We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic experience we had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Last October, me and my wife decided to visit Tuscany, we have seen many years ago the movie Under the Tuscan Sun, and about 20 years ago we
have been to Florence,at that time we were accommodated in a Hotel in the old center of town.
This experience, to stay in 300 years old farmhouse, turned to luxurious suites lodgings was the highlight of our stay in Tuscany, and with the
good tips and restaurants ,cities of Art and breathtaking landscapes and to mention the good wine of Montepulziano (I hope to pronounce it well) this is Tuscany, we shall
be back, it was wonderful, thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Last September, I was at La Mucchia villa in Cortona,Tuscany together with my 16 years old daughter and my husband, we were accommodated in suite number 4.
This suite has private access and a private terrace, one bathroom and 2 bedrooms with living room, very charming and spotless.
We had a very good tips from the owners, also we took a day biking around the nearer lake, afterwards we took the ferry to the islands.
There are plenty to do there, we stayed a week which was too short and hectic.
This year we decided to come back in October, for a longer period, and we think to take the same suite as last year,we shall recommend this villa to all our friends, it was the highlight of
our Tuscan experience.
The Davidsons,Tel Aviv

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We live in New York, and once a year we travel to another spot in Europe, to try out other places ,but we love Italy, especially the food and the atmosphere. A few years ago, I think 5, we went to a special farmhouse near the town of Cortona, and last December we decided to give it another try, as we remembered the good experience we had 5 years ago.
The place is AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL and the hosts are fantastic- they are so helpful with anything you might need, and we even went out for a pizza with them.
The rooms were spotless, shiny, the kitchen was very artistically Tuscan style made, everything was wonderful and we even got lucky with the weather!. This was absolutely the highlight of our trip for the end of the year, not to mention the Christmas period with all the decorations in the streets. I would definitely recommend La Mucchia to everyone!

Erica K. New York

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ericamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at La Mucchia as newly weds for a romantic and relaxing honeymoon.We couldn't have chosen better.The cosy suite in the beautiful old structure with gardens and swimmingpool for lazing about ,invited us to do just that.And whenever we wanted to take some sightseeing trips ,the owners were there to advise us about places ,restaurants ,events.We chose La Mucchia on advise of friends,and we are happy that we took it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 113traveller385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I travelled with my family , wife,two kids and one set of grandparents ,to Tuscany ,where we had never been before.We booked the biggest suite at La Mucchia, casa vacanza ,where all of us could stay very comfortable.The owners advised us during our search for the right suite ,and when we arrived , everything was as described and promised,even more so.
During our stay,8 days, the owners ,Quirina and family ,helped us every day to plan our trips, near and far ,gave us recommandations for restaurants , museums, shopping , activities for our kids.Without their help and directions, we would never have experienced so much of Tuscany.We want to thank you so much for making our family vacation so perfect , ans we certainly will try to send you our friends and family.

MikelTelAviv

Room Tip: Write to the owners about your wishes and expectations.They will advise you assordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikelTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at la Mucchia Casa for almost a week during the month of October 2012. La Mucchia Casa is a beautiful place. The Tuscany atmosphere was all around. Our apartment was clean and well equipped. The Hotel is located at a prime location, close to the old city of Cortona and with an hour drive to Siena and an hour by train to Florence. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and very helpful with local tips and recommendations. We will be happy to return and recommend it warmly to everybody that goes to Tuscany.
Hagit & Doron

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first time and hopefully not the last. We were a family of 6 and were given the largest apartment which included 2 bedrooms, a hall with 2 beds and a wide living room.
The apartment is well equipped and most welcoming.
The location is quite though central and though we did not use the facilities (barbecue, swimming pool, playground for kids) it was great. The Toscane atmosphere was felt.
The owners are more than welcoming and very helpful. They were eager to assist and guide with local tips and recommendations.
Keep up the good work and hope to see you again next time.
Sigal Basson

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigalBasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your post, and for being our guest, Toda Raba !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
759 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
819 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
401 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#10 of 24 in Cortona
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana La Mucchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana La Mucchia

Address: Localita Mucchia, 26, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: $86 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Mucchia is positioned near Cortona in the heart of Tuscany, the town that became famous after the book and the movie “Under the Tuscan sun” by Frances Mayes. The Tuscany authentic style vacation house, originally built in 1760 is placed at the foot of the town of Cortona, which is an excellent spot for short day trips, because of the short distance to most of the cities around, such as: Montepulciano, Assisi, Florence, Siena, Perugia, the Lake of Trasimeno and Castiglione del lago, Pienza (Unesco heritage town) and many others. Within less then hour drive you can reach most of them. The holidays farmhouse, which was converted to suites hotel, is currently divided into nine luxurious individual apartments, in authentic Tuscan style, bounded by lawns, gardens, olive grove and other seasonal crops. The property includes parking, a children's play ground, splendid swimming pool surrounded by nature and views, sun terraces with views of Cortona city of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Toscana La Mucchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing