We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable experience”
Review of Hotel Gallodoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gallodoro
Ranked #66 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked here for 5 x nights, but found the room depressing, due to failure to have any brightness or indeed life in the rooms. The rooms are "tired" and small, I would suggest 2 stars is being very kind. The internet was a problem, and the view to the sea is cut off ; due to the hotel in front, which precludes seeing the shore etc.
The breakfast is very simple, with orange juice, coffee, 1 x boiled egg and bread with jam
The staff are all friendly and we must say that was the high spot, as they cannot assist enough…
While the hotel is conveniently placed, close to the beach and the cable car, we book out and moved to another hotel which had fabulous views and bright sunny modern rooms where we are happily ensconced

Room Tip: Try another hotel with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a treat this was. Simple rooms, but with everything you need: air-conditioning, ensuite bathroom, view of the sea. Small, but has what you need. Very reasonable room rates. Staff that can't do enough for you - whether it's fetch you a drink, or help you find your way. Breakfast that you can take whenever you like.
It's relaxed and laidback and friendly.
Only a cabecar trip up to Taormina town, and a few steps from the beach, but quiet and peaceful.
We stayed for four nights and loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We just spent a week at the Gallo Doro on a combination business/pleasure trip. The hotel is conveniently located close to the cable car that goes up to Taormina and the beach is just steps away. We got a discount on the beach chairs at Il Dolfino when we mentioned we were staying at Gallo Doro. The rooms are small, but adequate, and the air conditioner worked perfectly to keep our room comfortable for sleeping. The terrace and breakfast patio more than make up for the small rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A couple of tips: take mosquito repellent, aqua shoes for the rocky beaches, and pack an umbrella for the late afternoon/evening rains. There are several nice restaurants close by so it is not a necessity to go up to Taormina for dinner. Also - we used Sicily Limousine Service for a tour of Mt. Etna and transport to the airport in Catania. Claudio was the best guide and driver. Very knowledgeable and his english is excellent. On caveat - there is no internet service at the hotel. We used a cyber cafe in Taormina for access.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mansongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed here last year for about 6 days on my honeymoon. My husband suggested it as he is from Palermo and knew the area well.

Yes the place is no frills, its not 5 stars and the room are ok, but the service is fantastic, the staff are great and the location is to die for. I would stay here in a heartbeat compared to some the 5 star hotels near by where service is "typically" no included. Who wants to spend all their money on a fancy room when you only stay there 10% of the time.. Taormina is amazing..

Breakfast every morning was wonderful, overlooking the sea, eating my egg and drinking my blood orange juice. Just magic. Isola bella is 5 mins walk, upper Taormina is easily accessable by the cable car, restaurant, quick eats, whatever you want.

Would recommend this place no issues.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tangent74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for three nights in August while we attended a friend's wedding right there in Taormina. We can't say enough nice things about it. The staff is very friendly and helpful and provide an adequate breakfast in the morning (bread, biscotti, hard-boiled egg and coffee/cappuccino). When other guests had their luggage lost (from Alitalia), the staff was very concerned and helpful in getting it back for them.

The room doesn't have any frills but is exactly what you need. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the mattress was VERY hard... like cardboard. And while I would have slept a little easier with a better mattress, I can easily excuse this because of all the other great things.

Breakfast was outside on the patio with a lovely view of the Ionian Sea. The cable car (to get you to the main drag of town) is just a few steps way. When you head back to the airport, ask them to help you with a cab... they negotiated the price for us and got us 70 Euros... a bargain compared to what we had heard others had gotten.

We fell in love with Taormina and we know that part of it is because we had such a lovely stay at this property. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AztecsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Argenis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#65 of 87 in Taormina
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#59 of 87 in Taormina
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#53 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
0.9 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#19 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gallodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallodoro

Address: Via Nazionale 147/151 | Taormina Mare, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gallodoro 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gallodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gallodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing