We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Apartments
Ranked #62 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Manasquan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan Heaven”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a two week vacation from this beautiful Country. It was my first experience and did not want to be a slave to a formal Tour schedule so my husband, sister and brother in law scheduled our own 14 day "experience". Part of our trip was to center ourselves in this region to visit hill towns and do the vineyard thing. We chose Cortona mostly because of its location, knowing that we would be driving ourselves, most days, to Asisi, Siena, Montelcino, Florence and Pisa. This was a HOME RUN! We stayed in the Belvedere and Glicine apartments on the ground floor. They are connected by a common hallway but with each having their own entry off that hallway. The view from the front apartment common area was spectacular. The four of us used that space for eating and relaxing. The front apartment bedroom was small but comfortable. The back apartment had no window views but the bedroom was very large and the bathroom was a bit larger also. Be forwarned that the showers are a struggle throughout the entire country. My 6'4" brother-in-law struggled the entire trip but with a great sense of humor. Let me say also that Francesca was there whenever we needed direction. All we needed to do was dial her cell and we had her attention. It was one of the cleanest apartments we rented and out of the 11 cities and towns that we visited, this was our favorite. It was the only place that was limited in tourists and you felt the love of the residents...we miss our Cafe' Americano from Mossimo every morning..and oh...did I mention the view?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkb102259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarkson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Waking up in Cortona to a gorgeous sunrise and view of the valley plus Lake Trasimeno was spectacular. We were four friends traveling and had a two bedroom apartment; however this was only one bathroom. There was a washer but no dryer because most people hang their clothes to dry. If you are there for a long period of time and need a laundramat, there is one in Camucia. We didn't realize when booking the apartment that we were responsible for items such as toilet paper, garbage bags, etc. Again, if you are staying for an extended period ask about what is / isn't included. The location of this apartment is very convenient to the piazza. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the valley for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolinLakeKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed in the Ortensia apt. For 2 weeks and loved it. The view from the patio was wonderful. Perfect location. Francesca, the owner, was lovely. When making the reservations she responded immediately and was very easy to deal with. The apt. Was clean and fresh, large bathroom, plenty of hot water and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The Belvedere Apartments are beautifully located allowing easy access to the Town centre and to the Tuscan country side. I found the kitchen adequately supplied with cooking utensils which permitted me to prepare wonderful meals. We ate alfresco under the beautiful Tuscan stars. We stayed 3 weeks and loved every minute. Francesca was very helpful and went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HootonM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We spent 10 nights in the Glicine apartment in Belvedere, and had the pleasure of seeing the majority of the other apartments when we were leaving thanks to the good will of our hostess, Francesca. The apartments are all lovely. The views over the Tuscan landscape are fantastic, the location is perfect. Quiet and serene, but part of a village nonetheless. You can drive your car up to the apartments to unload your luggage, and then park nearby where the parking is free. This is very convenient when you consider you will almost always have a hire car to travel around to all the lovely Tuscan villages and wineries in the region. Inside the walled town of Cortona, Via San Sebastiano where the apartments are situated, is at the bottom of the village area which makes it perfect because you have the energy to walk up hill to a bar or restaurant for dinner, and then can easily 'roll' yourself down the traditional alleyways back to your apartment after dinner with ease. Cortona is a perfect Tuscan town, and Belvedere are perfect apartments to stay in - great value, great location, great views, I would recommend Belvedere Apartments wholeheartedly. A truly wonderful stay in an accommodating village without being "too touristy". Highly recommended. Also, eat at Fuflunes pizzeria - sensational, and not just the pizzas - have a Fillet de Manza - beef fillet with porcini if you can - absolutely out of sight!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2009

During our trip to Cortona to visit our daughter who was studying abroad for the summer, we opted to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel, and we are so very glad that we did. Their website truly shows how lovely and accommodating the apartment is. Our stay in the apartment made our experience in Cortona that much more delightful. We would definitely recommend the Belvedere Apartments, and would stay again when visiting Cortona. Thank you Francesca.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCantalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed for one week in the Dream Apartment and it was really worth it´s price.
Large beautifully furbished rooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a great view over the landscapes.
The apartment was very cozy and quiet; you can really feel like being at home there.
Moreover the very nice owner presented us a bottle of their own wine.
It was so good that we took two more back home.
I can really suggest to stay there to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blablabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#10 of 24 in Cortona
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Le Residenze Ristori
Le Residenze Ristori
#10 of 79 in Cortona
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Kita
Casa Kita
#23 of 43 in Cortona
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonte Al Vento
Fonte Al Vento
#6 of 79 in Cortona
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Torrino
Agriturismo Il Torrino
#24 of 43 in Cortona
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Apartments

Property: Belvedere Apartments
Address: Via San Sebastiano 31, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing