We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolce Maria
Nearby Hotels
$145
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
$444
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo il Melone(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Il Casale(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$74
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oasi Neumann(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
$585
$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loggio(Cignano)
$250
$238
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
187
39
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
39
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspozzo anticomain piazzab bthe ownercakesplace to stayspacious roomprivate bathtop flooryogurttrain stationmotherdinaluggagemamaromecappuccino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 231 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

All the praise in the posts preceding mine is absolutely justified.The beautiful old building is in the quieter part of town and during our stay we noted the absence of tour groups giving the town a very relaxed feel. We spent 6 nights here to wind down before the long haul home and had the large room with the spiral staircase. The view from the terrace it serves is sensational and because it has a westerly aspect it's the perfect place for an early evening prosecco whilst watching the sunset. We found the free WiFi signal nice and strong despite the very thick walls. If you love food and wine then you must eat in the restaurant here. Rated #2 in town the food and wine selection is brilliant. Paola is indeed the perfect host .Absolutely charming My wife had a terrible cold for a few days and Paola would sympathetically enquire, 'come sta?'

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otiswallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dolce Maria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice and warm words to our B& B Dolce Maria. We are very happy that you spent a nice time here in Cortona and that you enjoyed the room and the services offered as well.Everyday we hard work in order to let our guests feel like at home and to give them all the comfort needed.
We really appreciate your review and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

For my first experience in Italy, the was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is a perfect place to stay, close to the center piazza of town. Paola was an excellent hostess and very helpful. Our room was great, complete with a winding spiral staircase to a rooftop lookout, that overlooked the valley below. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dolce Maria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank's a lot for the beautiful review about our B&B Dolce Maria. It's a big pleasure for us knowing that the room, the services and the staff satisfyed your expectactions.
Come back to visit us in Cortona when you like : you're welcome!
Best Regards from Tuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this B & B.
The B & B is traditional Italian with antique furniture.
The owners and staff are a delight.
Especially the grandma ,she was so sweet even though she spoke no English.
Our room and bath were very clean and roomy.
My husband was very pleased to see 2 arm chairs in our room,where he could relax.
Definitely would stay here again.
Beware...there is no lift.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the breakfast room, with a canopy bed, and a mini refrigerator.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallym808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dolce Maria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much that you spent your stay in our B&B Dolce Maria and than's as well for the beautiful review. We are very happy to know that you spet a nice and relaxing time here in Cortona and that you appreciated the location, the room and the services offered.
All the staff thank you and hope you'll come back again for a new holiday in Tuscany.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed just one night, but enjoyed it. The hotel is in a good location in town, and the restaurant in the hotel served us late and was excellent. We had a room right at the top of the building and really felt as if we had stepped back in time !
The wifi is a little eccentric but did work most of the time, and we couldn't get the a/c to work, but neither were really a problem for us. We would stay there again if in the area, but would just add that it is not a good choice for anyone with difficulty walking or climbing lots of stairs.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Binty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dolce Maria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your beautiful review and for choosing the B&B Dolce Dormire for your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the stay here in Cortona and that you liked the room we reserved for you. As per a/c we are sorry you could not get it to work but if you told it to us we surely had helped you.
We really hope you'll come back to visit us for a new holiday.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was an excellent choice. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Our room was spacious and wonderfully decorated with traditional Italian antique furniture. It was very clean and comfortable. We booked a twin room and were delighted with the room we were given which had 2 large double beds in it (there were 2 of us and the room was 100euro a night). The bathroom was perfect with a strong shower. The location is excellent in the centre of the old town, a minute's walk from the central Town Hall and piazza. The restaurant was excellent and we ate there every night. The owner is absolutely lovely as is her Mother. There was great personal attention such that I have never received before in all my travels. For example, on hearing I was coeliac they baked wheat free cakes for me and provided wheat free bread, toasted so as to avoid all normal bread crumbs at all meals. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone staying in Cortona. It would suit couples, families, friends and people travelling by themselves. I would highly recommend it to anyone and especially to anyone who is coeliac. There did not seem to be a lift (though I didn't check this) so anyone who has difficulty climbing stairs should probably mention this to the owner when booking so they can accommodate you on a lower floor. The owner on seeing our large suitcase immediately carried it all the way to the top floor with me- she was a great hostess and very helpful and friendly. I couldn't imagine a nicer place to have stayed in Cortona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Dolce Maria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

It's a big pleasure for us reading a such beautiful review about our B&B Dolce Maria. This B&B is a passion for us and not only a job so we do our best to take care about everything in order to let our guests feel as at home. We really thank you for all the compliments to our staff, to the rooms and the restaurant as well. We are happy that you spent a nice time in Cortona and the location was usefull to visit the area.
Thank you from part of the personell and from Paola and her Mother's. Their are very kind and nice with all our guests.
We really look forward from seeing you soon for a new holiday in Tuscany,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews