We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning view! Have breakfast looking at Mount Etna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning view! Have breakfast looking at Mount Etna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is on the main street (Corso Umberto). Taodumos passes you without notice from the street however once you get inside you are completely taken by its class and grace. Rooms are small but very cosy and neat. The breakfast offers you an à la carte menu in an elegant terrace with a good view to the volcano Etna. Can’t think about a better way to start your day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank calelobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    128
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
509
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Nevadas, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a small, absolutely lovely hotel. It was 69 steps to our room (yes they have an elevator) but it was great fun. Really lovely rooms (all of them). Taorimina is quite the tourist spot; however, just walk up the hill and start climbing steps and it is great. Don't bother with buses -- the town above is really an easy walk from the hotel. You can also walk down to the beach -- just look for some steps going down (it is quite easy) and you can return via the road -- it's fun. Great espresso across the street and tons of restaurants. We stayed a week ( a bit too long), but quite a fantastic place to stay. The breakfast is absolutely THEEEEE best with theee most incredible women running it. Yes, Maria is fantastic. Remember, tour buses go there and it can really be packed. At night -- it is just great! We'll be back! Oh, great wines at the little
store up the street, and fabulous pizza and rice balls just down by the first fountain.

Room Tip: We had the ocean view/Etna view -- nice! However, when they fire up the pizza oven below, it gets r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,183 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last August. Since the period was in high season, the room rate was 200 euro per night, not so cheap. However, the location was very convenient since this was actually in the shopping street and closed to the parking area outside the town. Also, the room was spacious, cleaned and sophisticated. The receptionists were always friendly and helpful. I heard the street in the midnight could be noisy, but we did not hear much noise from outside, maybe, because of the thick glass window. If the budget is allowed, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room where the noise from the street is less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, Proprietario at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your review and all the beautiful compliments on every single aspect of Taodomus Hotel.
We are sorry to read about your consideration on the room's rate, but as you know, and everybody knows, traveling during the high season is more expensive and unfortunately this happens all over the word, not only in Taormina.

Maybe you can also consider to travel during the low season. However we will always be happy to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,

Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I can´t add a lot to all previous excellent reviews..it is all true!!
Location can´t be beaten, bang within the pedestrian zone and a 2 minute walk from a huge car park. It is nevertheless very quiet and comfortable.
Do not forget to ask reception for restaurant advice, they will send you to some amazing places!
One word comes to mind when thinking about this hotel: charming!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful: Daniele & Maria go the extra mile for visitors. Decor is cheery, rooms are very clean and have high ceilings and a distant view of Etna and the sea. The hotel is located on a pedestrian shopping street near great restaurants, a large parking garage, and historical sights.

Room Tip: We loved the balcony with a sea & Etna view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taodomus, Proprietario at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissima Signora,

Grazie per aver scritto la sua opinione molto positiva in quanto descrive diversi punti a favore della nostra struttura, sinceramente quello che mi lascia alquanto perplessa e' il suo giudizio finale appena sufficente e non coerente con il contenuto e con il titolo della recensione stessa.
Al momento del check out ha lodato la struttura complimentandosi con il personale, quindi leggendo la sua recensione, ci ha lasciato dedurre, che sia stata elaborata e scritta di getto in maniera affrettata, sintetica e con un giudizio finale poco coerente.

Ci auguriamo di cuore di poterla ospitare presto, e per un periodo piu' lungo, per permetterle di valutarci in modo piu' completo e sereno.

Noi tutti auguriamo un felice Natale a lei ed a tutta la sua famiglia.

A.Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have recently returned from a long holiday abroad and I felt I had to wirte something about my time at the Hotel Taodomus. My sister and I had a marvelous time during our stay. The desk staff couldn't be more helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The location is perfect, just an easy walk to most of the best restaurants, views and sights. Our breakfast on the roof top was one of the highlights of our day. Amazing selection of food, eggs and crepes made to order with the most pleasant staff. We felt we had made great friends. I have not even mentioned the view from the roof top. Every direction was beautiful, from the sea to the mountains behind and of course Etna in the distance. Our room was lovely and comfortable and we had a nice view of the ocean from our balcony. I can recommend this hotel without hesitation. We even borrowed a laptop when ours decided not to work properly.

Room Tip: We enjoy our view of the ocean on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Hotel Taodomus in december 13 and loved every minute. It was very beautiful and comfortable. The view could not have been better, and the location excellent for exploring the area. Everyone was very helpful with all for our questions and gave us excellent advice from taking the bus to Castlemola and walking back on the path (gorgeous!), to airline help and planning our WONDEFUL day trip with Etnapeople. The delicious breakfast was the best ever and the home made Tiramisu melted in our mouths! I would love to go back and stay again, our trip was too short!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ginas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing