We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taormina
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted to stay here, regardless the price. In October it costed 200 per night, which is a bit overpriced, however the hotel located very close to the main district. The hotel and rooms decoration are stylish and looks like old villa decoration, however there are a lot of authentic and nice objects there.
The biggest pleasant thing about the hotel is stuff. They are very nice and helpful.
We stayed over 6 nights and every morning we were pleasant to have nice chat with guys.
Breakfast is simple and you are getting bored on the third day and for omelette you are required to pay 5 eur. The rest cold food is fine. However the breakfast place located in terrace with a great view which makes this nice place to stay for a while.
If you traveling by car - book hotel parking which cost you additionally 12 eur, however this is the best price you get there and you have your car few steps from the main door.
In a nutshell - very good place, but not a gem. Accepting the price in advance you won't regret.
Additionally Taormina is perhaps the best place in Sicily. Go there :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Artem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Benefits:
The location is perfect - very close to the main street, and still a bit hidden, so very quiet and cozy. The personnel are VERY friendly. Also, they gave us a parking place for 15 Euro per night - not cheap, but one min walk from the hotel, so very convenient if you rent a car. All very clean and looks recently renovated. Tasty coffee for breakfast. Nice view from the terrace at breakfast time. Very few rooms and guests - good for those who don't like crowded places and like “family” atmosphere.

Drawbacks:
The major problem here is the price - the overall level of the hotel is definitely not worth 260 Euros per night (that's considering LOW season - second half of September!) Breakfast is definitely NOT 4 stars level either - NO hot dishes at all (even 3-stars hotels provide trivial scrambled eggs & bacon - here they don't have even this!), no vegetables, NO fresh juice, very poor choice and low quality of everything + very greedy approach (even a simple hot chocolate & an omelet are only cooked for an extra price). Overall, I couldn’t get rid of an elusive, but still steady feeling that this «antique» décor & atmosphere are all fake, like the artificial flowers in the halls of the hotel – to my mind, either put the natural ones or don’t put them at all. My advice – don’t book it for longer than a few days not to feel sorry afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BruTurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Small boutique hotel just 50m off the main tourist street of Taormina making it easy to explore, come back to relax in the garden and go out again for dinner.

The room was great as was the breakfast. The breakfast room has a nice view down to the sea and if you stand on one side you can also see Etna. Our room had a small private garden which at this time of year didn't get much sun, a blessing in mid summer but it would be nice to be able to sit in the sun in October. The shared gardens has sun loungers and a jacuzzi where we enjoyed relaxing, but don't forget to bring mosi spray. Air conditioning wasn't the best and I thought it was on the expensive side but maybe that is just the going rate for Taormina.

Overall had a very good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've never encountered anything like the Villa Taormina. Delightful little (8-bedroomed) hotel, full of works of art, and run by a charming family and their marvellous, friendly staff. Our room seemed to have ome out of a Fellini movie.

Delicious breakfast (no other meals) on a covered terrace, with a view of the sea and Etna. Everything spotlessly clean, and the bedroomn beautifully maintained. Nothing was too much trouble for Antonio, Elena, Buddhi and Co.

There is a pleasant small flower-girt garden, equipped with a jacuzzi. Plenty of restaurants within 200 metres.

I never did get the television to work properly, but it didn't matter. If you're going to book here, make sure you liaise with the family about how you're going to find your way to their tiny street. I think they have a system for picking you up from the town car parks. This place is a triumph.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the sea, which is around a mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danilovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a seven night stay at this beautiful hotel. It was a truly delightful experience from beginning to end. This hotel oozes charm and so do all of the staff. Delightful setting, just off the main strip so the location is perfect and so peaceful.The breakfast each morning was an experience in itself,such a fabulous setting with spectacular views and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've traveled to Taormina twice now, and I have stayed here both times. Both times I had a wonderful experience! The hotel is smaller, and very quaint. Really a perfect Sicilian experience. It is part of a very old, historic building, which is great, and the interiors are updated and clean and comfortable.

The rooms are beautiful and done in a very classical style. Everything was clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The location is absolutely perfect as it is right on the main street, Corso Umberto, and you can walk to everywhere you need to go. The service from the front desk was spot on and very attentive! On top of it all, the prices for the rooms were very reasonable. I love this hotel and can't recommend it enough! Same goes for Taormina in general, it's the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosalie_Gerber, Direttore at Hotel Villa Taormina, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Guest , a few words to tell you thank you from me and my co-workers who daily dedicate themselves with passion to their work to meet the varied demands of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This small, boutique hotel is located above Corso Umberto at the Porto Catania end of Taormina. It is nearly impossible to get to by car, and I only wish they had mentioned that in the confirmation (one should park at the Porto Catania garage and not attempt to drive to the hotel).

We enjoyed our 3 nights in Taormina. The hotel and property are lovely, clean, and comfortable. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We used the Jacuzzi once and enjoyed it and preferred that it was not heated as it was very hot outside.

The linens and towels were first class. The bathroom was clean and modern. The breakfast was good and had good options; espresso was made to order by the very attentive breakfast staff. Two annoying negatives were that the wifi was unreliable when we were there, and the AC in our room struggled to keep our room cool enough.

Taormina comes to life in the evening, after it starts to cool down. Yes, it's a touristy town, but if you know that before you come, and if you like a large variety of shops and restaurants, you will enjoy it. Plus, it's a good location for seeing Mt. Etna. The hotel is quiet but close to the life on Corso Umberto if you want it. It's a bit of a pain to get down to the beaches if you want that, but it can be done by taking the cable car that is on the other side of the town, or by driving your car down there (from the garage).

Room Tip: Our top floor room overlooked the city roofs and bay, but this view was only viewable by someone tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taormina

Address: Via Fazzello 39, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $217 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charm hotel designed with an intimate approach integrating our love for antiques and traditional Sicilian interiors. The villa is an antique residence located in the historic center of Taormina just a staircase above the Piazza Duomo. Breakfast is served on our sun-filled terrace with outstanding views of Mt. Etna, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Old Abbey (Badia Vecchia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Taormina Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing