We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Marsili(Cortona)
$168
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borgo il Melone(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$143
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Relais Villa Baldelli(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italia(Cortona)(Great Value!)
$101
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$306
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
$472
$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
20
22
12
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
22
12
6
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a DB&B basis and found it a welcome respite after a hard day's tourism. The owner was very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and cool and the food was in the 'family' style (at least on half board - we did not view the menu). Meals were taken on the terrace which afforded pleasant views. We could have stayed for a week!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have an expansive view and there is very little traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The owner here helped to make the most of our time in Tuscany and we really enjoyed it. Explanations, maps and directions were all provided with patience to us English speaking tourists! I was also able to plug my phone in to charge through the computer which was very helpful as I didn't have the right plug adapter. Everyone working there is very hospitable and eager to help where they can.

The breakfast bits were fresh and tasty and the dinner we ate on the night we arrived was delicious! They have the best coffee in Italy at this hotel!

The hotel is not in Cortona itself, but up the mountain; so although you aren't in the thick of it, the views are amazing, and the hotel is so peaceful and relaxing. We loved it as a base for our exploration of Tuscany.

The hotel is traditional and old school; so don't expect a modern feel. The beds are big and comfy, and towels changed everyday. The room we got had a wet room type bathroom that I didn't really enjoy but I did ask for a room with a shower so a room with a bath may have been a better choice. Having said that, the room was super clean so it was fine. The TV is tiny but there are English channels if you need something to fall asleep to at night. You aren't there for TV anyway but its nice to have! The radiator in the bathroom was on when we arrived but the one in the room didn't seem to work the first night; but when we asked about it the next day, the owner apologised and said he would take a look. When we got back that evening it was working.

All in all, a good hotel to act as a base to explore this part of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abi_SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

AlbergoPortole is set further up in the hills from Cortona and provides a peaceful alternative to the crowds below.
The hotel itself feels very ‘alpine‘ due to both its décor and its beautiful location with fabulous views on all sides.
We were there in October and although it was chilly and damp outside we were very warm and cosy in our room with plenty of storage, a large comfortable bed and good lighting ( one of my particular bugbears!)
The bathroom was adequate but unfortunately had a traditional shower which drained directly onto the floor therefore making it necessary to mop up after. Guess they are used to sodden bathmats!!
The buffet style breakfast was most acceptable with the usual choice of cold meats and cheese and sweet things.
We had dinner in the restaurant on both evenings and found the menu both varied and of a high standard and sensibly priced. Far better option all round than driving down to Cortona and back.
The proprietor and his wife and staff were very friendly and always on hand to help. Nothing was too much bother.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. The views are lovely. The hotel is dated but clean. When I arrived it was cold and the owner said the heat wouldn't be turned on until evening. I spent most of the first afternoon and evening in my room in bed trying to stay warm. The owner also seemed to be overwhelmed at times and I felt as if my requests for an internet password etc. were a burden. On the bright side, the dinner's were wonderful and he seemed to be quite cheerful and accommodating during the evening meal.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
Thank goingplaces99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We have just returned from three days in this hotel - whilst visiting Cortona. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We were given the choice of three rooms and picked the one with the best views over the valley below. The food was really good - we brought over everyone we knew from a family wedding for dinner) - try the wild boar tagliatelle and the local wine -made by a friend of the owner. Really great country cookery. The views are superb and if you listen carefully you can hear dogs howling in the middle of the night in the valley below as they hunt wild boar! The owner is a wonderful host and anxious to do anything that will make your stay more comfortable. They really could not have been nicer or more accommodating and the service was wonderful. This hotel is about 20 mins up the hill from Cortona - the views on the way are amazing - so it's well worth the trip. You can eat breakfast at the front of the hotel in the sun in the morning and then lunch and dinner on the terrace at the back - overlooking the forested mountains below. This is really good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracemccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews