We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We only saw it from the road but it was beautiful!”

Santa Maria del Calcinaio
Ranked #18 of 56 things to do in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1485 by engineer and architect Francesco di Giorgio (1439-1501,) this church is a fine example of Renaissance architecture with its octagonal-domed shape.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We only saw it from the road but it was beautiful!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I`m into photography and loved the way the old church stood out. I wish we would have gone inside. We were on our way to Celle, where St. Francis of Assisi lived at one time and just pulled over to take a photo of the church. Next time we`ll go inside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful elegance and grace”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This church is so immense from the road that we had to visit...beautiful and elegant without all the rah rah of Rome...A very spiritual place

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cpolleyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Phew good to get there!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good walk up the hill...bland out side appearance but beautiful inside, welcome cool air within! Fantastic site at the top of the hill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet prayer time all alone!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The day I found the Chiesa di Santa Maria, I was the only person in the church except for the lone man who was cleaning it.....the perfect time to say my prayers for the day. Its seemingly plain exterior belies the lovely and serene interior. Was worth the trek down and back up the moderately long path to the main road from outside the walled city of Cortona.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Miern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria del Calcinaio also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Santa Maria del Calcinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing