We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pienza: diamond in the Val d'Orcia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of the City of Pienza

Historic Centre of the City of Pienza
Book In Advance
$135*
and up
Private Tour: Florence to Siena, Montalcino and Val D'Orcia Area
Ranked #72 of 2,568 things to do in Tuscany
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zuid Scharwoude
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pienza: diamond in the Val d'Orcia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Once we ''discovered'' Pienza more than 10 years ago we were lost. We were overwhelmed by the charm of this tiny little town in the centre of the marvellous Val d'Orcia. The town once was built by pope Piccolomino, under the condition that nothing would be changed ever. Which they respected, as a result of which we are blessed with this magnificent place. For us no discovery trips to Africa or China, no Disney World, no cruises around the world. We stick to Pienza. It feels more like living there than like holiday, and that is exectly what we desire. So we stay 6, 8, 10 weeks per year in Pienza and we love it. The little shops, artists, ristorante, bars, the narrow streets, the views, the people, the old buildings; it's great to stay here. Don't spread the news though: it's full!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BartMuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    99
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This little town is so charming, even thought there is not so much to do there, I'd love to spend a day there. The shops add to the experience, the cheese is fantastic and the views are amazing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank apepplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piegaro, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Bellina! A beautiful little jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I prefer this little Renaissance jewel above all the other hill towns in the Val d'Orcia and there are many. Pope Pius II, of the powerful Piccolomini family had the dream to turn his home town into a perfect city with funds from the Vatican. I'm glad they stopped building when they did and the result is not a city spreading across the Tuscan hills, but a perfect little jewel. Stand in the main Piazza Pio and admire the perfect symmetry of the Duomo, the Palazzo Piccolomini and the Town Hall. Be sure to walk along the ramparts for the amazing views over the Val d'Orcia and to see the large crack in the Duomo; visit it before it slides downhill, for no one can figure out how to shore it up. I have been here often, but visited the Palazzo Piccolomini for the first time with a friend and took the necessary tour with audio guide. Well worth the price of 7 Euro, walking from room to room with complete description of what amounted to the history of this illustrious family who had two Popes. Wander the small streets and sample the famous Pecorino cheese which wafts out of the little shops. Several outstanding restaurants with the local fare of pici pasta, ribolitta soup, and heavenly crespelle. Even the house red wine is sublime. I prefer this town over the famous Montepulciano by far. It has a special place in my heart in any season! Luckily I live just an hour away and I'll be back in the spring to see the little flower pots stuffed with blooms.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ColleeninPiegaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A must-visit for anyone visiting Tuscany. The little town oozes character and charm. We decided to return to Pienza for dinner after having stopped there briefly earlier in the day. No one should miss this - especially as it's so close to Montepulciano and Montalcino

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ThruTheLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TRAVELING AROUND TUSCANY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After much research, i decided to stay in pienza, which ended up being a perfect location to explore central tuscany region..i rented a car in chiusi,after taking a train from florence. From our location in pienza ,which was about 45 minutes from chiusi, we took day trips to siena , volterra, monticiello, montopulciano. moltacino,and visited wineries and cheese farms in the pienza area..could have stayed more than 5 days..do yorself a favor , be in shape and wear good shoes!!!!! lots of steps and hills....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ler32749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of the City of Pienza also viewed

San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Historic Centre of the City of Pienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing