We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day in the center of Tuscany!”

Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our One-Day Cooking Class is informal, fun and hands-on. The class taught in English and designed around a typical Tuscan meal with fresh local in season ingredients. You will start the full day course by meeting the instructor, Shirley Ofria at a café in the historic center of Cortona. Over a typical Tuscan breakfast of cappuccino and pastry, you will choose from our recipe booklet what you want to prepare. After breakfast and menu planning, you will go to the various markets to collect all the necessary ingredients.When you finish with the shopping, it’s off to our home in San Egidio, just ten minutes above the wall surrounding historic Cortona. When you arrive at the house, the aprons go on and the work begins. You will start by making appetizers that will later serve as a light lunch break. After lunch, it’s back to work to start on the first course, second course, side dishes and of course desert. When everything is ready you will sit down to enjoy and critique your creations. The meal can be served inside or out, weather permitting.The course includes; menu planning, shopping, breakfast, lunch, dinner (all food and wine) and the recipe booklet. Dietary restrictions are welcome and if there is something specific you want to do, please contact us several day in advance of your class day.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing day in the center of Tuscany!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This day in Tuscany with Shirley is a great experience! We found the information from Tripadvisor and followed the rest of the reviews :) Chuck was really great to email back and forth with, very timely and friendly. Shirley was a great teacher, patient and thorough, and provides thoughtful cook books to take notes while learning. Be prepared to eat and cook all day, we were in Tuscany for 11 hours almost, cooking and eating! Lunch and dinner were delicious and dessert! 100% recommend Shirley and Chuck, you will be very happy :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AllieFlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Cooking Day”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I arranged for a cooking class for my grown children/spouses, my husband and me while we spent a month in Italy. It was a wonderful day with a very competent and flexible chef. We made many traditional Italian dishes that were delicious and Shirley's technique is so good that my children have already recreated many of the dishes. Her cookbook is easy to follow and a nice keep sake of our day. We prepared so much food that we took leftovers back to our villa to share with friends the next evening!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MiMi0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty experience high in the Tuscan hills”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were met by our masterchef Shirley in one of Cortona’s quant little coffee shops. Shirley immediately put us in charge by presenting us with our own little cookbook where after we were given the opportunity to make our choices of dishes that we wanted the cook. No sooner were we taken to some of the amazing fresh produce markets in town including the local butcher and the grocery store where all the ingredients were handpicked and purchased. I asked a few questions about some of the produce and how it would be cooked and no sooner did these items also find their way into the shopping basket.

After the shopping experience we wound our way up windy and spectacular little farm roads to Shirley’s farmhouse. Her house is situated high up in the mountains 400m above town. The views from up there over a huge lake and the Tuscan countryside were amazing.

The rest of the day was a learning and eating feast. The hostess was not only attentive to our individual needs and cooking experience levels but she was kind and made us feel part of the family. We learnt so much during the day. I lost count but I think we made in excess of around 20 dishes and used a whole bottle of olive oil and a block of Parmesan.

After a comprehensive lunch that we had prepared under the hostess’ guidance, it was off to cooking again. Later that evening we sat down for another feast to enjoy our work, not to mention the free flowing wine.

This has definitely been one of the highlights of our Italian adventure. We did not only learn so much about both the cooking and the preparation of Italian food but also the history of food in Italy and in general. I will recommend this experience to both the experienced chef and to anyone that just wants to have a fun-filled day. No prior cooking experience is needed.

Do not miss the experience and eating sensation of a lifetime. Great food, excellent hospitality and above all we arrived as guests and left as family.

Thanks Shirley and Chuck for being such kind and wonderful hosts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Albertgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“incredible day!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our experience far exceeded expectations, which were high based on prior reviews. Also blessed with fun folks to participate with. Shirley was fun, flexible, and incredibly talented! We learned a lot, cooked a lot, ate a lot, and loved every minute! But for meeting extended family in Italy for the first time ever, this was the highlight of our three week Italy sojourn.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This cooking class was one of the highlights of our 5 week trip through Europe. Shirley was a great teacher and really accommodated everyone's requests meaning we all got to learn many different dishes. She went out of her way to answer questions and identify things we'd eaten throughout Italy on our trip. Making pasta was heaps of fun and we felt that the recipes we made were things we could replicate when we got home. The only downside for us was that although we did meet in a Cafe for coffee to discuss the menu, there were no pastries so we were a bit hungry by the time we sat down for lunch - you do need a healthy appetite for the day so it wasn't too much of a problem. Also, we weren't really that involved with the shopping but it was still fun to go to the different stores and watch Shirley order what we needed for the day. Overall a really great, fun and informative day the we'd highly recommend. Thanks Shirley.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pidge255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class also viewed

 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Tuscan Culinary One-Day Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing