We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Charming, small hotel right in the heart of shopping and restaurant district. We enjoyed cocktails and in the morning, delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is one flight of stairs that must be negotiated from the lobby to get to the rooms,

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terry1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    138
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
562
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Marvellous to be so central on the Corso Umberto itself but sleep quality disrupted on Friday and Saturday nights due to street noise. If not a light sleeper the location makes up for this, the breakfast really is special on the super roof terrace overlooking Etna. Great king size bed even if it was forced into room 4 - I think all rooms are small, shower was good, towels extra large and fluffy, tea and coffee making facilities in the room - the whole hotel was as good as they could possibly make it. Do not expect a view - you see the street opposite. I would recommend a mid week only stay here but my husband wouldn't as he was sleep deprived due to street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear virginia046,

Thank you very much for your review and for the positive comments about our breakfast and room facilities.
Thank you also for having emphasized the very central location of Taodomus Hotel, which is one of the guest's most appreciated aspects. At the same time, we think that it is important being aware that, in such a central location, it is very unlikely that no external sounds are perceived, especially during weekends.
We also would like to inform you that we do have rooms with a view, but you did not book that room tipology.

We hope to welcome you back here at Taodomus Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maria Destro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

this is a small delightful hotel right in the middle of "the action". Walk out your door and you are in the middle of the shops, restaurants, and life of the town on a pedestrian street. yet its quiet. from our room, which had a pretty little balcony, we could also see the water and what i assume was an ancient bell tower. so we felt rooted in history and the town. breakfast is on the roof and most people spent more time taking pictures of the scenic overview than they did eating. even though they make omelettes and salads etc. to order. the staff were terrific, especially Maria who had to come rescue us when we couldn't find where to park. and who proceeded to take good care of us throughout our stay. the room and hotel were clean, well cared for, and oh so convenient. we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dl123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough - small in size but huge in hospitality. Location, accommodation and best breakfast ever - all tremendous. The staff go out of their way to help whether returning rented car, suggestions for restaurants (take their advice) getting to airport or just general advice - nothing too much trouble. Only wish we had stayed longer (4 days) and used Taormina as a base from which to tour rather than hire car for first half of week.

Room Tip: Room small, no balcony but very quiet and good air conditioning. Could see Mount Etna from bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DDESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here 3 years ago, revisited every year since, totally recommend this place. It's a small boutique hotel, lovely roof terrace with great breakfasts including cooked to order. Rooms extremely clean, good decor, free wifi, friendly staff. mini bar etc

No restaurant/bar, but you don't need that - the location is brilliant, everywhere is walkable, and it's so great to be out in the centre and then be able to walk back in a few minutes.

Good restaurants nearby (Don Ciccio in the square e.g.), mutliple nice bars near, a short walk to the main square, pharmacies and shops nearby.

It's like a Malmaison in the UK, but cleaner, better, more chic.

Our friends stayed at a far far more expensive hotel up the hill - we were so glad we didn't have to wait for shuttle down to town like they did or get a taxi back.

Rates are very reasonable - check out the reviews of this place, which are well deserved.

Tip: wifi is good, strong (we worked) and allows multiple devices connected, there's also an apply PC for anyone to use

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the street are good (not noisy), we've tried both the sea view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Taodomus hotel, and I am missing it already!! It is situated on the main street Corso Umberto, Taormina, which makes it perfect for shopping, restaurants, people watching etc. it is not far from the bus terminal and the cable car, if you want to get to the beach or travel a bit further. We were welcomed by Simona who helped us up to our room which was lovely and bright and fresh and clean, with a balcony overlooking the Corso Umberto. The bathroom had lovely soft towels and a rain shower. Breakfast was served on the terrace with lovely views over the bay and Mount Etna. There was a great selection of crepes, scrambled eggs bread etc. all freshly made every morning. All the staff were exceptional, from the receptionists, to the ladies who made breakfast to the cleaning ladies. They were so helpful, suggesting trips, booking restaurants, coming in early to make breakfast, even making packed breakfast to take on very early morning trips. They made you feel so much at home, and went out of their way to ensure you had a good time. If you are planning a visit to Sicily, I would certainly recommend this hotel. A huge 'thank you' to all the staff for making our stay a delightful experience.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, then choose a room at the back of the hotel where it is quieter. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 for 11 nights. Absolutely the best in terms of location, accomodations, breakfast and teh way the staff bent totally over backwards. They took care of all of our needs including arranging rental cars, private tours, restaurant reservations and suggestion. We could not have stayed at better place they met and exceeded all of our needs. Our room was on the street side and it was not an issue. We slept like babies. We would not consider anyplace else when we visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartK199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing