We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not a great bar”

Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina
Ranked #4 of 12 Nightlife in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its not a great bar”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Its one of the only bars in town. Taormina doesnt have much of a night life to speak of at all to be honest, this being the case Morgana is basically one of not a lot.

While it is a pretty bar, its small, which isnt a problem if the place didnt get so packed (a complete fire hazard) with only one exit. The music is really poor and for some reason ond of the bar tenders thinks he is a dj and likes to choose the music on nights they dont have a dj. His taste borders on the ridiculous to say the least, he needs to stick to making drinks.

The resident dj, while a very nice person has really poor and odd taste in music.
This place could be amazing with a great dj who knows his stuff, I have never seen a dance floor cleared like I have in this place.

The bar gets packed full of locals, not a problem at all, but lots of them are too young to be able to afford drinks so they stand around taking up room and generally being a nuisance.

This bar has the potential to be great, as it is, it is basically a bar in a town with not much else going on in terms of nightlife.

Helpful?
4 Thank lizzyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganaBar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi Lizzy,

Oddly enough we've only just gotten the opportunity to manage our TripAdvisor account and therefore are responding to your review now. However, better late than never.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy yourself at Morgana when you visited us in 2010. Needless to say we've changed a lot since then and even though we are still as small as ever you probably wouldn't even recognize the place! While in the past we were geared towards mostly locals, now our clientele is primarily the tourists visiting Taormina or returning for vacation.

Our DJ has also upped his repertoire since 2010 ;)

Hopefully you find yourself in Taormina again and come see our new setup!

Best wishes,

Morgana Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    27
    10
    8
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Interesting ...”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Firstly, I had heard a lot about this bar from various friends who are locals in Taormina. It is definitely THE place to go for the late night IN Italian crowd. There were 3 bouncers at the door when I arrived at 11.30pm and it was easy to get a table. By 12.45am it was standing room only. The young and beautiful were sipping cocktails and fine wine. I am travelling on my own and my local friends were all working on Saturday night so I went on my own thinking Ill meet some other tourists to chat to. I was probably the only tourist there per se ... possibly Italian tourists but who knows. I had a couple of strawberry daiquiris at EUR9 each ... they were nicely presented but not blended well enough and the ice was too chunky so they get points knocked off for that. The waiter who served me was very kind and hospitable.

It is only a very small place but would certainly suit the hip and happening NY, London, Hong Kong or Tokyo crowd if they were in Taormina. As with most clubs like this the music gets louder and louder so not a place to chat to people and no one was really dancing - there is not enough room!!

The picture that Nicky and Sean posted previously is how it was last Saturday, 17 July 2010. Those same weird piercing blue eyes and all the white leather furniture is still there!!

The venue was certainly beautiful but I prefer Mediterraneo Cafe/Wine bar in Via Giovanni di Giovanni (near the Greek Theatre) which is also open to 3am or later if the crowd is there..

In my opinion, you need to be under 30, uber cool and very slick to enjoy it here!! Ha ha ha

Helpful?
1 Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganaBar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Ciao Yasminein,

Even though it's been a while we wanted to thank you for you review!

While we are still just as small as before our style has changed immensely as well as our clientele! If you haven't come back to see us over the years we hope that should you ever find yourself in Toarmina you stop by and see how you feel about the new atmosphere!

best wishes,

Morgana Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mojitos in Taormina”
Reviewed July 10, 2008

After reading about this fantastic bar in The Guardian we decided to track it down and were really pleased that we did as we thought it was so nice that we returned three times during the course of our week in Taormina.

The decor is a sight to behold - very eye catching even if it might not be to everyone's taste. The interior is very cool and there's a lovely courtyard garden area where you can have your drinks if you prefer (you can't smoke inside).

The drinks are fantastic. They know how to make mean cocktails here. I tried Mojitos in three other bars in Taormina and none of them were as good as they were in Morgana's. A really lovely accompaniment to the cocktails was a selection of delicious fresh fruit to nibble - a very refreshing change to the usual nuts or crisps.

We found that the bar was quiet until after 11pm, but then it quickly filled up with groups of stylish looking locals. The atmosphere was always pleasant and never rowdy, and although the bar was busy it wasn't like being in a heaving bar back in London!

On our last night we got chatting to the managers, both of whom were really friendly and who treated us like old friends. They made our last night very special, and if we're lucky enough to return to Taormina in the future, Morgana's will be our first stop.

Helpful?
8 Thank NickieandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night!”
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We first walked past the tiny non-descript door thinking nothing much but then tried the following evening and we had a great evening.

Guido and the guys at Morgana Bar were so hospitable to the four of us ladies who didn't leave until 4 am! They make the most delicious cocktails and were so hospitable to us, serving us some extra free cocktails to sample and a complimentary bottle of Prosecco througout the evening, they even let us choose music and generally frolick about the place! The interior was sumptous, the garden at the rear of the bar was gorgeous. Guido tells us that they change the interior every year which is some going.
Okay so I had a soft spot for one of the guys, but it was a night to remember!
Jane

Helpful?
2 Thank janeG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganaBar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Ciao Jane,

After all these years we've finally managed to get on top of our TripAdvisor account!

We just wanted to say thank you for the great review and hopefully you've come back to see us and how much Morgana has changed since 2007! Same great people, cocktails, and atmosphere though!

Best Wishes,

Morgana Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Morgana Lounge Bar Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing