We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Country relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda del Molino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda del Molino
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I live part time in the U.S. but have a vacation home in Northern Italy. For weekends I like to to explore Tuscany and it's vast wine resources. This hotel/borgo is a wonderful setting. It is close to all major wine estates, a short beautiful drive to every town you would want to visit. The staff are quite helpful and will assist with planning day trips. It is an ideal place to relax by the pool overlooking the hills of Tuscany and just sipping a glass of wine at the end of the day. Warning, try to arrive during the day, the estate, though huge, is not easy to find at night as the signage is minimal. Unlike many hotel restaurants, do not miss this one, it is wonderful. You do not need to leave the property for a wonderful dinner.

less

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    42
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My Mother and I recently visited Cortona on a tour with Ambassadair. We did not stay at the hotel, but I will be back to do so. Our group of 15 had a cooking lesson with Chef Richard Titi and his assistant Sarafina at the IL Falcontere restaurant located in the hotel. I will say the experience was the highlight of our trip. We drank wine and made from scratch, mushroom and onion puff pastry, Pici with traditional duck sauce, veal medallions stuffed with black olives, home made pasta, and the most delicious Tiramisu that I have ever eaten. If you are ever in the Cortona area, you owe it to yourself to stay at the beautiful inn and learn to make a delicious Tuscan meal, all while enjoying the company of your friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I with family members did not stay at Locanda del Molino, but we did eat at their restaurant and it was delicious. Started with zuchhini flowers stuffed with ricotta and basil, deelish, gnudi with pesto and osso bucco. My whole dinner was delicious and the rest of my family also gave rave reviews. Entree's included a pork and sausage spedini with a grape sauce, rabbit stew, papparadelle with wild boar sauce; all were divine. Would definately go back and much cheaper than la Buccacia in Cortona and just as good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoobie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Locanda del Molino for 5 nights in August after a recommendation from a friend. We are so glad we did as we had the best time! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and it felt like staying with family. We were caught in a 45 degree heat wave and very much enjoyed the use of the pool. The hotel is in a great location to explore all the towns of Tuscany and Umbria. Make sure to eat at the restaurant as the food was incredible! We also spent the day at their sister hotel, Il Falconiere, using their beautiful pool and getting massages at the spa. It was heaven! Thank you to Stefano and all the amazing staff for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon, and we had a few days in Tuscany. We stayed in the Locanda del Molino for 2 nights, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was by far our favorite place of the 4 places we stayed at during our trip. The food was also excellent and was some of the best food we had in all of Italy. The room we had was the end room (I think room 9), and it was absolutely beautiful, comfy, and romantic with a great bathroom and big tub. It was the best room we had in all of Italy. The only small complaint I would have is you could clearly hear cars as they drove by at night, but there were not that many, and it doesn't change how I feel about this place. They also had a great pool, but we did not have time to swim there. The location is also perfect if you are looking to go to Cortona because it was only about 10 minutes away. The location is also not far away from Rome (which is where we drove from). Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the really nice man who checked us in and served us our dinner, but he was extremely nice, helpful, and very attentive. If we ever go back to Tuscany, we would DEFINITELY go back to this place, and we would stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 9 was really romantic and had a great bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We recently returned from Italy that included 4 nights at this lovely roadside inn in Cortona countryside.....what a delightful experience, from the food to the service by the staff! A charming bed/breakfast about 10 minutes from Cortona in the community of Montenare......don't miss the restaurant dinners--some of the best meals during our travel......also the staff (especially Johnny) was so attentive....we returned each evening to play cards and sit in the bar area....with appetizers, wine, etc.....great fun with friends....
only negative was airconditioning in rooms worked poorly but it was very cool in the evenings so we slept with the windows open.....if you are staying in or near Cortona don't miss this place! Highly recommend it.....their other hotel was the Falconiere--also fabulous (we visited one day) but very expensive....it has a spa also if you are interested.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 were very good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

If you want to have restful night of good sleep don't go to this hotel. The good news is that the restaurant is pretty good. The bad news is that the rooms are right above the restaurant and you can hear EVERYTHING that happens below and next to your room (loud talking and laughing of the people eating and loud music till late at night, everything the guest in room next door are doing, etc. etc.). When we requested to get a room with more piece and quiet on the second night, the answer of the owner was "don't worry, tonight it will be quieter"--needless to say, it was worst --with people even running and screaming through the corridor next to the rooms at 1am... On top, the people in charge of the morning shift were not able to give good advice on the region and the morning we left, even though we had said several times we needed to leave early, and being reassured we would have breakfast, there was no breakfast and no one to serve it. Finally, the hotel is pretty far from Cortona --at least 15 minutes. In sum, if you're in the region, try the restaurant, but don't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curioustraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.4 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Molino

Property: Locanda del Molino
Address: Via Montanare 10 | Montanare di Cortons, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Molino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time there was a very old mill...Today it is a charming Locanda with a special typical Tuscan Restaurant, completely renovated by Riccardo and Silvia Baracchi, owners too of “Relais & Châteaux Il Falconiere”. A heaven of tranquillity and elegance, in the middle of the Cortona countryside, a land famous for its culture, cuisine, and great wines.Locanda del Molino with its romantic rooms, is located in Montanare, on the upper Esse valley, and just few kilometres away from the Etruscan town of Cortona. The environment that surrounds Locanda del Molino is very interesting both for culture and for landscapes.There are eight guestrooms overlooking the creek, where every guest will experience the relax of sleeping while lulled by the sound of the waterfalls.Each room has been individually decorated and fully furnished by Silvia: it will feature either four poster beds or upholstered frames, antique or country style furniture, yet each room shows its authenticity of the almost lost flavours so characteristic of the Cortona countryside.“The style of cuisine that I would like to find in a restaurant like at locanda is for me simple and genuine, but never ordinary. Our Locanda offers mainly traditional Cortona’s cuisine and a shot from the past with almost forgotten dishes in the “Daily menu”. Guests can share with us the pleasure of rediscovering our local cuisine matched with great wines.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Locanda del Molino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Molino Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing