We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people and a beautiful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Three of us stayed 2 nights enjoying a very comfortable upstairs room with a spacious balcony with panoramic views to Etna and surrounds.
Our hosts were a lovely couple who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable (even ordered some pizzas for us to be delivered).
The breakfast (fruit, cheeses, meats, pastries, fresh orange juice) in the garden area was a great way to start the day and if you can speak Italian they can offer valuable advice on places to eat and places to visit.
The added bonus of free parking (might be tricky location without a car) made it a place we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobpen4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay in Villa Chiarenza which is just a 10-minute walk away from Giardini Naxos. The rooms are full of fine antiques and big - ours was in fact two rooms. The breakfast is delicious and - weather permitting - will be served outside on the lovely garden terrace. The hosts are a charming friendly couple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargitAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Villa Chiarenza is a beautiful house which must have been in the middle of the countryside a long time ago. Unfortunately now it's in a nondescript area on a relatively noisy road... But this does not spoil the peaceful feeling of the walled garden and of the house full of antiques: the birds starting to sing at down were much more noisy tahn the road! Our room had a large terrace where our 18 momths daughter liked to ramble around as soon as we opened the door. Copious breakfast served with a smile in the garden. The landlady has the manners of real Sicilian aristocrat and we got very good advice for restaurants and things to do. Agree with other reviewers that it is better to have a car.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank diana188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The house and garden is very nice, the breakfast and rooms were amazing! We really enjoyed our stay here but felt a little limited by the location. It was a 10-15 minute walk into Gardini Naxos and then a bus ride into Taormina

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sorry,but we did not get to be actual guests in the villa.
The landlord ignored our booking,which was approved by his daughter (we had a voucher ),and when we arrived there, on a rainy evening,after a long and exhausting drive,we found out that all the rooms were taken.
Much more,we were offended by the poor hotel where he put us up for the night.
We left Taormina first thing in the morning.
Shame.
What a disappointment.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ESTDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villachiarenza, Proprietario at Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Estdan,
we are sorry for your experience but as explained at your arrival this reservation was never recorded in our system, this because the agency that perfomed reservation never sent the deposit to confirm reservation, so the reservation was finally not confirmed and recorded.
Actually the voucher you had was never released by us, but by agency.
Unfortunately when you arrived at the hotel all rooms were booked so we did our best effort to find a room for you in another hotel, in a raining evening, even if you did not like it.
Sorry, this experience is not due to your lack, but for sure is not due to Villa Chiarenza lack, we never ignored a reservation.
We hope to have you as guests in future, so you can spend good days in Villa Chiarenza and in Taormina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This villa is a real treasure. The place oozes charm and the location is quiet and in a perfect spot to head to the sea or get on the autostrada. Our room was amazing with an added bonus: a huge balcony overlooking nothing less than the mighty mount Etna. Is was like having a picture frame view of the mountain. Awe inspiring and a bit scary at the same time. The villa itself is a beautiful estate with aristocratic bones. Agatha and Salvatore tended to all of our needs. They are wonderful people. This B&B offered the best breakfast so far we have ever had in Italy. The quality of the food and the quantity will keep you going until late afternoon. They offered us everything from local cheeses with honey, citrus products, fruits and even organic eggs. This is a beautiful place well taken care of and perfect for a homebase on the east side of Sicily.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the place twice - it's really charming and peaceful. Large terrace (really large - about 20 sq. m) with Etna view, Sea is also visible but too far - about 20 min by feet.
Very friendly and helpful owners - Agata & Salvatore, but they don't speak English so try to learn some basic Italian phrases to begin with :).
Breakfasts are delicious, with fresh red orange juice and a lot of Sicilian specialties.
Staying here you feel yourself not just a hotel guest but a family friend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
2.4 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#32 of 87 in Taormina
328 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#52 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#65 of 87 in Taormina
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Address: Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: $128 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a typical Sicilian Baroque style, this 18th-century villa has completely been restored, with the greatest care and attention being paid to the finest details. The villa has a spacious garden (2000 square metres), embellished with a large Caltagirone vase collection with several cacti-plants, which the hostess takes care of. There are corners in the shade of pines, eucalypti and citrus-groves in which you can enjoy a relaxing moment and dedicate yourself to reading your favourite books. Furnished with antiques, the villa, formerly the Domenicians' summer residence, is now an elegant and spacious place to spend a relaxing Mediterranean break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chiarenza Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Villa Chiarenza Maison D'Hotes Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing