We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nj
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Mucchia Casa Vacanze this past July. It was the best vacation ever! First of all the pictures on the website are beautiful, but to be there in person is indescribable! The beauty and the serenity of the property was unexpected. The views from the room of Cortona was a constantly changing scene, different times of the day, different light. Everything was in bloom on the property, the flowers, the vegetable plants and herbs growing. The room was gorgeous, large and spacious for the two of us with beautiful furnishings and immaculatley clean! Our hosts were so helpful in assisting in our planning of day trips, Siena, Montepulciano, Mount Oliveto Monastery and taking the train into Firenze to name a few. It was so hard to leave but I know I will be back in the near future. It is truly a beautiful place. And thank you for making our vacation so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It is a real pleasure to read your review, we would like to thank you so very much for your beautiful words, we shall continue to help our guests in the same manner as we are used to: to let the guest to feel that he is at his own home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Few years ago we visited Cortona and stayed by chance at La Mucchia casa vacanze, it was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.
Last September, we decided to come again and we reminded ourselves about La Mucchia apartment hotel.
We were so lucky, as the hotel turn into real paradise, the gardens, the pool, everything looked so beautiful and cozy, the suite we had was number 7, which is on second floor, very
luminous and spacey, the views of Cortona from the windows are amazing, we enjoyed the vacation and we shall recommend to everybody we know, thank you for the hospitality which was the best ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avraham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we try our best to satisfy our guests requirements, thanks to you and other guests that we have the high position on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked La Mucchia Casa Vacanze based on its homey, comfortable look online, and were delighted when we arrived and it was even better in person. A bottle of local wine awaited us on the dining table and the apartment was charming. The exposed beams, glimpses of stone walls and hand-made doors and windows with their hand-forged hardware showed the love that was put into the restoration of this old farmhouse. Situated just a few minutes below Cortona and just a minute or two from the community of Camucia, restaurants, groceries and shops were convenient. This lovely stone farmhouse sits in the middle of farm country, and we enjoyed watching the neighbor harvesting the sunflower seeds and discing under the fields. We stayed in #5 and this is PERFECT for a couple. The original artwork in the apartment was lovely and they have a little gallery of art for sale in the office. We adored the covered porch with the little cafe tables and chairs, and spent most afternoons watching the sun set there. This side faces towards farm land and the back (pool side) faces towards Cortona. The pool and bbq area were nice, but the pool was covered for fall when we arrived. It would be the perfect summer hangout spot and they have a children's play area, little garden and olive trees. The apartment was spotless and we had everything we needed in the kitchen (pots, pans, utensils, etc) to put together several tasty meals. We tried both groceries, and the Coop is larger with more selection, but very busy. Take your own tote bags for your groceries or buy some there. Wine and liquor are plentiful and very reasonable at the Coop. It's really overwhelming to go to an Italian grocery when you are "foodies" - I wanted to load 3 baskets full to take home! Our hosts at La Mucchia were friendly, and helped guide us towards charming and delightful day trip destinations in the area such as Castiglione del Lago and The Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore. We also visited Montepulciano, Siena, the monthly antique fair at Arezzo, Pienza, and of course, Cortona. This is a great base location to explore the area, and we are already planning our next trip back to Tuscany. Check out my travel blog - Busy Bee Traveler (Italy), to learn more about our trip and hopefully give you some travel tips through Tuscany.

Room Tip: We loved Apartment #5 with its covered porch (nice when it rains) and view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamied39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello to our friends from Nashville,

Your review is much appreciated, since you wrote a "poesy" of stay at our place and I continue to read your experience on your personal blog, you know to describe your experience in a very interesting and colorful way.
We thank you very much for being our guests and also for your time writing this beautiful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

we stayed at la mucchia casa vacanze in Cortona for a week, me and my wife last October.
the old farmhouse was build in 1760 and was restored in 2005 by two brothers.9 suits some are
two bedrooms,and some are one bedroom they are large and lavish and well furnished.we had
a bathroom in every bedroom.the view from the room was incredible and we spend lots of time
gazing out on Cortona,and farms in the distance.the owners were great and helped us plan our days made us comfortable.
some day we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mucchia C, Manager at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I know it is bit late to answer, but it is better late then never, so I thank you so much for your review and for being our guest, from all of us here in Tuscany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We travel around Europe every year, we visited many cities big and small and finally we arrived to Cortona, this small medieval town, hidden on top of the hill, is so beautiful and so interesting, when we first climbed there we felt immediately that we love this place, the views were amazing, the terrace from piazza Garibaldi show you the whole valey and the lake of Trasimeno, also the restaurants and the small coffee bars with great pastries and cappuccino.
Then, you have La Mucchia, the house is old, was a farmhouse probably, very well restored, the rooms are big and very comfortable, the old beams and the furniture make it as you travel in time back in the history.
The pool and the seats around, at sundown we liked to seat and watch the sun hidden behind the mountains of the valey.
The hosts, they were lovely, they gave us great feeling and we nearly became friends with them, we liked to stay there very much.
we shall recommend the place to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment number 4, and we loved it because there is separate terrace, more privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent a romantic week at La Mucchia in September. I was pleased that the website pictures were really an accurate portrayal of the grounds and rooms. The owners of the villa were always happy to help us with planning our excursions. We saw many places that weren't on the usual tour guide route. The farmhouse and surroundings were very peaceful and beautiful and were close to many old Tuscany hill towns. We are already planning to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The upper floors provides a nice few of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at the farmhouse. We are not experienced travellers and needed a lot of help in planning our trip. As soon as we connected with the owners of the farmhouse we felt taken care of. They helped us with our plans, gave us a lot of suggestions on where to go and what to see. By the time we arrived we felt like we were visiting friends. We wanted to feel like part of the town not just like visitors and this location was perfect for that. It was easy to get to many of the Tuscany towns yet the farmhouse was nestled in a quiet, peaceful area. We are seniors and it was perfect for us. The hosts were so kind and attentive and we can't wait to get back to visit the farmhouse again.

Room Tip: We were in Apartment #5, perfect for a couple and it had a nice view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana La Mucchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana La Mucchia

Property: Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Address: Loc. Mucchia 26, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Mucchia is positioned near Cortona in the heart of Tuscany, the town that became famous after the book and the movie “Under the Tuscan sun” by Frances Mayes. The Tuscany authentic style vacation house, originally built in 1760 is placed at the foot of the town of Cortona, which is an excellent spot for short day trips, because of the short distance to most of the cities around, such as: Montepulciano, Assisi, Florence, Siena, Perugia, the Lake of Trasimeno and Castiglione del lago, Pienza (Unesco heritage town) and many others. Within less then hour drive you can reach most of them. The holidays farmhouse, which was converted to suites hotel, is currently divided into nine luxurious individual apartments, in authentic Tuscan style, bounded by lawns, gardens, olive grove and other seasonal crops. The property includes parking, a children's play ground, splendid swimming pool surrounded by nature and views, sun terraces with views of Cortona city of Art. Our Art gallery with back office is open each days for our guests, to support with tips, itineraries, maps, information, reservations, office needs ,The whole farmhouse is covered by fast satellite Wi.Fi, Sat. TV flat screen with hundreds of movies, DVD, air-conditions, all included in our prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Toscana La Mucchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing