We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Villa, Convenient Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Charming Villa, Convenient Location!”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We spent a week at La Mucchia in late September and had a lovely time. We chose La Mucchia because of the other positive reviews and because we wanted a comfortable "home base" for exploring Tuscany for the first time. We rented Suite #3 for our group of five (me, my husband, our 4.5-year-old, our 1.5-year-old, and my mother). After an uncertain beginning (no one was home when we arrived, in the rain, and our phone didn't seem to work with the contact numbers), a friendly neighbor contacted Zev, who came to welcome us. Our unit was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, inside and out. We used the kitchen for several dinners. The kids LOVED the spacious backyard and play structure, and the chickens that sometimes wandered over from next door. We enjoyed freshly picked figs and tomatoes - heavenly! The unit also had a nice TV with satellite. Though we're not a TV-oriented family, the kids really enjoyed Clifford in Italian!

We loved how convenient La Mucchia was to the Tuscan hill towns -- Pienza, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Arezzo, etc. The nearby town of Camucia was our go-to place for everyday things -- groceries at EuroStar and the most wonderful cappuccini every morning at Cafe Vanneli. The other nearby town, of course, is the beautiful and more famous Cortona, where we spent two days sightseeing. Uri and Zev provided several restaurant recommendations, including Pizzeria Il Cortona, which we loved so much that we went there TWICE for dinner!

We had a wonderful Tuscan vacation and we recommend La Mucchia for other couples and families.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gengrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We spent a very happy two weeks at La Mucchia Casa. The owners are charming and hugely helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-appointed. We loved cooking in our own kitchen or on the large communal BBQ outside.

The house is not set in a silent, remote corner of the countryside - there's a road with sporadic traffic right outside the front gate - but it does feel rural. And the location is perfect for short trips to a host of wonderful sites in this part of Tuscany and even nearby Umbria. We found it the ideal base for exploring, and wonderful place to relax back into after a day spent on the road. The sunsets from the pool will live long in the memory.

It was great for the kids, too. Ours met other children from around Europe and enjoyed playing together in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotSoFamousFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2009

The Farmhouse in La Mucchia is the perfect location for a visit to Tuscany and Umbria with simple access to highway A-1 below the city of Cortona. It is in close proximity to all the interesting sites including a train ride away from Florence. The accommodations are set in a traditional farmhouse with all the amenities of comfortable living including living areas, kitchenettes and modern bathrooms. There are no hidden charges and the hotel owners are gracious and helpful in the day to day planning of excursions. Thanks to the Farmhouse proprietors, Uri and Zev, for making our visit memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesGottaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Muchia for a week in Suite 8.
We found the hosts charming and very helpful with local information and always a pleasant smile.

The accomodation was comfortable and we had a lovely aspect out of our window looking over a field.

It is well located in the countryside not far from Cortona and well positioned for day trips.

Our suite had cooking facilities which also was a bonus.

We enjoyed our stay.

Thanks Uri and Quirina

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The residence was lovely and well stocked with everything you could ask for on a vacation. The hosts even left a bottle of wine for us.
The location was perfect, out of town, quiet with a nice pool and a garden that we were encouraged to help ourselves to. I am a runner and was comfortable running on the roads around the house.
Our hosts gave us tips about restaurants, shopping and historical sights.
This was the best part of our Italian stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancykhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

La Mucchia was everything we had ever dreamed Tuscany could be - and more! It is a beautiful location, a perfectly restored building with all of the warmth that we dreamed Tuscany would offer. The accomodations were wonderful, immaculately clean - and the owners couldn't have been more accomodating. Imagine being given a lovely bottle of Italian wine - and being served fresh figs from the trees on the ground - doesn't get any better!! If you have the opportunity to visit Tuscany, don't miss staying at La Mucchia!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzlia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Our first time in such surroundings. Always stayed at hotels at city centers. This time friends we are traveling with recommended "something different". We decided to give it a try and we are so happy about this decision. The rooms are spacious and tasteful decorated and we appreciated the quietness of the place. Lots of interesting places at a radius of 50-60 kms, we traveled everyday to a diferent place and the owners - Uri & Ze'ev - provided very useful tips. We ate breakfast in our rooms or outside, we were very lucky to have a wonderful weather at this time of the year, there is a adequate supermarket very near, so we ate also some of the meals in place when we were tired. Other evenings, the owners recommended very nice restaurants in the nearby surroundings, we ate the best pizza at Pizzeria il Vallone, and also a wonderful meal in Cortona. All said - we had a wonderful holiday, and we'll definitely recommended La Mucchia to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielakorem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana La Mucchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana La Mucchia

Property: Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Address: Loc. Mucchia 26, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Mucchia is positioned near Cortona in the heart of Tuscany, the town that became famous after the book and the movie “Under the Tuscan sun” by Frances Mayes. The Tuscany authentic style vacation house, originally built in 1760 is placed at the foot of the town of Cortona, which is an excellent spot for short day trips, because of the short distance to most of the cities around, such as: Montepulciano, Assisi, Florence, Siena, Perugia, the Lake of Trasimeno and Castiglione del lago, Pienza (Unesco heritage town) and many others. Within less then hour drive you can reach most of them. The holidays farmhouse, which was converted to suites hotel, is currently divided into nine luxurious individual apartments, in authentic Tuscan style, bounded by lawns, gardens, olive grove and other seasonal crops. The property includes parking, a children's play ground, splendid swimming pool surrounded by nature and views, sun terraces with views of Cortona city of Art. Our Art gallery with back office is open each days for our guests, to support with tips, itineraries, maps, information, reservations, office needs ,The whole farmhouse is covered by fast satellite Wi.Fi, Sat. TV flat screen with hundreds of movies, DVD, air-conditions, all included in our prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Toscana La Mucchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing