We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment”
Review of Villa Carmelas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Carmelas
Reviewed November 15, 2013

To be honest, this place deserves rather 3,5 / 5 than the 3/5 I rated. It is simply a nice place, no more no less. It is centrally located between the old city of Taormina and the beach. It is a great location to explore the surroundings and beaches.

We were looking for something private, rather than a hotel. This apartment can be booked for even a few days, and you will have your private terrace to have your breakfast in the Sicilian sun. Bed is OK, bathroom is OK, you will have your own kitchen and for two persons the size of the apartment is spacious. Of course there are also disadvantages. The apartments are located between a busy road and a railroad. Not that we bothered that much - not many trains are running and the road was not extremely noisy. Our apartment was a bit humid. But for a price of around 60 Euro's we were fine with this accommodation.

Al in all, a nice stay for a good price which suited our demands.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Villa Carmelas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely apartment exactly as described online. It was clean, spacious & comfortable and had everything we needed for our holiday. It was just a few minutes walk from the funicular, mini-market, restaurants & beaches. There was also a bus-stop just a few yards away. The kitchen probably wouldn't have enough equipment for anyone who wanted to do a lot of cooking (no oven), but if like us you want a fridge, a kettle, a microwave & some crockery & cutlery, it was great. The mini-market was well stocked & we enjoyed buying fresh bread, salad & mozzarella & sitting out on the patio eating it. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone with small children or people with limited mobility unless you've got a car as the walk to the funicular is along a fairly busy road with no proper pavement. There is plenty of car parking at the apartment. Gabriele was friendly & welcoming & so was Virginia, the taxi driver who picked us up at the airport. A thoroughly enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank lrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The apartments "Villa Carmellas" are great for staying with a family or with friends. Great location just 2 minutes from the seashore and about 5-7 minutes walk to the funicular to the center of Taormina. The apartments include all the utilities,with free wi-fi, air-conditioning, coffee-machine, hairdryer in the bathroom. The apartments are family-owned and adds friendly atmosphere to the stay. Villa Carmelas meets all the expectations.There are nice bars at the seashore neaby with live music and mouth-watering Italian cuisine. Would surely stat there again.

Room Tip: I was staying at Room No.3, downstairs. Quiet apartment with two rooms. One has a large bed and ther...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataliaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank samuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Z5320SZlucam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Emmanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabrielezeta, Responsabile reception at Villa Carmelas, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gallodoro
Hotel Gallodoro
#71 of 87 in Taormina
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#39 of 87 in Taormina
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
405 reviews
4.2 mi away
Baia Taormina
Baia Taormina
#2 of 4 in Forza d'Agro
819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa degli Ulivi
Villa degli Ulivi
#77 of 115 in Taormina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carmelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmelas

Address: Nazionale, 173 loc. Spisone, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Price Range: $81 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Carmelas 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Villa Carmelas is located in the sea part of Taormina a few meters from the cableway connecting with the center of Taormina and just a few meters from the main beaches of Taormina (Spisone Mazzaro, Isola Bella.) Our apartments are all recently built and furnished with new furniture of wood of excellent quality and workmanship. We have 4 apartments (45sqm) with double bedroom, lounge, kitchen, bathroom, terrace, and some with sea views. A fifth apartment (100sqm) with two double bedrooms, lounge, kitchen with barbecue, two bathrooms, private terrace with sea views. All our apartments have air conditioning also a private parking with video surveillance 24-24h, and internet connection. In the Residence there is a garden of roses and lemons and from the 'largest apartment you can enjoy a wonderful sea view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Carmelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Carmelas Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing