We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate But No Perks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Hotel Splendid
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Location and price make this hotel attractive. Ask for a room with access to one of the terraces overlooking the sea. Splendid view and generally quiet, though other people might be on the terrace. Nonetheless, adequate space for everyone to maintain privacy.
Don't expect anything fancy. There are no refrigerators in the rooms. Good location for climbing to Castel Mola.

Room Tip: Ask for a porch or access to a terrace with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked this hotel through our trip arranger.

Best thing was the stuff, very nice, spoke good English and were very helpful!

The room was simple, but got very, very nice view over the city to the ocean. Best view I have ever seen anywhere.

No minibar, but we could live without it. No kingside bed, two single beds that were put together.
Breakfast was included in the room rate, wasn’t that good, but “free” coffee at the morning is all that I need :-)

No Wlan in the room, but in the lobby it worked excellent. There were also a bar at the lobby – with good prizes!

Summer terrace was excellent, water in the pool was good and clean.

Very good ration of prize and quality! I can warmly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarmeFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Positive: Very good location and good price (via booking.com secret deals). Option to park the car nearby for 5 EUR (which is good price in Taormina).

Negative: Surcharge for everything (ex. Real coffee). Check-out is too early (10 A.M.). No fridge (mini bar) to keep drinking water cool. Staff and information book highlights "NO we can't" instead of "What can we do for you".

Overall: I would not stay again. I would probably pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request room on 2nd or 3rd floor in order to have better view. Avoid 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferencreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here in early april Mar31-April3 and we were very disappointed. The hotel was nothing like the pictures on the site. The swimming pool area was totally run down and the pool was filled with green water. A real mosquito nest! Not a very pleasant sight from the breakfast dining area.We had booked a superior room and only one was available as 2 floors of the hotel were closed. When we ventured upstairs we understood why.There was a terrible smell of dampness.The sun loungers on the terrace were dirty and you certainly would not sit out here. Our rom had a balcony with a view of the coastline but the chairs on the balcony were covered in pigeon dirt as was the balcony. On our second day some chairs had been removed from the balcony but the floor in the room felt like it had been washed with the same mop as the balcony! And the balcony had been washed first! There were no smoke or fire alarms/ detectors in our room.We felt unsafe. The sockets in the room had not been properly fitted. We had problems plugging in and taking out devises. We also for safety reasons had to unplug the small tv at night as again the sockets looked dangerous.The lighting in the room was very poor.Some of the lamps did not work. There were no curtains and as the room was overlooked to the front by homes it was necessary to close the shutters which made the room very dark. The bathroom mirror was chipped as was the shower door. The knob on the shower door kept falling off and even though we left this in the shower tray no effort was made to fix it. It was merely put back on to fall off again. The wall bracket for the shower head was broken so the shower had to be handheld. the room was also full of mosquitos which seemed to come out of nowhere. We spent many hours killing these. We never looked forward to returning to our hotel in the evening. We did ask for another room but we were told by the person on reception that nothing was available. He said only two floors were opened.
The breakfast was good and the two girls who worked on the reception were extremely helpful. I feel strongly that if you are booking this hotel please check that all facilities are open and available. Hotels should be of the same standard no matter what time one stays there....in season or out of season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank MaryMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were here for one week at the end of august and had a great time, the hotel is in an excellent location only five mins from corsa umberto.while it is by no means luxourious it served our purpose quite well.our room was on the third floor with balcony and sea view and the only problem was it was directly under the breakfast room so from 7 30 every morning we were awakened by chairs scraping across the tiled floor above, not a pleasant sound.otherwise no problems breakfast was usual continental fare and the staff were all excellent especially Mia and francesco on reception.Sicily was a great experience especially the trip,to,Panerea and Stromboli.Although prices in Sicily are higher than in Mainland Italy for food and drink

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not under the breakfast room if you like to sleep after 7 30 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We really liked this hotel. The location is excellent. To get to the hotel from the bus station just walk uphill until you see the arch to Corso Umberto on your left. Pass it and keep going uphill. You will see an arch on the right. Walk through it and keep walking up the street past the church to the right. Hotel is around that corner.

Location is excellent. Only minutes from the main st.

We paid a bit extra and got a superior room. It only worked out an extra 10 euro a night anyway and it included Air con and was on the top floor and had a lovely big balcony.
Room had a nice big double bed and a tv with a good few tv stations and a really nice view.
Room was kept very clean. Sheets and towels changed every couple of days.

If you are going to the beach i would recommend getting the mini bus from the hotel. Its only 7 euro return and included your beach bed for the day. It works out cheaper than getting the cable car down which would cost 6 euro alone before you pay for a beach lounger.

The pool area is nice too. There is also a sun terrace on the 5th floor which is quiet.

Staff were really nice and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this place. Its more like a decent 3 star hotel, not a 2 star.

Room Tip: Get a superior room on top floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel85Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in Taormina for one week in july. And we chose this hotel partly because the good rewievs by the Tripadvisor. But the reality was quite different: althought the hotel had the good location near the Taormina center, the hotel itself was in poor condition. The room we had was quite small, the balconies were too small and didn´t even had the table (only couple of plastic chairs). The face lift for the rooms would do wonders and the rooms didn´t had the same level of quality than the lobby area etc...

Also the cleanliness of the room was not what I´ve read from the praising reviews from here. The bath room´s bathtube had even MOLD (!!!) and it looked like it had never been proberly cleaned. The cleaning maids were very arrogant and rude: one cleaning lady even got furious to me when I asked her to change the dirty towels to clean ones. This incidence had to be solved through the reception and our travel agency. And our towels were changed throuht the "long battle" with the cleaning maid for once in a hole week! It was absolutely the nightmare! And the cleaning was this and that, depending on what mood the cleaning maids were in each day!

Breakfast was just okay: bread, croissants, cookies, cereals, yougurt, ham and cheese. No vegetables and fruits, so if you´re vegetarian (we are not), there´s nothing for you to eat in the morning (except the white bread etc...).

The pool area was the only cheering point on the whole hotel. Althought the hole pool area had only one sun-umbrella so the relaxing on the pool area felt like real work because of the burning sun.

If you are looking for the hotel that has good location and you don´t excpect too much, this is the basic budget hotel for you. And take consider that the air condition costs 10 €/ day and the hotel has 3 fridges which costs 6 € / day. So do you "save money" after all after paying the extra for this necessary items...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mareth_Miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#52 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#22 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#62 of 87 in Taormina
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 10, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: $65 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — President Hotel Splendid 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your President Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Sicily
President Hotel Splendid Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing