We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant and peaceful”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a lovely 6 night stay at the Villa Chiarenza. We were made to feel warm and welcome. As many reviews have said, the house is the family ancestrial home and is furnished in an antique style, but having raised 6 daughters of her own, the Signora was relaxed about everything, although I'm sure she appreciates well behaved children. Our room (a triple to include our 6 year old daughter) was light and spacious with a small fridge and balcony overlooking Etna. The double bed was 6 ft wide, and the single bed (a day bed) was full size. Storage space for clothes and bathroom items was good. The Signora doesn't speak English, but communication was surprisingly good as she makes the effort to repeat herself, and she was very helpful with directions, good places to visit, and the best good places to park in Taormina. Breakfast included a variety of freshly prepared dishes every day, such as marmalade omelette, tomato and mozarella on toast, and marble cake, as well as the more usual bread, cheese, ham and sweet croissants. The cups for tea, coffee and hot chocolate were absolutely enormous! We mostly ate indoors, as it was a little cold outside, but we did manage to eat out on the lovely terrace in the garden twice. Parking is secure, as other reviewers have mentioned. The only slight downside is that the local restaurants are a 15 minute walk away at the beach, but it's a straight forward walk and the Signora can recommend good places to eat. The location is very convenient for the Autostrada, and yet still a peaceful haven. Would definitely recommend.

Tip - if the directions from the booking agent are generic and tell you to follow the brown signs, then be aware that the Villa is tucked away and there aren't any brown signs to follow! We were circling the town for ages! However, the location of the Villa Chiarenza is available on Google Maps, and you can email the Villa (in Italian - use a translation site like Google translate) for directions.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was a truly charming bed and breakfast that we stayed in for two nights. We were on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking Etna. The house is historical and felt a little like a trip back in time. The owners were sweet and attentive, and the breakfast in the garden was outstanding. The hotel is set just off the toll road and works well for travelers that want to be near Taormina but want to save some money by staying outside the city. It's about a 40 minute drive from Catania airport and a great place to feel emersed in Sicily.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in had 4 single beds and one double bed, plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Particular-harbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Easy to find, very close to the motorway exit at Giardini Naxos, so close you are on the small road parallel to the motorway toll ticket offices. No problem with parking its in the garden area. Our room at the top was very spacious, with a good bed and balcony looking towards mount Etna at sunset. She is very helpful with ideas, directions and maps, Taormini is a quick 5 mins on the motorway & you park in one of the 2/3 large parking houses. Breakfast was great & plentiful, not just Italian sweet things ! Its 15 mins walk down to the sea at Giardini Naxos for a swim or a drink at Tysandros bar, via Tysandros 76, with his great service and snacks !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was a lovely place to stay for 3 days while hiking up Etna and generally exploring the wine country and quaint towns in the region. Need to have your own transportation, as this place is somewhat remote (although very quickly located off the interstate). Parking in inside their gates, which is wonderful! Rooms were spacious and lovely. We bought provisions at the local grocery and tended to eat most meals on our terrace or in our large rooms. Breakfasts were Wonderful!! Much, much better than just coffee and a sweet roll. The owners are charming people and seem to want to make your stay very nice. We completely recommend this beautiful spot! Small refrig in the room was helpful to keep waters, sodas, and beers cold!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara722003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

It was if we had entered another century. Everything was as we hoped. Paintings on the wall, antiques, wonderful hosts, great view of Mt Etna,etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillebellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Pros: What a place. It is the hostess’ generational family home and is a virtual 18th-19th century museum, with art and statuary everywhere. Although she spoke little English, she took us on a grand tour and we communicated fairly well. We were on the second floor, in a big suite with sitting area, all antique furniture, and have a large terrace that looks over the garden and on to Mt Etna. Very quiet. We walked to the waterfront and all the restaurants in about 15 minutes. Parking on site inside the wall of their villa. Small refrigerator in room. Excellent breakfast on the terrazzo. Very convenient to drive to Taormina for the day.
Cons: No restaurant close by.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Villa with wonderful luxury, decorated throughout with art and antique. Garden with beautiful view of the Etna.
The best breakfast we had on Sicily, served on the terrace when the weather is fine.
Most welcoming and friendly hosts.
Very near to the highway entrance of Giardini Naxos, yet quiet. Your car is parked safely inside the premacies.
The only slight drawback we can think off: restaurants at the beachside are a 15 min walk away fram the villa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#28 of 87 in Taormina
315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#25 of 87 in Taormina
673 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Property: Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Address: Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a typical Sicilian Baroque style, this 18th-century villa has completely been restored, with the greatest care and attention being paid to the finest details. The villa has a spacious garden (2000 square metres), embellished with a large Caltagirone vase collection with several cacti-plants, which the hostess takes care of. There are corners in the shade of pines, eucalypti and citrus-groves in which you can enjoy a relaxing moment and dedicate yourself to reading your favourite books. Furnished with antiques, the villa, formerly the Domenicians' summer residence, is now an elegant and spacious place to spend a relaxing Mediterranean break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chiarenza Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Villa Chiarenza Maison D'Hotes Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing