We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hills and Roads”
Review of Hills and Roads

Hills and Roads
Ranked #125 of 864 Tours in Tuscany
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hills and Roads”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a fantastic tour. Luka, hands on owner was beyond accommodating. He is a real gentleman, smart, information, caring and very knowledgeable of the area he grew up in. We were a large group that stayed in Tuscany for for a week. We had a general idea of what we wanted to see, but basically Luka made wonderful suggestions, and seamlessly put It all together. He arraigned a surprise trip to a charming farm house where we all made pasta the ways the women of Italy have made for generations. After, the cook made us a wonderful supper of several courses, everything home made. Wonderful... It was definitely a highlight of the trip We also went to several high quality wineries and olive oil makers for tastings and bought home lots of wine and oil.

Unfortunately I slipped and broke my foot the first day. I was put in a cast and wheelchair bound for the whole trip. I chose to forge on with the rest of my group. Luka and my driver Christiano were incredibly wonderful. Christiano pushed me up and down cobbled stoned, narrow,, hilly streets. He was informative, funny and very caring. This tour was beyond my expectations and truly made my experience in Tuscany a pleasure. You cannot go wrong with this small personalized company.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    4
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
“Truely a Five Star Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Luca provided an experience of Tuscany, Florence, Sienna, Assisi, San Gimignano, farm house dining with a pasta making lesson and many small side trips to medieval treasures with constant patience and dedication to communicating his wide knowledge of the history of the land.
He provided expert drivers for the entire 10 days our group was in Tuscany. The dining, wine tasting, olive oil tasting and delicious lunches were a joy.
Maria is a jewel of a person; smart, educated, beautiful, caring and attentive. She offered much insight into the current Italian culture while being able to communicate the depth of the history of Italy and it's impact on current issues. What a find!
We would never have had anything close to the amount of Italian experience without Luca and his fabulous team!!!!
This is the way to go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I took a private day trip with Hills and Roads starting from our Florence hotel and are so pleased we did. Booking was simple, it seemed too easy really. We gave vague suggestions of what we wanted to see in Tuscany and Luca came up with a perfect itinerary. We could not have replicated this trip on our own even with a rental car. Our driver was a wealth of information and really made the trip. We were able to see the countryside, castles, wineries with vineyard and olive groves, hilltop towns, etc; all the things we wanted to experience and more. Our driver made us feel very comfortable and relaxed and we left the day having had an excellent experience. We would definitely recommend Hills and Roads to friends traveling in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accomodations for a wonderful time in Tuscany”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is only because of the drivers with Hills and Roads that has made our recent trip to Tuscany one to never forget. The drivers all speak English and they have total knowledge of the areas, mideval cities, towns, wineries; you name it they have an abundance of knowledge. They make you feel comfortable and re-assurred of always being safe. Christiani picked us up from the Florence airport and was kind enough to take us to a grocery store for supplies before we reached our beautiful Cottage la Vita, amazing! Luca, the owner of the company, was a gentleman and always made sure that if he was not available that someone else was. Marella, full of energy and fun; Maria felt like our daughter and made us feel like her best friend. Thank you Luka and staff for taking such good care of us and making us feel safe and yet feel that we were on a wild adventure, which the four of us "seniors" were. You are our first call if we ever have the opportunity to returen to beautiful Tuscany, Siena, Italy! Thank you!! Anne

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Day in Tuscany - Best Tour Ever!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Maria picked us up promptly at our hotel in Florence. We had such a fun day. Before our tour got started, we stopped at a place overlooking Florence to get a great photo op of the whole city which was absolutely breath-taking. Then we began our beautiful drive through the picturesque hills of Tuscany, stopping along the way for pics and a yummy cappuccino. Luckily for us, our driver, the lovely Maria had a great sense of humour and went along with our antics - we had a blast hanging out with her. She customized our tour perfectly, planning a delicious lunch and wine tasting at Capella Sant'Andrea for us. If you have the chance try to make this a stop along your tour. It was one of the highlights of our day. Flavia, owner and gracious host made us a wonderful lunch (so fresh and delicious) and the wine was perfectly paired up. We brought some back with us despite having no extra rom in our luggage. We also went to San Gimiagnano and walked around taking in the sights, music and award winning gelato! There's more but too much to write in a review, just book and find out for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hills and Roads also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Hills and Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing