We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Quality of Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Hotel Splendid
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Taormina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Quality of Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel we were welcomed with the news that we needed to pay and extra EUR10/day to switch on the AC even though our booking clearly did not indicate so. When we informed the receptionist he told us that he had to check as he was alone. After several arguments we were finally given the AC at no extra charge.

The towels in our room were never changed over the period of our stay. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. We also had to ask reception to give us toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    77
    68
    45
    40
See reviews for
31
145
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having just returned from holidays in Taormina ,it is a beautiful place ,the people are so friendly and helpful and would definitly return again in the future,however i would probaly choose another hotel just for some place different .The Splendid was very nice not luxury as it is 2 *as some one described it is 'dated elegance'.it is very central 3 mins walk from corsa umberta and many restaurants ,bars etc .All the staff were very pleasant even though we found the night receptionist to be nice but a bit overboard when you came in to get your key on returning at night ,he had wine (hot)or drinks 'special price'and 2 chairs outside the front door on the street for you to stay and buy drink.It could have been nice if he had the drinks cool and was nt so pushy.As per the previous review i have to agree you did feel you were intruding on a private pool party when Raheed danced attention to family and friends who were they said there for 3 weeks and used the facilities of the little pool side bar to make up their lunch and picnics,when it was clearly stated no food or beverages by guests allowed.The breakfast was basic it was a pity they did not provide fresh fruit for breakfast but you would not go hungry and i did see others bring their own plus cereal and it did not seem to be a problem.The breakfast ladies were all lovely and i have to wonder how these Italian ladies always look so cool ! when it was so warm early in the morning well done.However i would recommend this hotel it does have some lovely views ,spotless clean ,room and bathroom we had was good size ,so central and staff good ,pool was clean and very relaxing .

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleskilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am writing this review from the hotel.
The reception staff are curt and thats putting it nicely except for the night porter who is very friendly. The room is clean but small and very basic. The balcony which costs extra has a fabulous view but isn't big enough to seat 2people comfortably. Breakfast is poor. I know its a 2 star but surely a bit of fruit is not too much to expect. Also for a hotel that advertises the view its a bit annoying to find half the window space taken up by empty tables reserved for parties of six. The cleaning staff are friendly.
The pool is small but nice. However we felt we were gatecrashing a private pool party as the pool was dominated by staff, their family and friends. We felt most out of place. The pool attendant didn't even acknowledge we were there as he went around getting cushions and blow up toys for his colleagues. Despite there being numerous signs forbidding the bringing in of food to the pool area these people were allowed to bring a picnic. Woild absolutely NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from a trip to Taormina (22 to 29 June 2012) and we booked the Hotel Splendid after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived quite late in the evening, but we had a truly lovely welcome from the night receptionist Francesco, who must be the most entertaining and friendly man on the planet. Be prepared to get involved in multi-national late night chats and glasses of wine when Francesco is working as he loves to entertain all of his guests no matter what time of day or night - even when we walked in at after 2 in the morning, Francesco was more than happy to offer us another glass of wine. We had booked a superior sea view room and we weren't disappointed, however we would have liked a proper double bed - but hey thats the continent for you. All of the staff at the Splendid were superb, but special mention needs to go to maya the day receptionist, who went out of her way to organise trips to the beach, taxis and gave us all the general information on the local area and buses - she was a real gem. The breakfast buffet was great - with plenty of choice and the pool area was really nice. The main reason we chose this hotel was it's location and it surely is within easy walking distance of the town. This hotel is not 5 star luxury, but it is typical Italian chic and the warmth and care that the hotel staff take of their guests is superb.

Room Tip: Definately book a superior room as this comes with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent a week in Taormina with my mom. We've both been to Italy several times, but this was our first time in Sicily. We chose Splendid as our hotel because it seemed like a nice, beautiful hotel in a central location, plus it had a pool and breakfast. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is very beautiful and nice size. As you walk to the upper floors you can tell that some rooms don't really have a view, but we had a room with a balcony with a gorgeous view to the Ionian sea and Calabria. The room itself is nice, not too big but enough if you're planning on spending most of your time exploring Taormina and surroundings. And the view is gorgeous (I know I've said it before but I'll say it again)!
The pool is on the 3rd floor and we enjoyed it every day. Not too crowded, at least not in June, so you can always find a spot for youself. The guy who's in charge of the pool area is very friendly. And yes, there's that gorgeous view again.
The breakfast room is on the 4th floor (with amazing views). The breakfast was good: several kinds of bread, sweet croissants, cheese, ham, marmalade, Nutella, fruit juices and of course coffee. The only thing we missed was fresh fruit or vegetables, but you can always find those elsewhere.
Hotel was very safe and we didn't hear any noises during the night. Everything went smooth and we really enjoyed our stay. This was, like I said, our first time in Sicily and in Taormina, but it definitely won't be the last!

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor with a balcony and a view is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sirkku A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIPPERARY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a great weeks holiday in Taormina.
We booked last minute with Sunway and we received a first class service from them and their rep Leonardro. The Hotel was exactly as described by the various Tripadvisor reviews.We asked for a Sea view and balcony and it was well worth the supplement . The room was spotless and serviced daily. The room size was fine ,as was the bathroom and the beds are comfortable enough. Towels changed 3 times during the week. The pool which you access from the second floor is an ideal size with a decent number of poolside sun beds. There is also a 5th floor roof sun terrace which gets sun almost all day. Breakfast room has a great view of the bay. Breakfast is moderate but sufficient ,cereal , yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese , cold meat, bread and croissants.
All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you want a trip to the beach , for 7 euro per person the hotel will arrange it. The 7 euro includes a sun bed and umbrella ,return transfers and the use of toilets and changing rooms in the beach side Bar/ Restaurant, well worth a try . In the Splendid you are very close to the Main Street with many Bars and really good Restaurants, all within walking distance, which is just as well as Taxis are expensive.
Only downside to the location is some nights it can get noisy with passing traffic.
My solution was soft ear plugs and a Good glass of red wine from Tracaderos.
For location , value , friendliness and cleanliness I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 5th floor balconies are a lot larger and it is well worth getting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MossieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a wonderful week in Taormina. The location of the hotel was perfect, within easy walking distance of the town and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful. We had a room with a view which was wonderful . The room was very clean and was cleaned to spotless every morning. Breakfast was the same every morning but there was a fair choice with plenty of it ( no one would ever go hungry ). Free wireless internet in the reception area was useful. If we ever went to Taormina again we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a Superior Sea View Balcony Room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#50 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#61 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Natalina
Natalina
#53 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#74 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Greta
Hotel Villa Greta
#43 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Splendid

Property: President Hotel Splendid
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 10, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — President Hotel Splendid 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Sicily
President Hotel Splendid Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing