We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Romita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Romita
Ranked #2,202 of 4,078 Tuscany B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at La Romita in Montisi for one night because the Hot Air Balloon ride was going to be from the Montisi area. La Romita is a nice quaint little B&B which is very very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Alberto, the owner is warm and friendly and always there to help in anyway he can. We had breakfast across the street where Alberto's son took care and made sure he have everything we needed. He made cappuccinos and toasted our bread and just gave us a good start of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYtraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Montisi is another lovely little town in the Tuscan region, and La Romita is a delightful B&B at one end of the main street. Alberto and his wife Giovanna own and run the premises which is situated on a large property overlooking the valley. They also run a small restaurant (4 tables) which we chose to dine at on our first night. Alberto was a wonderful host, and Giovanna, a wonderful cook.
Our room, Gialla (yellow) was upstairs, and was beautiful. We had a balcony opening out to views over the valley. The room was well appointed, with a large bed, plenty of pillows, a large ensuite bathroom, a writing desk, and a wardrobe room. It was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was served in a small cafe across the road. It is run by Alberto's son and daughter in law. Brekky was fairly basic, with pastries and the like. The coffee was good.

Pros:

Comfortable and quiet room
Beautiful views
Clean and well appointed
Wonderful food at the restaurant

Cons:

No wifi discovered
Brekky a bit basic

La Romita is a lovely B&B in a delightful little town, ideally situated if you want to go hot air ballooning over a Tuscan valley (see Ballooning in Tuscany - Chris & Claire), or simply explore the many other towns and wineries in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, and was called Gialla (yellow). It faced out over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicksWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I finally decided take the time and share our incredible stay while in Tuscany with others. During our 16 day trip through Italy in the spring of 2010, we stayed at La Romita (www.laromita.net) and still, almost 2 yrs laters, we talk about our experience with big smiles and amazing memories. Sorry, but I had to select a "date of travel" in order to submit this post and the choices did not go back to 2010. So, I selected as far back as tripadvisor gave as a choice.
To begin, La Romita is tucked away in the hills of Montisi. A small, beautiful Tuscan village, Montisi is just a few kilometers from Siena and country towns rich in history: Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Sinalunga, Asciano, San Giovanni d'Asso, and Cortona. I will forever have the fondest memories of the fresh morning air walks along narrow streets lined with colorful flowers, the majestic views of the Tuscan hillside, the little market where locals gathered for cappuccino, driving through the winding ancient roads linking you to other neighboring villages and on and on and on. 110% breath-taking! And for those who wonder, yes, a car is a must in Tuscany or why bother ;). Some of our most treasured days happened because we had the freedom to move about at our own pace and make the day our own, exploring and becoming part of Tuscany. La Romita, was everything we could have wanted: quaint, charming and an amazing host. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the property well taken care of (there is a swimming pool but it was not yet swimming season when we arrived). Carlo Alberto is warm, inviting and always willing to assist with a smile on his face. Proud of the working farm that produces olive oil, he is happy to showcase the mill if you show an interest. Their oil is used in all dishes prepared in the restaurant and the bar across the street that is managed by his son. Our 5 course dinner at La Romita was a wonderful experience of fantatic Tuscan flavors, created by true culinary experts (Carlo Alberto's wife, Giovanna, is Le Cordon Bleu trained and he is a Sommelier). The Quad tour Carlo Alberto offers of the Tuscan countryside was beyond words and a definite must if you can!! We were treated to sights of Tuscany we never would have known if it were not for this fun, fun outting. La Romita, Montisi, Tuscany will overwhelm every one of your senses. Grazie per i ricordi!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIDO1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyfinnane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Excellent accomodation ,
Excellent Restaurant .
Beautiful surroundings

Only The Breakfast is/was non existent .Strongly recommend the owner at the least buys a coffee pot and uses it in the morning .Using the excuse that " We are a restaurant " doesnt really wash ... This is the only place i have ever stayed that offered nothing in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Enrico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

La Romita Agriturismo is a quaint 4 bedroom B&B owned by a lovely couple, Alberto and his wife. It is nestled among acres of olive trees. It also has three 2 - 6 person cottages for rent within the property. The guests can enjoy a nice stroll through Alberto's extensive property of numerous fruit trees, potted plants/herbs/flowers and olive grove, or simply lounge by the outdoor pool surrounded by greenery with a gorgeous view of the rolling hills in the vicinity. The B&B is located in the heart of town and also has a small restaurant that serves its guest. The restaurant is opened for dinner only and serves delicious local Sienese cuisine that is prepared fresh daily by the wife. We stayed in La Romita for 5 nights/6days. Breakfast was served promptly every morning either outside on the patio with a terrific view of the extensive grounds and hills or inside in the restaurant, depending on the weather. Alberto was quite detail-oriented. The first couple of mornings we had 2 yoghurts for breakfast - one for each person. I suppose he noticed that one of us didn't like yoghurt so for the remaining of our stay, only one yoghurt was present at our breakfast table. We had dinner at their restaurant twice during our stay there. It serves a set 4 course meal (antipasto, primi, secondi, dolce) of whatever his wife felt like preparing for that particular day. I thoroughly enjoyed it because I'm pleasantly surprised every time the next course arrives :) There is a separate menu for men and women, something that Alberto decided to do. We had our best meals there during our entire stay in Italy. There's really no way to compare the meals we had in La Romita with any other food we had elsewhere because it's so localized and unique - it's not your typical Italian food of tomato sauce and pasta! Alberto's wife uses recipes that were passed down from generations and only unique to the region of Siena. I know because he let us read all about it during one of our dinner. Needless to say, the food was the best I ever had - fresh and delicious! The service was fantastic. When we wanted to check our E-mails, Alberto helped us get connected onto his Wi-Fi and we had free Internet connection during our entire stay there:) We loved our room. It was tastefully decorated with wrought iron furniture, a chandelier hanging from its high ceiling and numerous pictures and paintings adorned the walls. Our room had a large balcony with an amazing view of the olive groves and rolling hills. The room and bathroom were very clean. A cleaning lady came every morning at around 10 am to clean and replenish soap and shampoo. I'm not sure if our towels were changed daily. Alberto also provides quad tours where he takes his guests on the back roads through Tuscany for an extra cost. We didn't do the tour because we had a car and did day trips to the surrounding towns. If you visit in the fall, you get to watch them harvest the olives and make olive oil! Unfortunately we couldn't do that but Alberto did give us a tour of his olive oil press and we bought some organic oil from him. The best olive oil I have ever tasted! La Romita is located right across from the only bar in town, which is owned by Alberto's son. The bar comes alive every night, it's where practically everyone in the village hangs out. People come to enjoy a couple of drinks and to catch up with each other - it's like one big happy family coming together every night! The bar also serves a light supper if you're not interested in eating in the only 2 restaurants in town (La Romita and Da Roberto's). We enjoyed many meals in the bar, it's quick, delicious and inexpensive. The extent of the menu is anitipasto (pecorino cheese, various cured meats, grilled vegetables), salad, pizza, and pasta. The portions are very generous. Their antipasto is to die for, it was so flavourful! Delicious - I regretted not having ordering it sooner! We came to know Giancarlo (cousin who ran the bar) quite well because we frequented the bar daily. He is one of the most friendly, genuine and good-hearted person I met. At times I found it challenging to communicate him or Alberto due to our lack of the Italian language and their lack of English, but we managed through extensive body language. There's not much else to do in the town, unless you go hot-air ballooning with Robert and his crew. It was an experience of a lifetime - it was quite a treat to be able to see Tuscany from a whole new perspective. Definitely a must do!!! We really enjoyed our stay in La Romita, Montisi, it was the highlight of our Italy trip. It was exactly what we wanted - a quaint little town with cobblestone streets, potted plants placed on the window sills, stone cottages, friendly people and not swarmed with tourists - definitely an authentic Tuscany experience!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OliveOyl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscany hotels
3.2 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Giusterna
Villa Giusterna
#2,338 of 4,873 in Tuscany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Bombina
Agriturismo Bombina
#5 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Romita

Property: La Romita
Address: Via Umberto Primo 144, 53020, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,202 of 4,078 B&Bs / Inns in Tuscany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing