We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place is heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
Certificate of Excellence
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Probably the best place we ever stayed at.. Beautiful Tuscan countryside location, beautiful rooms, great service, and the food is absolutely delicious both at breakfast and dinner. Can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danae1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
114
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruiselede
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at this estate during a very hot summer and from the mountains in Umbria. Our GPS had difficulty with finding the right location, but the arrival between the sunflowers was a relief. A beautiful estate, restored with great respect for the past. A friendly, multilingual reception, a beautiful room with a perfectly working air conditioning. The fine evening meals and breakfast, are served on the terrace with a fantastic panorama. The wine list is nice and affordable. The domain is flat and is equipped with green lawns and a nice swimming pool. As night fell, we witnessed a wonderful full moon above Cortona. The owners of the estate are nice people who never impose and are always ready with good advice. This is a place to remember and to go back for another holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a wonderful farmhouse that is fairly conveniently located near Cortona.

We have only stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed much longer. The place was very relaxing and lovely. The room was attached was a common living room / dining area / kitchen that was shared with another room. We were lucky as the other room was not occupied, so we kept the entire common area to ourselves.

The service was incredible and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongTai_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Every aspect of our week here was superb and in particular the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble. The setting was perfect even if the famous sunflowers had gone, but the views were still beautiful and it was very peaceful strolling round the grounds. The grounds have different areas so you could always find somewhere to sit in privacy if you didn't want company and the pool area was clean and well equipped - we did swim though the water by the end of September was quite cool! The rooms were spacious and tastefully furnished to a high degree and were kept immaculate throughout our stay. The food at breakfast was extremely fresh, especially the fruit, and the dinners were simply superb - not expensive with a comprehensive and keenly priced wine list. We didn't want to come home and will make every effort to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Specify a room with a bath or a shower if you have a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week in the beginning of September 2012 about 3 weeks ago so I'm finally getting to my review, We stayed for a week with another couple and we rented an apartment on the ground floor which included a VERY large common area with kitchen, two separate bedrooms with bathrooms, (showers). Fridge, stove, AC,microwave, although we didn't do any cooking. The rooms were large and beds comfortable. The grounds are huge as they have about 300 acres which they farm sunflowers to produce sunflower oil. We also had our own kind of gazebo outside our room, to hang out and drink wine, and more wine, you ARE in Italy. Built in pool also but we didn't use it as it wasn't that hot. The best thing about staying here is the location, about 10 minutes from Cortona, and a good central location to visit Umbria and Tuscany. Paulo and his family are very friendly and knowledgable of the area. Marco, his son speaks English very well so this may help you alot. My wife speaks Italian so she was the designated translator as Paulo had many interesting stories, (he is Italian) he doesn't speak English.
This is an old restored farm house and we loved it. They serve dinner a few nights a week in the restaurant where they serve breakfast. It's not open to the public, they just cook for the guests. We had breakfast outside every morning as the weather was beautiful. Dinner was outside one night also. Breakfast was very good as they had a kind of buffet with pastries, yogurts, cakes, some meats, fruits, juices, eggs and other stuff. Plenty to eat and good. The restaurant is restored with the vaulted ceilings and old stonework. Had Very Good dinners there along with their own label wine . Paulo and Marco also do the serving, everything was fantastic. Also it is VERY peaceful and quiet!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED would love to stay there again.
We visited many small towns in the area, if you need info on where to go and eat let me know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice blend of old Tuscan charm with reasonably modern amenities. Had a good sleep in a comfortable bed and enjoyed the quiet surroundings among the fields. Good selection at breakfast. Pool area is very nice - love the bath and changing rooms. Only drawback is that their kitchen is not open every evening so be prepared that you might have to drive somewhere for dinner.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After being here an hour, I wanted to extend our 2-night stay to a month. The whole place is so warm and inviting. Beauty in every direction. The beautiful rustically appointed room shared a central living room with three other guest rooms which came off the other three corners of the common room. In our room we were never aware of anyone else being in our whole building. I did see another couple in the living room when I went in there to use my IPad for better reception.
We used the pool both days we were there. Refreshingly cool water was a welcome relief after a busy day of sightseeing and Cortona and Montepulciano. Sitting by the pool reading or just looking over the heavily laden grapevines in this idyllic setting was truly a dream. Marco is the perfect host along with his father. His mother prepared a delicious dinner on Saturday night. Dinner is not available every night. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. We would go back there in a heartbeat. Our stay at Le Terre dei Cavalieri was definitely a highlight in our wonderful Italian vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pielady_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
6.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
5.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Relais Borgo San Pietro
#12 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Property: Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
Address: Via Santa Caterina 46, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our estate consists of a Farmhouse and a Leopoldina built in the 18th century during the extensive reclamation of the Valdichiana by the Grand Dukes of Tuscan. In times past they belonged to the Order of the Knights of St. Stephen and Malta. The Order used to protect the ancient Grand Ducal Farm of Creti and S. Caterina.The restoration of these buildings required some years of works during which the old "cocciopesto" plaster was restablished, walls with the natural stuccoed pigments were painted and where the structure of the fireplaces wee left unchanged, vaults of the old stable were empty and strengthened, columns which define the countryside were stuccoed.Today we can offer you this unique place to enjoy an intense and unrepeatable experience, making you feel part of an environment where things have remained unchanged and the past seems to be brought back to life everyday in its charm and character.You will be able to dine in a kitchen that used to accommodate over thirty people at a time, sleep in the bedroom converted from the old cattle shed where farmers used to spend sleepless nights watching over their cows delivering their calves, sleep in the "tracantone" bed, sleep in the bedroom located in the Loggia or in the bedroom converted from the old dove-tower, a shelter where doves were bred by farmers. Fireplaces will tell you and remind you of stories that were told gathering around them in the cold winter nights.Walls are decorated with paintings and pictures that will explain you old piece of life and tradition. The best images you will be able to behold will come, as if by magic, from the windows opening onto stunning natural settings such as the dark mountains hanging over Cortona, the sweet and seamless country-side and the noble profile of Cortona.Unique observation, scenes and tastes of true peasant life, a restful and relaxing effect, wealth of details interpreting the sense of place.Looking forward to having you here to discover many more things that words can not describe we would like to make a wish: that knocking on our door you may call beauty by its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terre Dei Cavalieri Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing