We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could we want?”
Review of Casa Chilenne B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Chilenne B&B
Ranked #6 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've read the other reviews, and maybe the best way to say it is I think a Jeanette fan club may be forming. Admittedly, as Americans it is easy to relax when the proprietor is American-born, but she really does an excellent job. Her home baked breakfasts are a stand-out, there's a very nice small lounge that has a small kitchenette (espresso machine!) that opens to an area with outdoor seating. Casa Chilenne had everything we wanted.

Room Tip: Our front rooms facing the street do get some street noise from kids going to school as well as folk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_now1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Grazie Mille ! My husband & I & our 7yr old son have just spent part of 1/2 term here in Cortona - It was like visiting a favourite aunt & being spoilt rotten. Brilliant points: in town, great rooms & bathrooms, clean, hi-spec, well decorated, everything so easily accessible - take the 'Nest' it's at the top - bedroom & lounge with kitchenette & lovely balcony - from where you can view life going on below. Jeanette however...well you just can't buy this sort of hospitality. Halloween: rice crispy/pumpkin biscuits wrapped in cellophane & festive ribbons, apple pie and pumpkin imprinted pancakes for breakfast - a gift & a bag of sweets on the breakfast table for our son. Post breakfast Jeanette had procured a pumpkin for Enrico to carve and entrée to the local children's Halloween party featuring 'walk the museum by torchlight'. Weather was great & few tourists - so easy to get a table at any time. ps to Jeannette's DAD in USA - be proud - she's a GREAT girl!

Room Tip: I'd take 'El Nido' top floor every time - worth doing the stairs for the independent fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Jeanette is the best host ever. My wife and spent part of our honeymoon in Cortona and stayed at Casa Chilenne for 5 nights. Jeanette was so welcoming and accommodating-even when we threw her some curve balls!
We would recommend her to anyone. This is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at.

Peter and Meagan W

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I honestly do not know where to begin to describe our experience at Jeanette's wonderful bed and breakfast. Upon arrival at the train station in Camucia, we followed Jeanette's advice and took the small bus to Cortona – a 15-minute trip. The driver did not have any tickets, so the ride was free, normally it would cost you a few Euro at least, but all the other passengers were so helpful in explaining the process we felt quite confident in knowing exactly what to do should we have to buy a ticket.

We were dropped at the bottom entrance to the town, and only later realised that there are a few gates (some leading almost directly onto Via Nazionale where Casa Chilenne is located). But with our first view of the town looking so picturesque, medieval and simply unreal, we were too in awe to really look for other ways to enter the town. We decided to (at a slow pace) enter the town from the bottom (bags in tow) and explore as we tried to find Casa Chilenne. Once we were on Via Nazionale (a good few minutes later) it was very easy to locate the Bed and Breakfast. After opening the door, a friendly Jeanette greeted us from the top of a scary looking flight of stairs, but before we could enter the building, another friendly and very eager authentic old Italian man came running and started chatting to Jeanette animatedly. Jeanette ushered us in and called to us to leave our bags at the bottom as "Guido" would see to them. Guido turned out to be the old man, who was well-known throughout the town and was quick to appear on the spot should any odd jobs be available (we spotted him a number of times during the course of our stay in Cortona).

Jeanette invited us into her lovely dining room and immediately told us to help ourselves should any cake be left (and trust me, fully utilise any chance you get to have some of Jeanette's cake – you are lucky if a crumb is left at the end of the day!). After giving us a few tips and basic info about staying in Casa Chilenne and Cortona, Jeanette showed us to our beautiful triple room. She also told us about the balcony and the shared lounge area (including fold out kitchenette!). The town can be quite noisy at night – so if you are a light sleeper, plan to party with the locals instead of going to bed too early.

On our first day we attended a cooking class in Cortona (led by Shirley Offra). Jeanette called Shirley to make sure that everything was ready for us – Jeanette was really helpful in assisting us with all our travel and tour arrangements. On our second day we explored the town and did some gift shopping. We bought a lot of porcelain pieces from the little shop close to Jeanette's – she will be quick to tell you that this is very authentic to Cortona and the story behind the little sunflower logo on the pieces. We were not sure how we were going to arrange a wine tasting to the various wine farms in the area, but upon hearing our predicament, Jeanette was quick to come up with a solution and suggested we team up with one of her other quests and rent a taxi. Jeanette knows the driver and will make the necessary arrangements for us. We decided on Pienza, Moltepulciano and a few stops in between (one to buy our tickets to Monterosso the next day – it is easier to do this at the bigger station on your way to the other towns – Camucia-Cortona station is tiny and does not have a kiosk with someone to assist you) Enzo, the taxi driver, was punctual, a great tour guide (even though he struggled to speak English) and a real gentlemen (stopped the taxi at regular intervals so that all the photographers can capture the magnificent scenery).

After reading all the rave reviews on Jeanette's cooking we could not wait for breakfast every morning – and were not disappointed. Jeanette made delicious waffles, cakes and even poached eggs on request! We stayed at Casa Chilenne for 4 nights and would probably have liked to stay longer. Jeanette is a remarkable host and went above and beyond what we expected. If I ever get a chance to go again, I would try to stay in the room next to the lounge area, it is so lovely to sit on the balcony and look over all the rooftops of the old town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelmé J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We really enjoyed everything about our stay here. The large guest rooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated in Tuscan style with attention to every detail a guest would need. Jeanette is the consummate hostess. Her husband Luciano and assistant Serena are very gracious and helpful. We fell in love their darling poodles Carlotta and Daisy. Her breakfasts, which consist of traditional Italian fare as well as just about anything an American could desire, are beautifull presented and scrumptious! The breakfast room is also beautifully decorated. The roof top common area is a great addition to the accommodations. Jeanette knows the people and places in town and knows where to find the best of the best, so heed her advice and recommendations. We stayed here for 4 nights in early October and dream of returningd for a couple of weeks. The B&B is conveniently situated at the end of Via Nazionale closest to the Piazzale Garibaldi. You can unload suitcases here, then park in the free lot further down the hill off of Viale Cesare Battisti and take the stairs/escalator back up to the Piazzale Garibaldi. From there, the B&B is just a short walk up the street. Cortona is very well situated for exploring Tuscany and Umbria so make this your home base and enjoy the countryside and hill towns. We truly can’t say enough good things about Casa Chilenne – it is simply the best! Can’t wait to return! Thank you, Jeanette, for the best time of our trip!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CZHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Jeanette knows how to run a B&B and all of the TripAdvisor accolades are well deserved. My Wife and I stayed for a weekend in September and we loved Cortona - all of the beautiful scenes and sites you see in the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun" are true! Cortona is really interesting itself and the B&B has a great location on the main pedestrian way about 50 yards from the main square. Jeanette provides excellent restaurant recommendations and there are a number of really good ones within walking distance. The shopping is also good. The only downside is parking is a bit of a pain but you definitely need a car to explore the close by towns of Montepulciano and Montalcino (two great wine Meccas). We had a great lunch and wine tasting tour at Poggio Antico in Montalcino - you find out first hand about why their Brunello and Altero wines are legendary! You need to make a reservation in advance. Bottom line - if you are looking for a story book weekend in Tuscany, book a room at Casa Chilene, rent a car and go explore - you will love it!

Room Tip: Il Nido is at the top and up several flights of stairs but it is very nice with the lounge and terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojuko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent just two nights but we can't say enough superlatives, most convenient location right at the entrance to the main street, amazing service on arrival and departure, a breakfast menu with endless options and just a great welcome feeling. The suite was modern, clean with a life sized shower. It was on the front of the building but there was no problem sleeping. Definitely set the gold standard for B&Bs in our minds. Jeanette helped us with a call back to a previous hotel, so much appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
315 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Corte di Ambra B&B
La Corte di Ambra B&B
#4 of 43 in Cortona
92 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa Bellavista B&B
Casa Bellavista B&B
#1 of 43 in Cortona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chilenne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chilenne B&B

Address: Via Nazionale 65, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range: $124 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Chilenne B&B is located in a newly restored historic building. We offer 5 rooms with private bath, air conditioning, mini bar, Satellite TV, safes, telephone , hair dryers, free WiFi and LAN cable connection to ADSL internet service. Buffet Breakfast is served daily in our private onsite breakfast room- maid service is provided daily. Our rooms are located on 3 floors and we have fit our stairs with 4 chairlifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Casa Chilenne B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chilenne Bed And Breakfast
Casa Chilenne Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing