We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Taormina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Taormina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week in September this year and can't recommend it highly enough! It's a gorgeous boutique style hotel and the standard of the accommodation and also the quality of the facilities was excellent. An added and unexpected bonus was the beautiful rooftop terrace where breakfast is served every morning. The views were to die for, as were the freshly cooked eggs and omelettes and all the other sweet and savoury delights:-) Also, the staff were so helpful and friendly.
Highly recommended - the only downside was that there was a little noise from the street below at times, but the location of the hotel is such a bonus that this is a small price to pay....would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the balcony rooms overlooking Corso Umberto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maire295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    134
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
543
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great choice of hotel to start our 2 weeks in Sicily. Terrific breakfast on the terrace in the morning with wonderfully attentive staff. Room was small but very comfortable. Position couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Take the cablecar down to Mazzarro and go out onto the bay with one of the boats that are here. Fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My parents and I recently stayed at the Taodomus. The hotel was perfect. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The hotel is on a pedestrian street in the center of Taormina. To make our arrival easier a staff member met my elderly mother and walked her to the hotel while my father and I parked the car in a nearby parking garage. The rooms were beautiful, immaculate and recently renovated. My mother was disappointed that she couldn't get CNN and mentioned this to the staff before dinner. When we returned from dinner we were told that their TV system had been reprogrammed and CNN was now available.

The hotel has a breathtaking roof-top terrace with views of the town, the sea, and Mount Etna. By day this terrace is a bar open to all guests. In the morning it is the breakfast area. My parents were beaming when they appeared for breakfast. It was magical. They even prepare eggs, short order, with the fillings of your choice. My parents asked for two cups of American coffee. A few minutes later my Mom looked at my Dad and said, "They're preparing a new pot just for us!"

One thing that was clear to me is that the owner is worried about the small things. They walked my Mom to the hotel, they immediately fixed the TV, and they put a fresh pot of coffee on rather than serve coffee that had been sitting around.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Taormina. I HIGHLY recommend the Taodomus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidfromDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The staff here was really great. I told them what I wanted to do and they gave me a few suggestions including finding me a rental car and giving me a map and directions to all the towns that I wanted to visit. The breakfast on the rooftop is gorgeous, the pictures are real, and they even cook eggs for you which is very rare in Europe. The hotel is located right on the main drag of Taormina so the location couldn't be better.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wdave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived in Taormina in a torrential rain that lasted most of the day. We followed the perfect driving directions sent by the hotel to the parking garage and walked the two short blocks to the hotel dragging our wet suitcases and came in dripping -- not the way one wants to make an entrance! However, we were greeted with dry towels and a warm welcome, shown quickly to our room, and immediately began to realize what a treasure this hotel is.

From free wi-fi (a big plus on a rainy afternoon) to the sumptuous breakfast on the lovely roof terrace -- the scrambled eggs were fantastic -- everything was perfectly presented. The room was immaculate, the bathroom modern, the location on Corso Umberto the best for restaurants and seeing the sights, and the staff was friendly and helpful with advice on everything from dining suggestions to driving directions.

Honestly, it could not have been better in any way. I had been concerned that the price of the hotel was higher than our usual budget, but it was indisputably worth every cent. We loved our stay. And the weather has been perfect all the rest of our holiday, too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in September and loved it. We were on the top floor and there is a lift but it is tiny and slow so we walked a lot of steps. They have very modern, American style bathrooms, very nice linens and a wonderful staff. And the breakfast....best food and setting of our entire trip! Views of Etna, the sea, fabulous food and great service!
The location is perfect, right in town and convenient to all the great sights of Taormina, the most charming place in Italy!

Room Tip: We like facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great little hotel, situated very close to the archway into Taormina by the Post office. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were well appointed, if a little compact (it is a small building). We received a prompt e-mail from the hotel after we booked, asking if we needed any other help and they were able to recommend web-sites for Mount Etna tours etc.
The ladies who served breakfast were particularly friendly and made us feel very welcome. In addition to the buffet, they offer pancakes or eggs cooked to order.
There is an elevator, but you have to walk up one flight of stairs to get to it and it is VERY SLOW! However, the walk upstairs is not onerous, and helps to work off the wonderful local food.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would return to this hotel if we go back to Taormina

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing