We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Delcious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda al Pozzo Antico

Locanda al Pozzo Antico
Ranked #9 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and Delcious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

It should be a sin, not to eat here - it's Magnifico!! The Chef Paola and her husband Franco are there to make your dinning experience memorable. Their service makes you feel very welcome and special. I was there in February and they had a beautiful, roaring fire ablaze in the fire place- which added even more charm and coziness to the already wonderful atmosphere. The food is fresh and delicious and trust me, you will not leave hungry! The anti pasta is a meal in itself and is Incredibly good!! Even if you don't order dessert, Paola gives you a small special treat at the end of your meal that is unique and exceptionally tasty! I ate there twice during my stay and my taste buds were never disappointed!! Did I mention the wine? mmmmm....perfetto! The restaurant is right next door to the Dolce Maria Bed and Breakfast, also run by Paola. Indulge yourself royally by staying at her B-n-B and dining at her restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    165
    32
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed next door at Dolce Maria and loved the food. The olive oil was fresh from the owners farm. The wine was wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FL_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING FOOD, TYPICAL TUSCAN, WARM ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant. My husband and I have had the good fortune to eat here on 2 different occasions. The food is superb, well prepared, and very unique. It is a very cozy restaurant with excellent service and a very warm and special chef/hostess, Paula. I could easily recommend anything on the menu. You would not be disappointed. We love it here and would definitely return if we ever visit Cortona again in the future.
Tom and Sandra

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some of the best home cooking in Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is just superb. Off the beaten path, it's nestled between two of the streets that lead up to the main Piazza in Cortona. The owners will welcome you, love you and feed you until you are bursting, and then give you some home-made biscotti to take back home with you. Charming, authentic and delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Martin_3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A restaurant you should not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Built in a 14th century Cortona patrician house, is not far away from the main attractions and therefore also frequented from the local gentry. The menu is typical tuscan with a good selection of local and tuscan wines. Try the Chianina steak and pate di fegatini. The restaurant is also part of an excellent B&B in the same house.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda al Pozzo Antico also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Locanda al Pozzo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing