We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Top Class 2 Star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Hotel Splendid
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
TIPPERARY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, Top Class 2 Star.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a great weeks holiday in Taormina.
We booked last minute with Sunway and we received a first class service from them and their rep Leonardro. The Hotel was exactly as described by the various Tripadvisor reviews.We asked for a Sea view and balcony and it was well worth the supplement . The room was spotless and serviced daily. The room size was fine ,as was the bathroom and the beds are comfortable enough. Towels changed 3 times during the week. The pool which you access from the second floor is an ideal size with a decent number of poolside sun beds. There is also a 5th floor roof sun terrace which gets sun almost all day. Breakfast room has a great view of the bay. Breakfast is moderate but sufficient ,cereal , yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese , cold meat, bread and croissants.
All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you want a trip to the beach , for 7 euro per person the hotel will arrange it. The 7 euro includes a sun bed and umbrella ,return transfers and the use of toilets and changing rooms in the beach side Bar/ Restaurant, well worth a try . In the Splendid you are very close to the Main Street with many Bars and really good Restaurants, all within walking distance, which is just as well as Taxis are expensive.
Only downside to the location is some nights it can get noisy with passing traffic.
My solution was soft ear plugs and a Good glass of red wine from Tracaderos.
For location , value , friendliness and cleanliness I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The 5th floor balconies are a lot larger and it is well worth getting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MossieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    79
    71
    45
    42
See reviews for
32
151
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a wonderful week in Taormina. The location of the hotel was perfect, within easy walking distance of the town and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful. We had a room with a view which was wonderful . The room was very clean and was cleaned to spotless every morning. Breakfast was the same every morning but there was a fair choice with plenty of it ( no one would ever go hungry ). Free wireless internet in the reception area was useful. If we ever went to Taormina again we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a Superior Sea View Balcony Room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my bf for a week at the beginning of August.The hotel is very good value for money, with nice breakfast, and convenient location.The staff are friendly and helpful (especially a lovely lady at the reception, and the cleaning ladies). I would agree with some previous opinions that it can be very noisy if you get a room facing the street. What is more, there is a huge difference in the standard among the rooms.The one we got at first made us feel very disappointed (no view, no balcony, tiny bedroom & bathroom +
the first night you could only hear Vespas, which are amazing anyway;)The swimming pool area is quite small. All in all, the hotel is worth recommending if you want to stay in the centre of Taormina, and above all, when you get to Sicilia you will be happy ! :)

Room Tip: I believe it's worth paying extra money to get a sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here the last week of Aug 11 with my girlfriend. What a fantastic little hotel in a superb location. We paid an extra 20 uro when we booked our room to get a balcony room overlooking the Med. and Mt. Etna. Def a must to get a Balcony . The room was spotless and cleaned daily. Breakfast was limited but very good. You wouldnt go hungry. Taormina town is full of designer shops and trendy cafes and these were all less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. We got a bus each day from the hotel reception to various beaches. Again this trip only took about 10 mins.As taorina is so full of hills it would take ages to walk down. At 7 euro for both the return bus trip and sunbed for the day , again it was fantastic value. Reception staff gladly called a bus for us everyday.There is also a pool in the hotel which was a good size ,and cleaned daily. All n all , this hotel shoots well above its 2 * rating. We stayed in a 4 * hotel the following week and it wasnt a patch on this. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: When booking request a Balcony room . The views are amazing. Ours was on the second floor . 5th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sekon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel set behind the main walking street of Taormina. It's very handy for access to the walking street which is the main strip for lovely shops and restaurants, the funicular to the beach and to the bus station. I didn't use the pool but it looked lovely and was in full sun (something I was wondering about before I got there) with a nice view of Letojanni beach. The breakfast was terrible (sorry) but no harm because there's nothing nicer than having a coffee in the morning sun in the town and watching the world go by. I tried the beaches around and my favourite was Mazzaro Bay. It's rocky but has great sun beds and a life guard who will bring you drinks and gelati if you ask him nicely. Bring sand shoes to walk around, though to be honest I didn't do much walking. The restaurant there Lido La Pigna has a fantastic view of the beach and is very relaxing to sit with your lunch or drink. I found myself whiling away an hour or two each afternoon before I even realised it. In my opinion it is the best restaurant in Taormina and I tried a lot of them. Back to the hotel, it has wifi in the reception only so it's a busy little spot.

Room Tip: As I solo traveller I got a room for one but it was huge and had a large double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Reasonable hotel in lovely area. Staff very friendly. Breakfast room the highlight of the hotel. If you want a reasonable hotel that is very central and clean, this may be for you.

Room Tip: look for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is an absolutely lovely place to stay. Perfect location, nice rooms, nothing special but everything is clean. We had a room with a fantastic sea view. The pool is good too, there are sunbeds where you can have a rest if you want to stay in the hotel. Short walk to the funicular to get to the seaside. Close to the Taomina`s center, really helpfull staff, thank them all!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#60 of 87 in Taormina
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Greta
Hotel Villa Greta
#45 of 87 in Taormina
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#75 of 87 in Taormina
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel Splendid

Property: President Hotel Splendid
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 10, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — President Hotel Splendid 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your President Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Sicily
President Hotel Splendid Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing