We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa GioLi

Casa GioLi
Ranked #9 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had dinner here by chance on the last evening of our wonderful week in Taormina. Having had a few cocktails at the Metropole we wandered out in search of a bite to eat. It was quite late but it was no problem for the staff they made us feel most welcome - a lovely table outside and a really warm wind made for a great ambiance . The food was a real surprise. Squid ink pasta was delicious and a lovely tempura prawn dish with the largest prawns I had seen all week. A refreshingly different menu to some of the other restaurants and very reasonably priced. If we had eaten here earlier in our holiday we would have gone back for another visit for sure. Definitley recommend a visit to this restaurant and very conveniently placed for after dinner cocktails at the fab Daiquiri !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    98
    24
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortona, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Beautiful and Diverse Flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant so much we ate there 3 of our 5 nights in Taormina.
The food is "international" with very interesting use of a wide variety of both Italian and international recipes.
It is not expensive and the service is first class.
It would rank well in London or Sydney as a top restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are always on the lookout for new restaurants when we visit Taormina, and went in search of this little gem only to find it was closed on Mondays. So we returned the next night (with a reservation) and were not disappointed, we chose to eat in side as it was a little cool still in the evenings & I am so glad we did.
The art work is interesting & the piece de resistance is the wash hand basin in the toilet. That aside every inch of the Restaurant has been carefully planned out and the Chefs are on show as they cook. The food is excellent, service was somewhat patchy but will improve as they find their feet.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJSouthWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The perfect last night of a 2 week vacation. Food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Staff and service, top notch. A warm, welcoming and memorable meal for my family and I.
Thank you! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Taormina.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcwsiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Delicious, very high class Sicilian cooking using local, organic ingredients. Somewhere special, not your local taverna (certainly not a pizza place). Even the bread and olive oil were enough to stop us in our tracks. Try the courgette flower if they still have it and the Etna white wine that tastes of mint (they advise well on wine). Newly opened, close to the cathedral in Taormina town. Ask for a table in the garden on a warm evening and have a chat to the friendly and well-informed staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargoMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa GioLi also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Casa GioLi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing