We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Went for dinner; stayed the night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Went for dinner; stayed the night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been a fan of 'Relais & Chateaux' establishments for years, and this Hotel is no exception. It almost hangs off the side of the road high up overlooking the sea and a room with a sea view is a must. The view from the Balcony is stunning and comfortable chairs encourage you to relax and take in the surroundings. Beautifully decorated public rooms abound and Staff are attentive to detail without being in your face. The food which was the original reason for my visit could not be faulted and the wine list extensive. I will return one day to take in the swimming pool and the 'shuttle' to the private beach, and to spend more time in this wonderful part of Sicily.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, you'll regret it if you don't. A suite if you really want to treat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloDanbury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    91
    34
    18
    6
See reviews for
49
192
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Taormina is a wonderful town overcrowded by tourism. The San Pietro is in the outskirts of the town and therefore is quiet and calm. The view is stunning, the balconies have two comfortable chairs where you could stay forever. The restaurant is excellent and the swimming pool is adequate. The rooms are a little bit outdated but charming and the lobby and common areas are nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Realy worth upgrading room for sea view. Lovely sized balcony. Rooms lovely and maid service excellent. Food lovely if you like fish but very difficult and restricting for vegetarian. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely swimming pool and pool service very good. One thing they do not make clear is the need to book the shuttle service.

Room Tip: Sea view. Sun first thing but lovely shade in the heat of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had such a lovely time in the Grand Hotel San Pietro. The hotel was lovely and the staff so very friendly. The walk into the main square at night was good. Not one for older people who hate climbing steps but they have a courtesy car that takes you into the square and will meet you at certain times. The only thing i didnt like was the piano player! A couple of nights a week it was fine but when you came back from an evening out it was the same old tunes every night. Would be good if they could have a jazz singer or something occasionally. September is a really lovely time to go too as the temperature was perfect and their swimming pool was a lovely size too.

Room Tip: book a room at the back of the hotel as you get to see mount etna and the swimming pool. also you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Luxurious hotel, friendly staff & good food, you get what you pay for ! Highly recommended. Wi-fi definitely needs an update & would have liked tea making facilities in room.
Reviews surely should be succinct so why 200 character minimum ? This doesn't assist in reading reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tardiswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Grand San Pietro. The rooms are very nice. The sea views are spectacular. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is delicious. Two minor additional benefits are the hotel has satellite TV so the number of stations available are much more than most European hotels and the wifi reception is much faster than most other hotels. Our only complaints (and they are very small complaints) are that the shuttle buses to town and the beach run infrequently and the staff at the front desk do not speak English as well as most other European 5 star hotels. However, those two minor complaints did not have any impact on our fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglisau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just returned from a great week in Taormina staying at the Hotel San Pietro with our two little children. Even though I would not call the San Pietro a Family Hotel per se our Kids had a fantastic time. Everyone was very Kids friendly and did their outmost to make our stay great for all of us. I would like to especially highlight and thank Gino for being such a great host in the Restaurant. His suggestions and outstanding customer service really made a difference. Enjoying the quiet views over the sea all over the Hotel including the rooms, Restaurant and pool while being able to jump on a free shuttle provided by the Hotel to the Beach where we enjoyed free of charge chairs/umbralla was very unique and we used the Service multiple times. The only area of potential improvement to accomodate guest with small Kids would be to offer a Kids menu for dinner. They did a great Job to make some Pasta for the kids but a small menu with some choices would be even better. The Hotel is in perfect shape and is decorated very nicely with true antique furniture and paintings. Will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the 6th Floor what gave us fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch_family011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Jebel Hotel
El Jebel Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Property: Grand Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing