We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sorrento tour”

Ciao Laura Day Excursions
Ranked #1,430 of 3,901 things to do in Tuscany
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Provider of culinary tours, cooking lessons, wine, cheese, walking and foodie related tours throughout Italy.
Holliston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sorrento tour”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a fabulous trip Laura put together for our anniversary. We'll have unforgettable memories of the fantastic sights & tastes of Sorrento. The itinerary was perfectly designed to have us just active enough yet completely relaxed & unhurried.

The professional team of drivers really tied together all the activities, whisking us through the tricky traffic while engaging us in friendly & informative conversation.

Now to the cooking classes. Each was uniquely delicious and informative, particularly for me who grew up in the Italian-American kitchens of my grandmother, aunts & mother. These recipes were so memory-invoking with cooking techniques, aromas & images. Yet there were plenty new tips that I have added to my repertoire. My wife mentioned that she'll always have the fond memory of being invited into these folks' beautiful homes for our classes.

Everyone we tell about this fabulous trip wants to know more and we just say, Ciao Laura has it all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmyplusplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaolaura, Owner at Ciao Laura Day Excursions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing your memories of your Anniversary week in Sorrento! It was such a pleasure receiving your updates about the classes and programs in your itinerary during your trip!! Everyone who played a role in your weekly program was so honored to meet you and celebrate your special occassion with you!

We are especially touched that the cooking lessons were memory-invoking with cooking techniques, aromas & images from your Italian-American roots and that you even added a few more tips to your repertoire! (Lucky friends and family back at home!!)

Thank you again and we wish you all the very best for many many more healthy and happy years together!

Warm regards,

Laura Faust, Ciao Laura Culinary Vacations Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cottesloe, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Cooking Class which our Kids loved”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of booking a cooking class in Florence with our two children aged 12 and 9 and it was a fantastic day so much so we booked another class the next day. We still cook all the recipes we learnt and it was an amazing experiance one which we hope to do again when we return to Florence. Nothing was a hassle everything was perfect !!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank sewelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaolaura, Owner at Ciao Laura Day Excursions, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and photo of your fabulous young chefs partaking in their Tuscan cooking lesson!

We were thrilled that your family enjoyed your experience and extremely happy to hear that you're still enjoying the recipes from the classes back at home! Buon appetito until next time!

~ Ciao Laura Culinary Vacations in Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of Amalfi Vacation”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

In preparation for a two week Amalfi vacation in September 2012, we researched the various options for a cooking class. After contacting a few of the providers, we selected Ciao Laura based primarily on the professional response to our query. We were not disappointed! Not only were the administrative arrangements handled efficiently and satisfactorily, the cooking class was a treasured experience. Roberto, Angela and Carlo were outstanding hosts and the lesson was entertaining and the food delicious. Highly recommended for all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaolaura, Owner at Ciao Laura Day Excursions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our services - we are honored that you selected our program when we know there are so many choices in the area and we are especially pleased to hear that your experience was the highlight of your Amalfi vacation!

Enjoy your memories and thank you again for your business!

~ Ciao Laura Culinary Vacations in Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST part of our Italian vacation”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are an American family living in Europe, and we had the opportunity to travel all over Europe in 2012. In October, we took a one day family cooking lesson outside of Florence through Ciao Laura... and it was THE best day of our vacation travel so far! Our host was warm and friendly... the atmosphere was genuinely authentic... the cooking lesson was entertaining and educational... and the food was simply awesome. Our three children (ages 8-14) did all of the cooking and they loved it. We have enthusiastically recommended the class, and would consider returning if we are back in Tuscany.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciaolaura, Owner at Ciao Laura Day Excursions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are beyond thrilled to hear that your family cooking lesson was the BEST part of your Italian vacation!

We hope that we've inspired the young chefs to get their hands dirty back at home and make a delicious meal or two for your entire family to enjoy too!

Please let us know if you are ever back in Tuscany, as we would love to arrange another class for your family to enjoy together!

~ Ciao Laura Culinary Vacations in Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ohhh,I can not describe the highest of experiences this was in my 70 years of life!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was ech a wonderful,fun family day! Yes the cooking class was fabulous!,however the beauty of the estate and ohh the love that floated all over the place amount all 20-50 present was an experience I never knew existed but in dreams...... Oh,Please ncluding a trip to "Charlies" shop!
The lunch with all was sooooo relaxing and full of love and laughter through out.....
I am still making with greatest of love Lemoncello,but none like Charles wine......
We were in Spain and Italy almost a full month and everything was excellent. However, that one day at the cooking school with Laura was the best of best days of my life........
Laur!Thank You for cming into our travel LANs and we look forward to many more experiences with your suggestions!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Laura Day Excursions also viewed

 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ciao Laura Day Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing