We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an attraction, not anymore”
Review of Bramasole

Bramasole
Ranked #14 of 56 things to do in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 200-year old farmhouse lovingly restored by travel author Frances Mayes.
Cortona, Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It was an attraction, not anymore”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bramasole, the original house of Frances Mayes, author of the famous book, "Under the Tuscan sun" ,soon after the movie was screened, every American tourist wanted to visit the house and to take a photo there, now, when I offer ,as an hotel owner, to my guests to visit the house, the say that there are other more interesting things to visit, which I agree with them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank LaMucchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

From piazza garibaldi go left and downward as you gaze at the view of the valley, walk through the delightful park pass the indoor tennis court , keep going past the sweetest house sitting on the edge of the road. Stay to your left: its the second house on the left just past the american looking bed and breakfast. The house is sort of pink, the gardens immaculate.
Worth the walk...would you go to paris without seeing the Eifel tour? It's all part of the adventure!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank sylviarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just finished off the whole trip, also saw author Frances Mayes in town.a bit tricky to find but ask at the hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan Sun”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you've ever seen the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun . . . you can make the movie mean more to you by visiting Bramasole. Who knows . . . Francis may be there and invite you in for a limoncello. We just bought her new cookbook.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TomRossAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tuscan Sun Villa”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have driven past Bramasole on each of our 4 trips to Cortona. Every time I see it I remember reading about it in "Under the Tuscan Sun". I always put a few wildflowers in the vase that the old man left in the shrine in the wall. It is truly a magical place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Pielady_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramasole also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bramasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing