We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Tuscan charm with a modern touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tuscan charm with a modern touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice blend of old Tuscan charm with reasonably modern amenities. Had a good sleep in a comfortable bed and enjoyed the quiet surroundings among the fields. Good selection at breakfast. Pool area is very nice - love the bath and changing rooms. Only drawback is that their kitchen is not open every evening so be prepared that you might have to drive somewhere for dinner.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
118
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After being here an hour, I wanted to extend our 2-night stay to a month. The whole place is so warm and inviting. Beauty in every direction. The beautiful rustically appointed room shared a central living room with three other guest rooms which came off the other three corners of the common room. In our room we were never aware of anyone else being in our whole building. I did see another couple in the living room when I went in there to use my IPad for better reception.
We used the pool both days we were there. Refreshingly cool water was a welcome relief after a busy day of sightseeing and Cortona and Montepulciano. Sitting by the pool reading or just looking over the heavily laden grapevines in this idyllic setting was truly a dream. Marco is the perfect host along with his father. His mother prepared a delicious dinner on Saturday night. Dinner is not available every night. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. We would go back there in a heartbeat. Our stay at Le Terre dei Cavalieri was definitely a highlight in our wonderful Italian vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pielady_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

after detour from A1 and finally finding (GPS didnt work) this is magnificent!!!. best of our trip. !!!breakfast was beautifully displayed, large variety of foods with american coffee.. dinner was superb.. bed linens elegant and antiques interesting... highly recommend...couldnt have been better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiko1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Agriturismo is the epitome of peacefulness and understated luxury. Our well appointed (AC, TV) room was adjacent to a central living area shared by three other rooms. The central living area was a living room, family room, and kitchen area all in one room. The decorating throughout the estate is very tastefully done. A beautiful breakfast was served either indoors or outdoors. Dinner, prepared by the owners, is served two or three times a week. The swimming pool was nice, but seemed to be solar heated-not real warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If like me you are searching for the Italian countryside villa experience, don't search anymore, just stay here! It is the most amazing place. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, very spacious with a wonderful shower! The common areas are so well decorated that I almost spent more time taking pictures of the villa than I did of Italy! You must eat in the restaurant during your stay. The family prepare the food and it is just wonderful! We ate outside and the atmosphere was exactly as I had imagined that a stay at and Italian villa might be. There is an enormous breakfast spread each morning, everything you could imagine and more! The pool is wonderful and although the villa was fully booked when we were there, it never felt crowded, actually for the most part, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. I cannot say enough about the family that runs Le Terre dei Cavallieri. They were wonderful, so helpful, so friendly and warm. On our last day we had to leave at 7am, the night before we left there was a bag with breakfast dropped to our room. And lastly, the location was perfect. We were less than 10 minutes from Cortona, there are so many little towns within a 30 minute drive and if you want to go a little further, the town of Assisi is only an hour away and well worth the trip! We we definitely return to Le Terre dei Cavallieri!!

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were fantastic!!! Air con and shutters, made for a cool dark roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PondLeaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a beautiful place to stay, surrounded by sunflower fields and vineyards, with a view of Cortona in the distance. The rooms were spacious and clean (with a great shower!), and the pool was terrific (it was August!). The owners were pleasant and friendly. Wonderful place, would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szolnok
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Le Terre dei Cavalieri is the best place we have ever been. The owners and staff are all very nice and friendly. We could not ask for anything that they could not deliver. They do everything that the guest feel completely comfortable.
Perhaps there is not a guest who does not return at least once! Needless to say that we definitely will!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable. The staff do everything to share the rooms on the best way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
6.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
5.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#13 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri

Property: Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
Address: Via Santa Caterina 46, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our estate consists of a Farmhouse and a Leopoldina built in the 18th century during the extensive reclamation of the Valdichiana by the Grand Dukes of Tuscan. In times past they belonged to the Order of the Knights of St. Stephen and Malta. The Order used to protect the ancient Grand Ducal Farm of Creti and S. Caterina.The restoration of these buildings required some years of works during which the old "cocciopesto" plaster was restablished, walls with the natural stuccoed pigments were painted and where the structure of the fireplaces wee left unchanged, vaults of the old stable were empty and strengthened, columns which define the countryside were stuccoed.Today we can offer you this unique place to enjoy an intense and unrepeatable experience, making you feel part of an environment where things have remained unchanged and the past seems to be brought back to life everyday in its charm and character.You will be able to dine in a kitchen that used to accommodate over thirty people at a time, sleep in the bedroom converted from the old cattle shed where farmers used to spend sleepless nights watching over their cows delivering their calves, sleep in the "tracantone" bed, sleep in the bedroom located in the Loggia or in the bedroom converted from the old dove-tower, a shelter where doves were bred by farmers. Fireplaces will tell you and remind you of stories that were told gathering around them in the cold winter nights.Walls are decorated with paintings and pictures that will explain you old piece of life and tradition. The best images you will be able to behold will come, as if by magic, from the windows opening onto stunning natural settings such as the dark mountains hanging over Cortona, the sweet and seamless country-side and the noble profile of Cortona.Unique observation, scenes and tastes of true peasant life, a restful and relaxing effect, wealth of details interpreting the sense of place.Looking forward to having you here to discover many more things that words can not describe we would like to make a wish: that knocking on our door you may call beauty by its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terre Dei Cavalieri Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing