We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Bar 500

Bar 500
Ranked #15 of 103 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I did not eat dinner here but I most definitely will the next time I am in Cortona. I did spend some time at this outdoor seating area enjoying prosecco and snacks (complimentary - very nice!). It was just such a nice place to sit in the shade of the afternoon, enjoy some relaxation and people-watching, have a cocktail or two, and write in my journal about my lovely afternoon discovering Cortona. The owner and his staff were friendly, helpful, and even brought complimentary snacks to the table. My travel mate was taking an afternoon nap at our apartment, so I wandered around and discovered Bar 500, and Loved It! Nearby, a group of young people even started to play music. This is a nice memory I have of an afternoon alone, but very enjoyable at Bar 500!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    113
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cortona at its best!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rob and Emma are the best!! Beside the great hospitality, the food is amazing. My family has been to Cortona many times and we always include Bar 500. Lunch on the Via Nazionale makes you feel like a native. The antipasti, panini, and specials are to die for. We feel like we're eating at our friend's place! Cortona is a must visit and Bar 500 is a must when there

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank velt491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly reception and great value for money”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our 1st vist to Cortona, and we loved Bar 500.....greta friendly service and huge portions....we recomend the Italian tapas option...The portions of meat and olives were massive, really friendly hosts, speaking english and italian. Great place to eat.....recommend it to all

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food and fantastic hospitality!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was out first stop in Cortona after a hot train ride. The beer was cold and the watiress must have realized how travel weary we were and provided us with a complimentary plate of olives, brushetta and snacks. We went back for dinner and the food and service was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smoore54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great spot!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful couple meals here. Indeed during our 12 days in Italy this is the only restaurant we went to twice! Try anything with the salami -- outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MWS-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar 500 also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bar 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing