We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful apartment in a wonderful town”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
benrosen
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a wonderful apartment in a wonderful town”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We just drove down from Cortona to Rome after spending two weeks in this apartment. Put simply, this apartment is wonderful. The view from the living room is as advertised. Vanna, our host was so kind and generous. The walk up the hill into town is not bad and once in town, you see why Cortona is such a great place to visit. Vanna gave us a cooking class one evening and all I can say is that she is a fantastic cook. Tuscan dishes are fantastic.
I would highly recommend this apartment if you want to get a good taste of the Tuscan life style. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueand
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice apartment with wonderful views.”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fairly spacious apartment which is nicely decorated. It is just outside the walls of Cortona on the main road that runs around the town. Parking is available over the road in the public car park for free. There is quite a steep walk into town as it is on the low side. The views from the back of the apartment are amazing looking down the hill to Camucia and out along the valley. We had a very comfortable stay here for 12 nights. Vanya (Mirko's mother) lives onsite and is very helpful although sometimes has difficulty with English. We really enjoyed our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtistJam...
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Your Italian Dream Come to Life”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Look no further if you’re on the hunt for your own little Italian hill-town fantasy.

LOCATION: While on a fairly well-travelled street, the door is accessed on a side pedestrian path and the windows face the opposite direction over a magnificent view. From the apartment, you’ll need to climb uphill a bit to reach the town center, but it shouldn’t be a problem for any reasonably-fit person.

COMMUNICATION: Mirko responds quickly and kindly on-line. He manages the apartments for his mother, Vanna, who stays on-site.

APARTMENT: Roomy, well-equipped, modern fixtures, good bed, nicely designed. What a pleasure to sit and gaze out down the hillside in this delightful gem of a place.

We did a small amount of cooking here and found it fun to purchase basic groceries in the tiny food stores in town. (Just make sure you don’t visit during their lunch break of 1:30-4:30 PM, when they’re closed. This is Italy, after all!)

TRANSPORTATION: On our first visit to Cortona, we had a rental car. This time we decided to use our feet and public transportation. Vanna may offer to pick you up from the train station in Camucia if she’s free. Otherwise, she will help you reserve taxi rides from one of the local drivers to help get you around as needed.

COOKING CLASS: We booked Vanna’s cooking class, which was a highlight of our time in Cortona. How many opportunities do you get to learn how to cook Italian food at the hand of an Italian grandmother? Vanna used recipes she had memorized from watching her own grandmother cook in this very location so many years ago. Vanna is a little shy about her English skills, but she actually does quite well if you speak slowly and simply and enunciate well.

OVERALL: What fun we had here. Largely we attribute that to the delightful Vanna, who made us feel completely at home during our eight days in Cortona. This is an excellent value, and an opportunity of a life-time.

NOTE: This apartment is just one of five owned by Mirko and Vanna in the building. I would not hesitate to rent any of their units. Just look for “Mirko T” as the contact person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Vanna
Liked least: Saying goodbye
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
503terry
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best view in Cortona”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Mirko and his mother Vanna were exceptional hosts. The view is majestic - better than the pictures. Everything you need is there from the fully equipped apt. rental to the location. Restaurants/stores in walking distance. Please see previous reviews as they say it so well I would just be repeating everything. The price is right and you will NOT be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjlk
Valley Village, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It is difficult to top all the previous excellent reviews but I'll try. The property description is too modest. This one bedroom apartment has an great kitchen, a comfortable bed, a good size bathroom. I wish we would have stayed a month.

The view is better than the picture. The restaurants in town were very good to excellent. The town center is a short walk but you will climb a hill or two. It is a hill town. Good opportunity to burn a few calories.

But the most important attribute of this property is the owners. Mirko and his mother Vanna are first and foremost high quality individuals. They are honest, affable, funny and helpful. They treat you like you are a member of their family. Make time to take a cooking lesson/dinner with Vanna. You will learn both macro and subtle techniques that will make your cooking better. Most importantly it is simply a fun evening. Take a week and do this. Don't stay in a hotel and change cities every 3 days. Experience Tuscany close up and personal. This city is centrally located to many other Tuscan cities. We had a car and enjoyed our daytime drives. Again, Treat yourself and DO THIS!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb views ... wonderful base location ... incomparable hospitality”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It’s difficult to find words to describe the incredible experience we had staying in this LOVELY apartment, but I’ll try. First, the location is wonderful;a town gate & free parking across the street;a reasonable 5-minute walk up to town & main piazza. The few steps to the front door, alone, will immediately charm you. Upon entry you immediately sense the loving care that goes into making this space one that makes you feel as if you are entering as cherished visitor into the family’s home as opposed to renter in a rental unit. The entire apartment is immaculate, well-equipped, renovated & decorated beautifully while maintaining signs of its ancient origins & has, as the “icing on the cake,” an incomparable view. The bed is incredibly comfortable, linens crisp & snug, closet sufficient to store our clothes. LOVED that we had the option of opening the French doors to the spectacular view yet could pull the screen down to safeguard against mosquitoes at night. There is a little terrace below the French doors where you can sit & enjoy the view while sipping on a glass of Prosecco. As beautiful & comfortable as this apt was, it is eclipsed by the warmth & cordiality of Vanna & Mirko who are the heart & soul of their lovely residences. I had corresponded with Mirko over a few months & had already felt as if I had known him always. Meeting beautiful Vanna seemed a natural extension of a friendship already launched. Mirko was kind enough to pick us up at the station, & Vanna was waiting to welcome us, literally with open arms, to 'Under the Tuscan Sun'. The highlight of our visit was spending an evening with them cooking, laughing, singing & creating a wealth of beautiful memories. Vanna’s home is charming & warm, and her & Mirko’s generosity of spirit creates an incomparable ambiance imparting a true flavor of genuine Tuscan hospitality making our stay extra special. The apt’s proximity to Cortona proper is a great boon; there is so much to explore here, but it is also an excellent base from which to visit surrounding towns. Dardano’s & Bucaccia in Cortona, & Rist Masolino in Panicale stand out as our outstanding dining experiences, though we ate great food everywhere (only disappointment, Il Gozzoviglio). But in the end, our trip was made especially exceptional through the warmth and solicitude of this special mom and son combo. We can’t wait to return. Mille grazie Vanna e Mirko! Baci!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more with a fantastic view and lovely people.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very therapeutic ten days, spent in “Under the Tuscan Sun”. We really enjoyed it, felt at home, felt welcome and just so relaxing. Mirko has a beautiful place to stay, the apartment was perfect for us. The air conditioning was most welcome, we did use the washing machine, everything dry overnight. There is good parking nearby and access to public transport via the bus stop near the city gate which we used a lot. Mirko showed us the newer developed apartments too, they were just as good if not better. Cortona is a great place for a holiday, friendly people, good places to eat that won't break the bank. The view from the main window is captivating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: For me the view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing