We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful find!”
Review of Dolce Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolce Maria
Ranked #4 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful find!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from two wonderful weeks in Italy and Cortona and Dolce Maria were definite highlights. Paola and her husband run this cute B&B and their restaurant, Locando al Poso Antico, in an ancient stone building just a short walk from the main square. We had a spacious room with a turret that, after a short climb on winding stone stairs, gave us a breathtaking view of the rooftops of Cortona and the beautiful valley below. What a spot to enjoy a bottle of Barollo!

Room Tip: Ask for the turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_duo_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
107
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were originally going to stay in palazzo, a country estate owned by the same family as Dolce Maria but upon arrival, we realized that the weather was going to be poor and we would prefer to stay in the center of Cortona. We called Paula (the owner) to cancel our accommodation. She told us that she had an alternative option called Dolce Maria. Within minutes she arrived in the country to lead us by car to the B&B. We had the most incredible experience. The rooms were emasculate, the staff were friendly and accommodating, and Paula is just a burst of energy. The restaurant was fabulous, there was free wi-if, the breakfast was unbelievable, and the location was prime! We became friends with the family and will definitely return in the future. Paula, her husband Franco, son Jonny, and the grandmother were some of the friendliest and most welcoming people I have ever met. I give them 5 stars and highly recommend for a unique and authentic experience in the heart of cortona.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was an amazing place with friendly, helpful staff, fabulous food and amazing accommodations. This was our favorite Tuscan experience. The location is in the center of town, very convenient. The family became ours and we miss them. They offer cooking classes that seems amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved our stay in the Finestre room of this bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived we were treated like we were family. Nonna who speaks no English did her best and got us through check in, moving our car, and when to come back for dinner. At dinner we met her grandson who works in the restaurant and is great at making recommendations for everything from to dinner to wine to dessert. Oh - and for a European room - this was HUGE by any standard!!! The room was enormous and the bathroom was fantastic. The breakfast in the morning is large with coffee made by nonna as well as fresh baked pastries. The price point is a steal. If you are staying in Cortona, stay and eat here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Dolce Maria exceeded my expectations. When planning our trip, one girlfriend was persistent about booking this B&B, and I'm so glad we did. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. The food was wonderful, and I had two of my best meals here. We did participate in a cooking class which was so much fun, informative and the highlight of our stay. Paola and Simona (as well as the rest of their staff) couldn't have been nicer. Their hospitality made us feel like family. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here......you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leecee131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After booking our one night stay at Dolce Maria we received a gushing email from Paola saying she was looking forward to welcoming us and that if there was anything she could do in the meantime not to hesitate to get in touch. I swiftly emailed her back to ask if we could have a travel cot in our room as we were travelling with our 3 month old baby. When we arrived there was no cot and when we asked for one were met with a frosty reception from Paola who seemed rushed of her feet and it felt very much that we were inconveniencing her. The woman we met was very different from the woman with the friendly tone that emailed us. She did drive my husband down the hill to pick up our bags which was extremely nice of her but she was not pleased about doing it and made it quite clear that was the case. Awkward.

That night we ate in their restaurant which was nice, but nothing more than nice. There were a large group of Italians eating that night and we were rather neglected because of this and had to fight to be served. My husband asked for a beer with his meal which was met with raised eyebrows. A member of staff went out to buy a beer from a shop (a restaurant with no beer?) and we were on our first course by the time it got to the table! While the food wasn't bad, we have definitely eaten better in Italy.

There was limited choice at breakfast and staff stand by and watch your every move at the buffet table which once again was awkward. While the cake was tasty we found it a bit odd to have cake for breakfast. Not really what you fancy eating so early in the day.

Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.

All in all we found the Dolce Maria wasn't quite what we were expecting after all the good reviews we had read, and well, frankly it was a bit odd.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful, rustic, characteristic hotel and I would have loved to extend the stay. The location is great within the walls of Cortona. The rooms are nicely decorated with unique chandeliers. The bathrooms are very modern. The B&B is very clean. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the service was great. The highlight of our stay was the cooking lesson. It was so informative and very interactive and we enjoyed our food that was great. I would recommend the Dolce for a wonderful stay in Cortona!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
359 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Maria

Property: Dolce Maria
Address: Via Ghini 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 meters far from the main square, the B & B Dolce Maria enjoys peace and silence back in time. The old building of historical interest from 1400, above the main floor where resident the family owner has 6 exclusive rooms of different sizes, with suggestive panoramic on the roofs of Cortona and Valdichiana, or which overlook the quiet courtyard.Each room is furnished with antique furniture of the family, which gave a further elegance with frescoed walls and important windows high 3 meters, without depriving the modern comforts of air conditioning, The entrance to the house at number 12 entroduce in an elegant corridor that leads to 3 upper floors through the ancient stairs with handrails in sandstone, or give access to small and elegant restaurant where you can taste the delicious dishes of typical local and Tuscan cuisine accompanied by the best national wine labels. A few steps from the B & B are also the most important buildings, monuments, museums, the S. Agostino congres center, the theater Signorelli, the shopping streets and far 80 meters the free public car parks outside the Etruscan walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dolce Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing