We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely apartment In Cortona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Glicine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Glicine
Ranked #42 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment In Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a lovely week in Il Glicine in August. Alessandro and his wife Marzia were extremely helpful. They provided a new travel cot and bedding for our little boy of 9 months. The apartment is very well equipped and clean. It is also very spacious so great for families and better than a hotel in many ways as you can do food prep for little ones. The garden is also a lovely sun trap and a peaceful oasis from the bustling Cortona. The location is excellent too for doing trips but also it is less than 5 mins from Cortona itself so you can pop in for coffee and ice creams. Cortona itself is great and has everything that you need for a great holiday.
Thanks again for being so helpful Alessandro with parking and tips where to go for dinner and booking a couple of restaurants for us. We will definitely return. Watch out for the tortoises!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatCatJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to recently spend a month at Il Glicine for my 60th birthday. Our extended stay fulfilled a dream that we’ve had for a long time. Il Glicine/Cortona is a great location for day tripping throughout Tuscany and even parts of Umbria, Marche and Emilia Romagna. While we rented a car, it is not necessary for a shorter period – as there’s much to see and (of course) eat within walking distance.

But besides affording the opportunity to tour many areas, Il Glicine’s location within Cortona provided us with the chance to experience everyday life in a charming town that opens its arms to visitors. And when we had an uncontrollable hankering for a gelato at 10pm, we treasured being able to take a short, delightful stroll to the nearby gelateria.

The apartment itself is very clean and quite spacious. While the kitchen is small (as also described by others), it is indeed very serviceable, with a lovely view out to the garden – which is a great place for breakfast. It’s important to note that the very comfortable four-poster bed is bigger than an American Queen size – it’s wider/larger than an American Queen and narrower than an American King.

We totally enjoyed spending some days touring the spectacular countryside, medieval villages, and wineries – then looked forward to returning to our cozy apartment. But there were also days where we were quite content with reading in the peaceful garden, then taking a wonderful 1 hour walk that began in the lovely park across the street, winding around the back of the City’s hillside (with spectacular views), stopping by a bar in Torreone for a glass of wine and listening to the local banter– then heading back down into the town, through the piazzas, and back to Il Glicine. Our hosts, Alessandro and Marzia, could not have been more helpful. They provided us with the directions for this relaxing yet invigorating walk, along with recommended restaurants, points of particular interest in Cortona, and some great Tuscan destinations. Cortona’s restaurants are plentiful, very good, and reasonably priced. Still, we found fabulous ingredients for some fun meals at the Cortona Saturday Farmers’ Market in Piazza Signorelli.

Looking forward to returning some time very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great location n perfect place to relax. Lovely garden and the house is so quiet and private. Cortona is beautiful and Our hosts Alessandro and Marzia are friendly helpful and hospitable in every way possible. We can't thank them enough. Alessandro worked out train and bus timetable for our day trips to Arezzo and Asissi since he was not in Cortona for first few days when we arrived. Marzia organised to have our lost luggage delivered back to us and we were most grateful. We went for lots of long walks and all the restaurants suggested by Alessandro and they were all good. We can honestly say we did not have one bad meal in our 6 nights in Cortona.

We will definitely recommend Il Glicine to all our friends and we hope to be back to stay in il Glicine again sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Movaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

So far, we have never seen Il Glicine. Our scheduled trip was disrupted by illness which totally refocused our attention from Tuscany. While I worked to cancel the many arrangements in place I was asked for a variety of documentation, forms, etc. But, when I wrote Alessandro, he replied with a kind note of concern for my wife and the offer to refund our deposit in full. I thought other people who were making plans should know that in addition to pretty pictures and wonderful reviews that there is a really good guy behind this destination.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a great time in Cortona (and Italy overall) and loved the apartment. It is in a great location, feels very private, and includes a beautiful garden. Walking up the street for pastry and cappuccino each morning was great fun, and our restaurant meals were outstanding. We wished we had scheduled some more time to peacefully enjoy doing nothing in Cortona.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were greeted by Marzia who took us to this wonderful home which provided us with both privacy and convenience to the town of Cortona. The garden was lovely and a great place to read, have wine and cheese, and pass the time after a day of seeing the beautiful towns around the area. We were so pleased with every aspect of this home. The bed was wonderful and the sitting areas were very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and very spacious. Even when it was very hot outside, it remained very cool in the house. We walked into town--a five minute walk--each morning and had wonderful pastries and coffee. We were able to get an internet connection right away at a wine bar. The gelato was amazing as was the food in local restaurants. Sadly we did not meet D'alessandro until we were leaving as he had been away. He was as charming and helpful as all reviews had said. We were would highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone wanting a central location to explore Tuscany and Umbria. We took day trips to Assisi and Montepulciano which were easy to reach from Cortona. We hope to return to Il Glicine some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredapril11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We had the most wonderful time here. It was November and the weather wasn't great but once inside the door it didn't matter. The house was just lovely, warm and spotlessly clean. It is much bigger than we expected.. Cortona is a fabulous town with the most fantastic restaurants. It is a great place to explore Tuscany from and at the end of the day Il Glicine is wonderfully welcoming and becomes very much like home quickly. It would be lovely to return there someday and I hope I do.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentincrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#14 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Glicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Glicine

Property: Il Glicine
Address: Vicolo Cinaglia 8, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Apartment Il Glicine is situated just outside the historical town centre of the medieval town of Cortona. The highlight of this property is the superb location, just a 50 meter walk from piazza Garibaldi and away from the noise of Cortona especially at night time. The house is spacious and bright thanks to the light that penetrates from the private garden. The garden is very quiet and equipped with a great barbeque and a small table with wrought iron chairs underneath a porch covered with roses, ideal to enjoy an outdoor breakfast or precious moments of relax. Il Glicine is composed of a small well-equipped kitchen, with fridge and freezer, and a dining room with table and chairs. The sleeping area has a double bedroom and the house has a private bathroom with shower equipped with bathrobes and hairdryer. For their relaxing moments guests have at their disposal a large living room with TV and DVD player and a very comfortable double sofa bed. There is also a sitting room with a reading corner. There is now also a completely free, unlimited ADSL Internet connection, with WIFI in the house and garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing