We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“..nothing special..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preludio

Preludio
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“..nothing special..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have had much better food in Italy. Don't understand the tripadvisor rave, really. Had average food at higher prices and took an hour to have food being served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    139
    42
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Decor - Delicious Fare - In a Delightful Little Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I visited this gorgeous ristorante during our three night stay in Cortona in October 2009.
The stunning entranceway and what lay beyond captured our attention as soon as we stepped over the threshold. A huge stone archway led into beautifully decorated rooms bordered by white rendered walls. These were dotted with delicate pieces of Etruscan pottery, while arched frescoes, portraying medieval country scenes set amidst miniature buttresses, lined the edges of the ceiling. Impressive grey-stone arches led into other rooms, offering a more intimate experience than the more open main dining room. A steep stone staircase was adorned with eye-catching statues of African women with their babies, while an ebony wrought-iron balustrade wound upwards to the floor above. Suspended above each table, elegant chandeliers cast a golden hue around the rooms, while adorning the tables were crisp white linen tablecloths set with white porcelain crockery and delicate mauve glassware all framed by the finest silver cutlery.
Our waiter led us to a table set in a quiet corner where soft strains of Baroque music seemingly reached out to enfold us in a gentle cocoon.
The food was plentiful and tasty and the service was quite good although we did receive better in other restaurants in this enchanting town, but we were offered a complimentary drink - I can't remember exactly what it was but I do remember it being very nice. Such a nice touch.
All in all, we would go back if only to experience sitting in a cosy restaurant older than any building in our home country of Australia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGirlBrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Very Nice Dinnner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on a rainy night during our 4-day stay in Cortona. The restaurant was recommended by our B&B hostess and we really enjoyed our meal here. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the service was very attentive. We were given a complimentary aperativo glass of Prosecco and complimentary digestivo (limoncello or grappa) after. The menu offers a large variety of classic Tuscan dishes with a modern touch. My husband had the Cinta senese fillet with bacon-fat, prunes and Vin Santo sauce and I had the Saffron risotto, porcini mushrooms and black truffle. Both were delicious! If you are in the area, you should definitely try this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CZHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved being able to sit outside along the street on a nice night. The service was good, we enjoyed the complimentary prosecco and had a nice experience. My mom had the guinea hen (delicious) and I had ravioli with prawns. I wasn't blown away by my meal, but it was good. The lentil salad was very tasty. We also got a free mini bottle of new olive oil which was a really nice touch. Isn't my #1 in Cortona, but is was pretty nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Were we invisible?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our group of eight, staying in Cortona for a week, chose Preludio after hearing about it from a fellow American we met on the street. Classy, beautiful decor and everyone at our table would agree our food was excellent. However, our service was terrible, perhaps because of understaffing? Ordered items were not brought to the table and getting the waiter's attention went from bad to worse as the evening progressed. By the time we wanted to settle our check and leave we were running out of patience. We've traveled enough in Italy to understand how dining there works, but our experience at Preludio was disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preludio also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Preludio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing