We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best week ever!”
The villa has its own private salt water pool  Size: 12 x 6 m - depth 1.40 m all over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa has its own private salt water pool  Size: 12 x 6 m - depth 1.40 m all over.
The house and the garden are intertwined as if in symbiosis. Lovingly restored, using only natural materials.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The villa has its own private salt water pool  Size: 12 x 6 m - depth 1.40 m all over.
The house and the garden are intertwined as if in symbiosis.
Lovingly restored, using only natural materials.
The original character of the house has been carefully preserved.
Lunch al fresco in front of the dining room
The big dining room
kitchen fully equipped with wood fired-pizza oven
The house emerges unexpectedly from a large clearing surrounded by ancient oaks.
A wedding dinner in front of the villa with around 100 guests (in 2 tables).
La Selva is a perfect place for a family reunion or to celebrate a wedding
The open-air private amphitheatre is available for private events
Bathroom with tub; overlooking the Arno valley
The pool overlooking the Arno Valley
La Selva is a perfect place for a family reunion or to celebrate a wedding
Our Amphitheatre is a perfect place to host a wedding celebration
A lovely welcome dinner with our new guests
Wedding day at La Selva Giardino del Belvedere
Visit the villa website to view the photos of the rooms. chianti-farm.com
Visit the villa website to view the photos of the rooms. chianti-farm.com
Yoga pavilion “Il Tondo” (not included in the villa rental)
Yoga pavilion “Il Tondo” (not included in the villa rental)
Yoga pavilion “Il Tondo” (not included in the villa rental)
Yoga pavilion “Il Tondo” (not included in the villa rental)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kosc
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best week ever!”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I were married at La Selva at Midsummer this year. A group of our nearest and dearest travelled from all over the world to be there and we spent the better part of a year planning and waiting for the event. We wanted something unique, relaxed, secret and authentically Tuscan… and boy did La Selva deliver! We had the best week of our lives and the wedding itself was perfect. The setting, the food, the wine, even the weather were all amazing. Words can't describe dancing the night away with our favourite people in the world, fairy lights and fireflies all around us and the Italian stars above.

The villa and grounds are like something out of a film, only better because is is all authentic! It is an unmistakably Tuscan experience. We ended up completing far fewer day trips into the surrounding countryside than we had planned as we didn't want to leave the villa, its beautiful garden and woods and of course the pool!

Francesco helped us organise every detail of both the holiday and the wedding celebrations. From the first tentative emailed enquiry through to a frantic phone call from us the day after we left (when we discovered we had lost our passports) he was absolutely professional, approachable and knowledgable. His expertise and unflappable calm were invaluable throughout the planning process and during our visit and we will be forever grateful for his assistance.

Thank you Francesco, the Cioncolini family and La Selva team (Maria! What a champion!) for a wonderful holiday and the perfect wedding. You all made us feel so welcome and cared for. We will never forget our perfect week at La Selva!

From the newlyweds,
H & J

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnabelBe...
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hidden Tuscan Retreat Offering an Authentic Experience of Rustic Italy”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A truly beautiful place to stay in hidden Tuscany. A place truly off the beaten path - a real jaw dropping 'wow' moment when the beautiful house and grounds are revealed after you have made your way up the narrow path/driveway.

Wonderful for escaping too if you want a real slice of rustic Italy. Excellent food and service. Well maintained grounds that are just wonderful to explore. A really warm welcome from the host. We were here as part of a wider group that were experiencing a number of Italian wedding services (I'm a professional wedding blogger).

Pros:
- Beautiful and tastefully converted house - managed by a family who clearly have an absolute passion for what they do
- Utterly exquisite surroundings and grounds to explore.
- Excellent food and service

Cons:
- The rooms are very cold at night. You will need to request extra blankets which are readily available
- The pool is not heated
- A little more care and attention needed in the rooms to add that finishing touch that would make this place very special indeed (our toilet seat was completely loose and not bolted down for example and one of the lamps in our room didn't work)

All in all, a beautiful stay and somewhere I'd most definitely recommend to other travellers.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
We are happy to know that you had a beautiful stay at La Selva Giardino del Belvedere and you appreciate the food and the service.

Me (Francesco) and all my family / staff really love to have guests at La Selva and we always do our best to give them an authentic Tuscan experience.

Thank you for bringing to my attention some improvements:
- The villa has a central gas heating system with 3 thermostats that the guests can manage by themselves; due to the big size of the villa it takes a few hours to reach the desired temperature.
- Toilet seat was replaced on your departure (sorry for the inconvenience)
- The villa has more than 100 bulbs; sometimes one lamp can stop working and we are happy to replace it.

Me and my family always welcome the guests with a traditional Tuscan dinner prepared by our cook Maria, this is a great opportunity to meet our guests and talk about the history of the house and the many interesting activities of the area.

During the week we are always at our guests' disposal and happy to do our best to make their stay more enjoyable
Looking forward to welcoming you and your friends at La Selva again

Sincerely
Francesco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombaybea...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A spectacular home, incredible location, and charming host”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in this home for a week, and if possible it is even nicer than the pictures.

A traditional farm house has been beautifully renovated, keeping the original character and decorated with an artistic flair. The main level has a large dining / sitting room, with a beautiful fireplace and wood oven. The windows on the back overlook the pool and across the valley you can see snow-capped peaks. There are five bedrooms on the top level and two on the ground level. The kitchen (actually there are two) has everything you would need to cook. If this sounds lovely, the grounds of the house are the true treasure. About 13 ha (30 acres) of wooded land, with flowers and trees, and thoughtful landscaping from benches to a large amphitheater). The charming host, Francesco, provides all kinds of useful information and tips on the region, and also arranged for the incomparable Maria to cook and clean. A small woman, she is a ninja in the kitchen. When we were a large group, we had her do a full dinner including handmade pasta, and when we were down to a smaller group we had her prepare two simpler meals in one visit. We had many Italians in our group, and even they agreed that it was simple, direct, and delicious Italian food. The cost per person works out to an incredible value for the quality.

And last but not least, what a great location. Montevarchi is a charming nearby town, with a lovely local food market where you can shop. And you're 30 km from Siena, 50 km Florence, and surrounded by Chianti wine grapes in every direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds are lovely
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiley265
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, gorgeous home with warm and genuine hosts. Perfect.”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of the house and hosts.

The house is beautiful. An old farm house with gorgeous rustic detail that made it feel so homely. The bedrooms are spacious and almost all are ensuite. The living areas are comfortable and inviting. The kitchens are perfect - stocked with everything a chef could ever need. Overall, it feels like a wonderful family home.

The grounds are stunning. We hung out as a family by the pool / pool area a lot through the week. It was so relaxing. There are also some great walks / runs. We had our wedding here and the amphitheater added a really special twist.

And the host. Francesco is possibly the nicest person we've ever met! He helped organize our wedding and my advice - trust everything he says. He was instrumental in organizing the whole day - caterers / marquee / taxis / hair & makeup / lighting etc - and it went perfectly.

In summary, choosing the location for our wedding / subsequent family holiday was a big one. And I don't think we could've chosen better. La Selva & Francesco made our day. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla10...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for our perfect wedding”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Once we clapped eyes on La Selva we knew there was only one place to get married. We had very high expectations and they were met and exceeded. From the day we booked it until we sadly departed Francesco and the rest of his family could not have been more friendly, courteous and helpful.

Getting married abroad could be a daunting task but in Francesco's capable hands it was a pleasure. He helped us in every aspect and really doubled as a wedding planner at no extra cost. Everyone commented on how smoothly the day ran and it's entirely down to him. From organising the wedding website, coaches, babysitters, translators to introducing us to the fantastic caterers who put on a delicious 5 course meal on the wedding day and fired up the on site pizza oven for our pool party the second day. Nothing was too much trouble and I can't thank him enough.

We also stayed at the villa with various family and friends and it was heaven. So beautifully decorated, it feels like the family holiday home you have always dreamed of. A good majority of rooms are en suite so everyone has some privacy. The kitchen is a cooks dream. The welcome meal and subsequent meals made by Maria (the house keeper) were some of the best we ate in Italy. She really is a mini force of mature running around the house cleaning and cooking. We had a really reasonable masseuse come to the house called Anna and everyone raved about her. The grounds were fantastic not that we went far from the pool! Also big shout out to wedding cat who's cheeky presence charmed everyone.

You will need a few cars if you want to explore the area or go to the shops and some bug spray would come in handy due to unseasonably wet summer.

I really can't gush about this whole experience enough, our stay in La Selva has left us with so many happy memories. We can't wait to visit again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling so at home in such a wonderful setting with fantastic hosts
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing