We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon, and following a family recommendation. Whilst the hotel benefits from a great location in Taormina, our overall feeling has to be one of disappointment in view of the 5 star rating.

Starting with the positives -

1. The hotel is in an ideal location slightly outside the main street but, as detailed below, this comes at a price.

2. Excellent breakfast with a wide selection.

3. The maid service is exceptional (twice daily).

Now for the negatives -

1. Everything (and I mean everything) comes at a price! Don't even bother booking a standard room unless you fancy staying in a noisy and dark environment with no view whatsoever. We made this mistake and had to pay an additional 50 euros per night for the pleasure of a balcony - this is in spite of the fact that the hotel was almost completely empty such that a goodwill upgrade for a honeymoon couple would not have gone unappreciated. However, we were clearly not alone as we heard the same "upgrade" jargon being fed to our future neighbours - hardly the personal touch one comes to expect of a 5 star hotel.

2. This hotel takes the adage "don't ask, don't get" to new extremes! If you require anything at all from toast at breakfast to additional shampoo, you are made to feel like a burdensome guest. The staff, whilst pleasant enough, just don't seem to have any enthusiasm for their guests.

3. The hotel is ludicrously expensive. Expect to pay 18 euros for a cocktail by the pool served in a plastic cup. It is a real shame that the cost of food and drink in the hotel is so high as I'm sure that guests would be encouraged to spend more time there - as it stands, we felt obliged to go to the far more reasonable local establishments offering the same services.

4. There is no extractor fan in the bathrooms and no lighting on the balconies. As above, asking for candles only served to prompt audible sighs from the staff.

5. The free wifi service drove us to distraction. The pass code apparently changes everyday, but I. Reality the code changes pretty much every hour!

Perhaps this all seems a little harsh, but expectations should be high for a 5 star hotel at 5 star prices. Unfortunately, Grand Hotel San Pietro falls short of the mark.

Room Tip: Make sure that you do not book a standard room - a room with a balcony really is a must for this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 349 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been a fan of 'Relais & Chateaux' establishments for years, and this Hotel is no exception. It almost hangs off the side of the road high up overlooking the sea and a room with a sea view is a must. The view from the Balcony is stunning and comfortable chairs encourage you to relax and take in the surroundings. Beautifully decorated public rooms abound and Staff are attentive to detail without being in your face. The food which was the original reason for my visit could not be faulted and the wine list extensive. I will return one day to take in the swimming pool and the 'shuttle' to the private beach, and to spend more time in this wonderful part of Sicily.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, you'll regret it if you don't. A suite if you really want to treat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaoloDanbury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Taormina is a wonderful town overcrowded by tourism. The San Pietro is in the outskirts of the town and therefore is quiet and calm. The view is stunning, the balconies have two comfortable chairs where you could stay forever. The restaurant is excellent and the swimming pool is adequate. The rooms are a little bit outdated but charming and the lobby and common areas are nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Realy worth upgrading room for sea view. Lovely sized balcony. Rooms lovely and maid service excellent. Food lovely if you like fish but very difficult and restricting for vegetarian. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely swimming pool and pool service very good. One thing they do not make clear is the need to book the shuttle service.

Room Tip: Sea view. Sun first thing but lovely shade in the heat of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had such a lovely time in the Grand Hotel San Pietro. The hotel was lovely and the staff so very friendly. The walk into the main square at night was good. Not one for older people who hate climbing steps but they have a courtesy car that takes you into the square and will meet you at certain times. The only thing i didnt like was the piano player! A couple of nights a week it was fine but when you came back from an evening out it was the same old tunes every night. Would be good if they could have a jazz singer or something occasionally. September is a really lovely time to go too as the temperature was perfect and their swimming pool was a lovely size too.

Room Tip: book a room at the back of the hotel as you get to see mount etna and the swimming pool. also you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Luxurious hotel, friendly staff & good food, you get what you pay for ! Highly recommended. Wi-fi definitely needs an update & would have liked tea making facilities in room.
Reviews surely should be succinct so why 200 character minimum ? This doesn't assist in reading reviews!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tardiswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Grand San Pietro. The rooms are very nice. The sea views are spectacular. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is delicious. Two minor additional benefits are the hotel has satellite TV so the number of stations available are much more than most European hotels and the wifi reception is much faster than most other hotels. Our only complaints (and they are very small complaints) are that the shuttle buses to town and the beach run infrequently and the staff at the front desk do not speak English as well as most other European 5 star hotels. However, those two minor complaints did not have any impact on our fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#43 of 87 in Taormina
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $349 - $1,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing