We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven in the heart of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven in the heart of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at the villa for 4 nights in early June as part of a vacationing group of 6 adults. I had such a lovely time I really did not want to leave. The villa itself is beautifully restored and so peaceful but it is the people that give the villa its heart. From Ruth at the front desk to the owner Alessandra we were made to feel a welcomed member of the family during our visit. The entire staff did everything they could to make sure we had everything we could possibly want or need. The cooking class with head chef, Gabriella, is an experience I will never forget and was the highlight of my 16 day vacation. I hope to make it back to Tuscany in the future and I will not consider staying anywhere other than the the Villa di Piazzano. Eccellente!

Room Tip: I stayed in il Campanile and it was perfect for two people sharing a room but not wanting to share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
115
407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We left Villa di Piazzano this morning after an all too short 2 night stay. The hotel is superbly and thoughtfully renovated to a very high standard. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable (having had some very uncomfortable nights on hard beds during our tour of Tuscany)). The terrace where breakfast and dinner is served is peaceful, looking out over beautiful countryside. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, and easily the best of our trip, but I have to agree with other reviewers - the coffee is a disappointment. I enjoy Italian coffee, whether it be espresso or americano as it has such a rich but smooth flavour, and this was sadly lacking here. Dinner on our first night was delicious, but unfortunately the restaurant was closed on our second night (as every Tuesday). The staff however booked us a table at a lovely restaurant in Cortona. As previous reviewers have said, all the staff are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble, and they are clearly and justifiably proud of their hotel.
We would love to return to this beautiful hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa di Piazzano for 2 nights at the beginning of June for a friends wedding and it was a fantastic experience. The villa grounds are stunning, the rooms are lovely and big and to top it all, the food is to die for! Cortona is a great place to visit and if you are willing to stay somewhere outside of the main town/village (easily accessible by car (5-10 mins) you will be glad you stayed at Villa di Piazzano.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We (22 friends called The Mystery Society) have just spent 3 wonderful nights in The Villa Di Piazzano. A really beautiful place, great big rooms, fabulous views, delicious food, and above all a very special team. Special thanks to Ruth Lorella and Francesca..... Nothing was too much trouble before and during our stay, cannot wait to return. Alessandra you deserve your success.
So much to do and see.... A delightful area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfamily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I spent a weekend at Villa di Piazzano for my friends' wedding. The place is simply magical. Dreamy landscape, stunning building with beautiful rooms all individually designed, delicious food and most importantly the best service I've ever experienced. Special thanks to Ruth and Lorella for making our stay so wonderful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in the room "I Pini", very comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioLondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The villa is simply marvellous. it is quiet, sophisticated but not pretentious. The staff are all, without exception, helpful and friendly, and the rooms and the grounds just wonderful. Beds are comfortable too.

As part of the Mystery group who took over the Villa at the end of May, I think i can fairly say that all of us were pretty knocked out by the place.

I can't wait to go back there for a long weekend and quite simply not move from it!

A resident dog would make it even more perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

A beautiful setting that seems to be 100 miles from everything, but a taxi ride into Cortona is just 12-15 euro. The Piazzano is immaculately tended to inside and out and the staff is very accommodating and well suited for clientele that prefer an experience that is 5-star and still uniquely Italian. If you want a quiet place to read or write or think or sleep or go for a run of a few miles in a beautiful and peaceful setting, this is for you. If you are looking for music and parties and hotel nightlife, this is not your place. Perfect destination for a romantic stop of a few days on a larger tour of the country. Highly recommend, and it is worth the price.

Room Tip: This might seem a little strange, but the attic room was my favorite. It is a little smaller with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing