We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa dei Venti
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have stayed here many times when traveling to Italy. It is a delightful place to stay for so many reasons. The Micheli family which owns and manages the property, are the nicest people you will ever meet. They are great hosts and very accommodating. The cooking class and luncheon should not be missed. They make their own wine, olive oil, apple products, etc.
You will feel right at home at Rosa dei Venti.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italianjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We can't say enough wonderful things about Rosa dei Venti and the family that lives/runs/owns it. Barbara and Stefano are the sister and brother that are on site to help with everything you need.
Our first evening we got turned around and called Barbara for help. She drove around until she found us, then led us to the store we were trying to find. Talk about going above and beyond! Stefano was equally wonderful when he helped me with the computer and checking us out.
They sell there own wine and olive oil, and they are really good. They help you with anything you could possibly run into. We really felt like we were in a place as close to home as possible.
Our ONLY complaint was the mattress was terrible. But, you'll find in Italy most all mattresses suck.
The grounds were beautiful and meticulously maintained. The pool was crystal clear, and the surroundings were extremely peaceful. A great retreat every evening. We were able to have WiFi for only 5 euros/week. Super great deal. We were only able to get reception in front of or in the office though. Not a huge deal. Just happy to communicate with family and delete 100's of junk mail.
The location is great. Great central location to get around that area. Definitely invest in a GPS with Italy map. Saved us soooooo many times. Many confusing "road signs" in this region.
We WILL go back next time we go to Italy. We can't imagine a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We didn't see a bad one. I really don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmsrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
489 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The apartment we stayed at was really nice, the grounds beautiful and it was just far enough away from everything to be peaceful but remain convenient.

I can't say enough nice things about the way Barbara treated us. She gave us directions to grocery stores and other places. She made recommendations about our trips to Venice and other spots and was truly amazing.

This villa is one of the nicest places I have stayed in Italy and I would highly recommend it. It's more than just a pretty view, it's service and vacationing like it was meant to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is our second visit to Rosa Dei Venti and while I didn't think it possible, it was better than the last time we visited. The Micheli Family are wonderful to all their guests.
We have told our friends to try and plan a visit to the Villa. It makes a great home base to see the rest of Tuscany. We had the family cook one evening during our stay and it was outstanding. Be sure to schedule their special dinner during your visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A beautiful place in a beautiful surrounding. Large, clean and very good equiped appartments in a very nice garden. The owners Barbara and Stefano do anything to make your stay perfect. After a visit in one of the cities/villages in the neighbourhood it was good to come back and enjoy the large swimmingpool.

Room Tip: All appartments are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoutenHouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Villa Rosa dei Venti is a fantastic facility in a beautiful setting. After our last trip to “the Villa” we knew that we would enjoy another stay, and arranged to return with family and friends. It was even better the second time. Many historic sites are within easy distance of the Villa, and daytime excursions find a perfect counterpart in relaxed evenings in this idyllic country setting. The addition of some WIFI capabilities was a welcome surprise. The grounds and structure are lovingly tended by the Micheli family, who made us feel welcome once again. High marks and strong recommendations.

Michael & Toni Palsson

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpalsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Beautifully renovated 100 year old family property.
The owners are delightful - very interested in making your trip memorable. Happy, hard working, and eager to please.
Ample breakfast basket included.
Cooking building recently completed - offers full Italian cooking classes.
Units tastefully renovated, clean, well appropriated.
Swimming pool overlooking the countryside.
Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefree58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
0.0 mi away
Villa Toscana La Mucchia
0.0 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa dei Venti

Property: Villa Rosa dei Venti
Address: Via Quaratola 71 | Creti di Cortona, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Rosa dei Venti" estate spreads over 25 hectares in the municipal district of Cortona. Its lands enjoys a favourable location, are well exposed to the sunlight and are suitable for the cultivation of olive trees, grapevines, wheat, sunflowers and apples. Two farmhouses are located within the estate: Villa "Rosa dei venti" and the "Vecchia Fattoria". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing