We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the San Pietro. It's a lovely hotel, very clean, helpful and friendly staff with amazing views over the Ionian Sea, which is probably the best thing about the hotel (must make sure you get a hotel with sea view, otherwise you'll be looking at the road, which isn't that nice). It's a great location - 10 minutes walk from the Corso Umberto, so is nice and quiet when, I imagine, compared to hotels that are right in the centre.

It's not as luxurious as other Relais and Chateaux hotels we've stayed in, but it was probably worth the money all the same.

The breakfast is brilliant, but as for the restaurant in the evening, we weren't impressed by the quality of the food (when compared to the restaurants in the town centre), the quite sterile atmosphere and the price; it's better to take a 10 minute walk into the centre.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    91
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
50
196
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LINCS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just spent 10 days in Taormina , staying at this Hotel, Fantastic Views, if you have a sea facing room. Sunny in the mornings , shady in the afternoon. The rooms at the rear offer very little.The housekeeping is first class, rooms are very clean, and the bedding changed every day & towels etc twice a day.
The staff very very professional & friendly, Enzo & Vera on reception were most helpful &organised everything we asked for , The food was of very high quality & in the Dining areas Salvatore & Steffanie stood out .
We enjoyed our stay & would stay again, however only one small "Gripe", the gardens & some outside areas were not up to 5 Star Standard.

Room Tip: Sea facing Rooms are a must, .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POTATO PROTECTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere and very comfortable facilities and furnishings. Note that it is a fair walk from the town of Taormina, so ideal if you want to take in the wonderful coastline views on your way to the very pretty town, or on your way down many steps to the seashore. (Otherwise, take a taxi and let the engine take the strain!)

All our special requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently by the hospitable reception staff. This included arranging at short notice a day trip taking in Mount Etna.

The service in the restaurant was very good and the food delicious. On one evening we had rather a long wait between courses, but the environment was beautiful so we did not mind too much. Throughout, our hosts were keen to ensure that we made the most of the menu choices and encouraged us to try the chef's specialities. We thoroughly enjoyed every Dinner. The choices of accompanying wines were very well received, too. The special 'surprise' birthday cake for our friend was a wonderful treat.

The swimming pool and terrace areas were immaculately kept. The only weakness was the well-worn plastic 'glasses' in which our refreshments were served at poolside. The lifeguard \ bar-tender was a charming host, as were the waiting staff generally. Altogether, very well done!

Room Tip: Our second floor, Junior Suite, with sea view, was perfect. Lovely balcony in which to relax in priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gapdecader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The San Pietro is really a great hotel. Part of the Relais and Chateaux chain, it really deserves the 5 stars. Breakfast is great, and the restaurant, although high-price, is worth the money. Recommended

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are more expensive, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergiofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon, and following a family recommendation. Whilst the hotel benefits from a great location in Taormina, our overall feeling has to be one of disappointment in view of the 5 star rating.

Starting with the positives -

1. The hotel is in an ideal location slightly outside the main street but, as detailed below, this comes at a price.

2. Excellent breakfast with a wide selection.

3. The maid service is exceptional (twice daily).

Now for the negatives -

1. Everything (and I mean everything) comes at a price! Don't even bother booking a standard room unless you fancy staying in a noisy and dark environment with no view whatsoever. We made this mistake and had to pay an additional 50 euros per night for the pleasure of a balcony - this is in spite of the fact that the hotel was almost completely empty such that a goodwill upgrade for a honeymoon couple would not have gone unappreciated. However, we were clearly not alone as we heard the same "upgrade" jargon being fed to our future neighbours - hardly the personal touch one comes to expect of a 5 star hotel.

2. This hotel takes the adage "don't ask, don't get" to new extremes! If you require anything at all from toast at breakfast to additional shampoo, you are made to feel like a burdensome guest. The staff, whilst pleasant enough, just don't seem to have any enthusiasm for their guests.

3. The hotel is ludicrously expensive. Expect to pay 18 euros for a cocktail by the pool served in a plastic cup. It is a real shame that the cost of food and drink in the hotel is so high as I'm sure that guests would be encouraged to spend more time there - as it stands, we felt obliged to go to the far more reasonable local establishments offering the same services.

4. There is no extractor fan in the bathrooms and no lighting on the balconies. As above, asking for candles only served to prompt audible sighs from the staff.

5. The free wifi service drove us to distraction. The pass code apparently changes everyday, but I. Reality the code changes pretty much every hour!

Perhaps this all seems a little harsh, but expectations should be high for a 5 star hotel at 5 star prices. Unfortunately, Grand Hotel San Pietro falls short of the mark.

Room Tip: Make sure that you do not book a standard room - a room with a balcony really is a must for this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been a fan of 'Relais & Chateaux' establishments for years, and this Hotel is no exception. It almost hangs off the side of the road high up overlooking the sea and a room with a sea view is a must. The view from the Balcony is stunning and comfortable chairs encourage you to relax and take in the surroundings. Beautifully decorated public rooms abound and Staff are attentive to detail without being in your face. The food which was the original reason for my visit could not be faulted and the wine list extensive. I will return one day to take in the swimming pool and the 'shuttle' to the private beach, and to spend more time in this wonderful part of Sicily.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, you'll regret it if you don't. A suite if you really want to treat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloDanbury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Taormina is a wonderful town overcrowded by tourism. The San Pietro is in the outskirts of the town and therefore is quiet and calm. The view is stunning, the balconies have two comfortable chairs where you could stay forever. The restaurant is excellent and the swimming pool is adequate. The rooms are a little bit outdated but charming and the lobby and common areas are nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#41 of 88 in Taormina
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#27 of 88 in Taormina
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Property: Grand Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing