parks outside the Etruscan walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dolce Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing