We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Ugo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Ugo
Ranked #15 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked all three of the villas that make up Villa Ugo at the recommendation of a friend who had previously stayed to house friends and family for a wedding in Cortona.

We weren't quite sure what to expect as we had noticed that there were a few mediocre reviews on Tripadvisor and it was hard to tell exactly from the website.

However, I can unequivocally say it was Villa Ugo and the owners who made the wedding and the holiday both for us (the wedding couple) and the 26 other people who stayed in the three villas.

Just by way of background I should mention that we booked 4 or 5 other villas off different companies in the same region so we have a good overview of the equivalent accommodation. Villa Ugo was not only the best located but also the best fit out with high quality decoration and glasswear etc. but also - unlike several of the others - it is done with a sense of style.

Back to the villas themselves. There are three arranged in a line with Villa Ugo at the center. You can rent them on there own or altogether. Each of them has views over the valley and a pool. Each is decorated beautifully and spacious. And surrounding them is the picture perfect landscape that Tuscany is so famous for.

I have noticed that a previous review commented on the wireless and that was a concern to us. Wireless is available; you just have to accept that it is only at certain places at each of the villas due to the fact that the walls are nearly a metre thick and Italy does not have the best IT infrastructure. We had no problems and many people worked throughout the week (their loss).

Finally the hosts, I cannot thank them enough. They are now and will permanently be on our Christmas card list and the first thank you letter we write to people for the wedding presents will be to them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TominSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

While our overall experience was OK with Villa Nello, there were several issues that potential renters should be made aware of. First, we specifically asked about wireless internet access from the Villa, and were told that it was available. Actually, it wasn't. We had to walk about 5 minutes to Villa Ugo to access the internet. This was one of my primary requirements of where we stayed in Italy, so I am very disappointed that we were mislead.

There were problems with appliances. The coffee pot had to be replaced, and the "new" one we got was used and dirty. The washing machine leaked, and a repairman had to be called. It wasn't repaired until the day before we left. Places like this (i.e. expensive) should keep spares available so that the renter doesn't have to wait for things to be fixed.

We had to repair a shutter in one of the bedrooms to keep it from banging in windy conditions.

While we were aware that the villa was remote, we didn't know we would have to drive up a steep driveway with several switch backs to reach the villa. It was very difficult to negotiate in a large van (there were seven of us in one vehicle). Nothing in the property description prepared us for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Byrne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaUgo, Owner at Villa Ugo, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback.
We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the internet. Unfortunately Cortona is not well served as far as wifi is concerned and occasionally we have problems with the connection. However, by next season, we guarantee an implement of the internet access to all properties.
Our major concern is for the agencies to inform the guests of the steep driveway that takes to the villa. I am sorry that you weren't aware of this before hand. Villa Ugo is in a unique position that allows all the guests to appreciate the countryside and its silence. The road was built in the 17th century and we have purposely maintained its characteristic.
Regarding the appliances, the wash machine has a security system that does not allow its opening for 5 minutes after terminating the washing cycle. That is the reason why it leaked, the technician tells us that the door was forced before the ending of the washing cycle. This happened on Wednesday evening and the technician could come only on Friday morning. A twenty four hour laps of time between the breaking of the dish washer and its repairing is standard timing in a small town like Cortona.
For what concerns the coffee pot, you informed us on early Sunday morning. In order to supply you immediately with another pot we lent you our personal one that was not dirty but simpy used.
Villa Ugo is a Luxury holiday home and differently from luxury hotel doesn't supply the guests with some hotel services, on the other hand staying in a luxury holiday home gives you the quietness that a luxury hotel would not give you. As for everything, it is a matter of choices.

Kind Regards,

The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Enchanting! We have had THE holiday of our lives. The view is astounding, the villa is more than beautiful, and the host Ugo is so care taking. Cortona is worth visiting if Villa Ugo is your holiday home...it just makes it a perfect combination. The cook Ada made our nights delightful, her typical tuscan cooking is above average. The silence of the surroundings is almost unbelievable. If you want to escape reality and jump into a heavenly experience make sure Villa Ugo is your choice.
p.s september in Tuscany is a must

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

As soon as you arrive at Villa Ugo, serendipity and peace surround you, a gentle breeze caress your face, all your senses are all of a sudden awake, the city life seems distant, and the smells of Cortona countryside are all around you.

The place is unbelievable, it’s like being in a movie of Bertolucci. There is a marvelous 180 degrees nonstop view of Val Di Chiana right in front of you. Caravaggio wouldn’t have been able to paint something more beautiful.

The rooms are gorgeous, the service impeccable, the owners friendly, caring and very respectful of your privacy.

Bring your book, have a sip of your favorite red wine, enjoy the view, let your mind think creatively again, take a swim and start all over again. La dolce vita really exists.

A magical place. Heaven on earth!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatteoMarinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay for a peaceful Tuscan holiday. What a beautiful setting upon the hillside. The villa Liliana where we stayed was perfect for us. We had ridden 1500 miles on our motorcycle and being in our 50s appreciated the comfortable sofa and bed. We had Ada to prepare our meal on the first and second night to save us having to shop on arrival, Lovely tasty food! The garden was lovely to sit in on sunny days with outstanding views.,our host Nocoletta.was so charming,what a lovely lady. The perfect Tuscan dream.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent a month this summer at Villa Orlando with three small children - 1, 3 and 5. We also had several groups of friends visit us for a few days each, which is why we chose Villa Orlando that sleeps 8. Would we stay there again with friends? Absolutely. It is well located for exploring half of Tuscany and Umbria. We did day trips to Siena, Arezzo, Assisi, the lake, Montepulciano, Pienza and a dozen more towns, as well as a day of cheese tasting and the tour of the Baci factory. We cooked every night at the villa and ate overlooking the valley. My wife ran down from the villa every morning down to the sunflower fields and back up, and still talks about how much she misses her daily run. The horses across the road were highly entertaining for our one-year-old.

The walk into Cortona is nice and worth doing. Ugo was a great host and a huge help in helping us fix our damaged rental car before returning it. The pool was good, and the kids had fun practicing their slingshots in the olive orchards (aiming for rocks, not the rabbits!) and watching fireflies.

Would we stay there again with three young kids? Maybe, maybe not. The villa itself was nice and reasonably kid friendly. But in the morning when just one kid is awake, it would have been great to be able to easily go and get coffee or walk around Cortona. And the kids wanted to play at the Cortona playground and get gelato every afternoon. However, the villa is down a 2km 1-lane road (which we nicknamed the Road of Death). Once you get down to the main road it's another 10 minutes to get to Cortona and park. It would have been much easier, given the kids, to stay just a short walk from Cortona.

So no complaints at all other than the slightly less-than-perfect location with 3 small kids. Once they’re a little older, though, I’m sure we’ll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

For a relaxing week long escape from everyday life, a jump into a marvelous little heaven with a stunning view on Val di Chiana. Was there a couple of times for the last two summers in a row, the only regret is that I haven’t discovered it earlier.

Just Excellent! A must!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.6 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ugo

Property: Villa Ugo
Address: Case Sparse Cortona Teccognano 565, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of the aptly-named Golden Valley of the Chiana River (the Valdichiana), some 400 meters above sea level but just a few kilometers from the town Cortona, Villa Ugo encompasses every quality of Tuscan charm, simplicity and rural beauty. Since 1890, my family, the Sabatini’s have lived in the 16th century Villa Ugo, surrounded by over 11 hectares of olive groves and vineyards. The groves were once divided into three fields, where secondary houses were inhabited by tenant farmers. These three Villas also date, in part, to the 16th century, and I have carefully and beautifully restored them while maintaining the style, history and culture of the area and mindfully adding all the modern amenities and comforts. During your visit, you'll enjoy almost intoxicating peace, glorious vistas, and direct contact with nature in these three independent villas, Casa Liliana, Casa di Nello and Casa di OrlandoMy family provides a personal welcome to you, and discreetly ensures that you will be well looked-after during your stay, catering to your needs, and assisting with most any requirement to guarantee your visit is a memorable one.Come join us here at Villa Ugo, with all of Eastern Tuscany, western Umbria and central Italy nearby to welcome your relaxation and exploration!Ugo Sabatini ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing