We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Tuscan Experience”
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We drove in from Rome and arrived at the Villa de Piazzano in three hours. Once we arrived at the Villa, you immediately felt you were in Tuscany with the surrounding lush landscape and the tranquility of the countryside..This is a good base to discover the nearby towns. There were a few things that made our stay the most memorable. Upon arrival, you immediately feel the genuine warmth and hospitality of the staff and is carries through the rest of your stay..The rooms have old world charm and are large, with attention to detail, and a breathtaking view of the grounds where the sounds of singing birds awake you in the morning..The dining experience was especially memorable and that has a lot to do with Chef Gabriela and her gracious staff. She and her staff are warm and congenial and make you feel like you are at home..We tasted the most delicious Pici pasta..a special pasta of the area only,made with breadcrumbs. Be sure to buy some in town and take back home as it is hard to find. .the panna cotta topped with wild cherries of the area was to die for.. There are also small appetizers presented by the bar which were delicious and and a welcomed touch. When you come back after a day of exploring, you may see an assistant chef collecting items needed for dinner that night from their homegrown garden..Congrats to Francesca, Katia, Marco, Stella, Alice Gabriela and the Wimpole family for contributing to making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mir6934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 775 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our stay at Villa di Piazzano was perfect. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We arrived and were given a quick tour of the facility. The building is everything anyone could expect a Tuscan villa to be, but with all the modern conveniences added. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular. It was a little too cool and rainy during our stay to fully enjoy the terrace and grounds, but it was still wonderful to look out the doors and windows to such amazing scenery.

Everyone from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the dining room staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Laundry service, sightseeing advice and driving directions were all provided with a smile.

I hope to return to Tuscany in the not too distant future, and will definitely include another (longer) stay at Villa di Piazzano in our plans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 225Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in a small cottage called Cassina dell´Orto and not in the villa proper. This was our request and staying there added to the privacy, since the cottage is hidden in the corner and you won´t be disturbed there. It also has a small separate terrace outside. However, seniors should probably stay away from this cottage, because to get to the bedroom it is neccessary to negotiate quite a steep staircase and taller people won´t be able to walk upright once upstairs. Otherwise, the surroundings were beautiful and the service was generally excellent. Also the restaurant was highly satisfactory and we strongly recommend cooking school with magnificent Gabriella, the local chef.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we arrived in Cortona, we fell in love with the area. However, when we arrived at the Villa, we wanted to stay. We were lucky enough to have been upgraded, and the view was marvelous. Alice and Francesca at the front desk were absolutely great and helped us with whatever questions we had about the region. They even set us up with a single taxi driver to pick us up/drop us off at all of our stops one day (he was always on time). When we weren't out at the hilltowns or wineries, the pool and terrace areas of the Villa provided some of the most beautiful landscapes that I've ever seen. I can't say enough about how wonderful our trip was, and hope to return someday. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The owners and staff of Villa Di Piazzano have created the perfect Tuscan experience for their guests. The rooms, all with their own character, are beautifully appointed and very comfortable(we were lucky enough to check out some of the vacant rooms). Driving up to the villa provides you with the picture perfect entrance down the road flanked by Cypress trees. The gardens and pool area are immaculate with the terrace great for a glass of wine on a spring afternoon.

We dined at the restaurant on our first night and we were treated to local produce prepared in an authentic style. When we travel we want to experience the best the local area has to offer and we weren't disappointed. Thank you Gabriella.

Whether we were checking in, ordering a coffee by the pool or a glass of champagne at the bar, the staff were always courteous and friendly, and able to offer advice on everything from wine selection to what attractions to visit.

The location of the villa is only a short distance from Cortona and makes it easy to explore Tuscany.

The only mistake was that we only stayed 2 nights!

Villa Di Piazzano is a must when visiting Tuscany....thank you for the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petermac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived at the Villa di Piazzano after a hectic two days in traffic filled Rome. The drive up was so beautiful with gorgeous views and typical tuscan scenes. The long driveway was planked on either side by tall cypress trees. We entered a beautiful villa surrounded by gardens and went up to our room. Our room had spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and my husband immediately pulled out our camera and began taking pictures out the windows. A spacious bedroom, comfortable beds, a small table with chairs and a period wardrobe to put our clothes into. The bathroom was very nice, something I am particular about. Everything was tastefully decorated with a period villa feel. Even the room keys were enormous with tassels on them.

Breakfast, surprisingly, included scrambled eggs, cheese and meats along with the usual European pastries and croissants. Coffee and Juices were offered as well. For me, the best part of the experience here was the private cooking lesson with Gabriela where we learned all about Tuscan food, made pasta, appetizer, chicken and tiramisu. We then sat down to eat a wonderful feast we had helped prepare. Gabriela was so personable and friendly.

Staying at the Villa in Cortona was very convenient to visit the surrounding towns. One such trip we took was to Assisi where we were given a tour by Fra. Michael. The people at the Villa were so helpful and full of knowledge. A big shout out to my friend Franchesca at the front desk who recommended some stores in Cortona where I shopped for linen, leather bags and pottery. Beautiful stuff! Franchesca never got tired of all the questions we asked her. Thank you Franchesca! - we have wonderful memories our time there. We especially loved getting to know everyone who worked there, Franchesca, Gabriela, Marco etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastoralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is my 4th visit to the villa and I am never disappointed. It fact, it get's better each time. The Villa is clean, comfortable, elagant, with a great resturant. We had a traditional Italian Easter dinner there that was wonderful. The location is fantastic. Easy drivivng to anywhere in Tuscany or Umbria you want to go.
The staff is outstanding, they arranged a winery tour and an olive oil tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_di_Piazzano, Owner at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It’s always a pleasure to host returning guests and see once again familiar faces. We hope to have you back with us very soon.

With Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
4.9 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#10 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: $241 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing