We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great hotel very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed this week we were 3 adults and a kid, 2 rooms. Upgraded to a sea view with a balcony without even asking for! Didn't spend much time in the rooms though, seems if you are looking for a resort spa etc, this is not the place.... This is a great place to come to rest at the end of a long day, meet the welcoming staff at the desk, including the Assistant Manager who was available to give us best suggestions for the next day's trip or a place to dine. The hotel offers a free shuttle car to the center of Taormina driven by the great driver who is always smiling and ready to go.

Breakfast is very rich and the selection very wide. Offered outside on the balcony or inside if the weather not so nice. Again, the dining room staff is so nice managed by the manager who is personally welcome the guests and offer hot drinks!

Walking to town is one km walking up the stairs 10 minutes pleasant walk. Day or night very very quiet and safe. Bottom line - I wish we could have stayed longer, and no question, we'll come again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank hananir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was a very special family occasion and the staff of this hotel made it memorable. They were all so helpful with nothing being too much trouble, every whim was catered for from our demands on the kitchen to the the attentiveness of the front of house, the concierge, the bar staff , every little detail was perfection. It was a feeling of being in your own private villa only larger....with your own staff ! Certainly would return, and look forward to doing so, in fact we booked while we were there!

Room Tip: They all looked excellent , we had junior suites on the second floor which were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautiful views and elegant sitting areas within the hotel. Lots of lovely places to sit in the well kept terraces, staff extremely helpful, shuttle bus service to the pretty and vibrant town of Taormina very much appreciated. Our second visit to this hotel and may well not be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for superior sea view, it's worth the extra money. The junior suite is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Could not be better, very nice place, clean room, beautiful view, service great, amazing breakfast, swimming pool great. Shuttle to go to the beach, beach is marvellous also. Its a bit of walking to go to restaurants, but it really doesn't matter because is wonderful in all other senses and they have a shuttle service.

Room Tip: Ask a room with ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Etoileblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

it's rather difficult writing a review of this hotel: we were a group of about 35 people and they catered for up brilliantly. Service was excellent (as was the "gala meal" specially prepared for us on our last night in Sicily). Breakfast was very,very good (the highlight for me being the wonderful loaves of deliciously crusty bread and the chese selections). Our room had a roomy balcony facing the sea and overlooking the terrace (quibble: why not have a LIGHT on the balcony so that beleagured smokers can read at night??) and beds were extremely comfortable (even for my sciatically-challenged old body!) )Another quibble: while there were generous supplies of bath gels, etc., we had no soap the first night and then only one bar (between two single ladies travelling toghether) on the second....).

However, all told, this hotel was adequately "luxe" without being charming or "magical".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. Location is ok and a bit of a walk to the center of town but they do offer a shuttle that you can reserve. We opted to walk.
Property itself was a little worn with most of the carpeting in need of replacement. Room was adequate and clean. Fitness room was basic, no water provided except one small bottle for everyone to share I guess because it was only replenished once a day. Elliptical machine didn't work and when I told the front desk, I was assured they would send someone to look at it but that never happened. Pool area and grounds were beautiful however and they did a nice job with breakfast in a lovely setting.
Nino, the bartender was super friendly and helpful in making recommendations during our stay and some of the front desk staff were nice but otherwise I wasn't too impressed.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in a Superior Double Room (316) with a balcony that had stunning sea views. The room had a king size bed, dressing table, small writing table, two chairs and lots of wardrobe space. Bathroom was compact with a bath / shower.

A breakfast buffet was served on the terrace overlooking both the pool and sea which offered fresh fruit, fresh fruit juices, freshly baked bread, croissants,various pastries, cereals, cheeses, hams plus hot scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and tomato. Everything about breakfast was excellent - the quality and choice of the food, the frequent replenishment of the buffet and the service at the table. We ate dinner on two evenings which was enjoyable but expensive though restaurant had few diners so it lacked atmosphere.

The hotel has an excellent swimming pool which is on a terrace with views towards the sea and the coast towards Catania. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols for the few guests that were staying in October though if the hotel was full there maybe a problem finding one. A small bar by the pool was a useful facility but offered only two types of sandwich and two types of salad for lunch which was disappointing.

A complimentary shuttle bus which provided an hourly service to the centre of Taormina only 5 minutes away was another useful facility as it saved walking up the hill ! There are also some nice public rooms, a small fitness room and a couple of massage rooms.

Staff throughout the hotel were obliging, efficient, very friendly and seemed keen to please.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,900 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#45 of 87 in Taormina
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $314 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing