We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for a week during our wedding and our guests and I had a wonderful experience. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Language is not a problem, as I don't speak Italian (yet). Breakfast buffet is great with quite a bit of choice - the staff are on hand to replenish if items run out. We had dinner at the hotel too and that was a very extensive menu. The pool is nice and big but quite cold despite the sunshine as it is not tiled. Some friends stayed in the new wing and this is very nice with modern furniture and fittings. We stayed in the Limonaia and it is perfect for a long stay with a sofa, 2 sinks, four poster bed etc. There is also enough storage space and a little fridge to keep your drinks. Some of us had problems with the Sky TV though.

Room Tip: New wing has recently refurbished rooms. Limonaia Suite is large and airy with plenty of storage spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
114
407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is without question the best hotel I have stayed in anywhere is 45 years. I like to think that I am discerning and this was exceptional .The food,service and the incredible building was incredible. We were made to feel at home. I have already told my friends some of whom have booked already.We can't wait to visit again. Don't listen to anyone else this is a hotel of the finest you will find.

Room Tip: Go for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoydandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I, traveling with another couple stayed here in late April. The grounds, the rooms, the restaurant, the service and amenities are all first class. Of course there is a price to pay, but the total experience is well worth the cost. This place should be on everyone's must stay list.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuardDog61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I recently spent ten days at Villa di Piazzano, and the overall experience was near perfection. The Wimpole family has carefully preserved the bones of this 15th century villa while adding all the amenities of a modern hotel. The breakfast and dinners, the swimming pool, the landscaped grounds, the fresh flowers and the dramatic Italian cypress entry were all great. But the real star at this hotel was the staff. All of the staff members were incredibly competent, friendly, dedicated and accommodating. Obviously, during a ten day stay, occasional lapses in five-star service occurred, but we always felt the staff was trying very hard to please the guests. And if we needed anything, all we had to do was ask. Wonderful hotel with a great Tuscan feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This is our third trip to Villa di Piazzano and every time we come it gets better. Our first trip was on a recommendation from Karen Brown in 2004. Next was in 2010 and we noticed a lot of changes and more rooms then. But the changes keep getting even better and the decorations and the beautiful dining room and rooms are decorated with taste and yet restraint. But on this trip we also loved the food which was fabulous. Wonderful help is all around the hotel, including Veronica and Gabrieilla the chef, who gave my wife a wonderful lesson in cooking.

But the grounds to walk the beauty of this house especially at night there's no comparison. Don't come here if you're looking for fast food or a big hotel experience because you're going to get wonderful intimate service. My wife cried when she first saw the beauty of the room we had which was a Junior suite on the first floor.

So this was our third time and will be back again. Book it drive a car here and just relax and enjoy this wonderful wonderful experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nekountze2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just spent a marvelous weekend in Villa di Piazzano. Could not recommend it more highly, and it is definitely worth it. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the ambience is relaxed and luxurious, and the villa itself is beautiful. If the sun is out, a dip in the pool is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethlndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our visit to Villa di Piazzano was all we expected and more. The family owners and all the staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make our stay a memorable one. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property if you are seeking an historic but stylish country retreat within easy reach of Tuscan hill town, Cortona. I am already considering a return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing