We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with terrific views”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Villa Angela sits high upon the mountain overlooking Taoramina on the Via Leonardo Da Vinci.
Above lies the small fortress town of Castelmola.
We stayed at the tail end of June start of July. It is as most reviewers have commented a wonderful hotel. It is clean with staff that are very helpful. We had a room with a large balcony that was wonderful to rest on. The pool is good, not heated, but the terrace and pool area are clean and well kept.
When you book this hotel you will probably have been advised that there are no evening meals except on Monday. Breakfast is basic, and lunch not too bad, but you cannot help feeling that Villa Angela is missing a trick by not offering evening meals. When you have had a long day out it can be a bit of a pain to arrange another trip to town, however, if you use Al Saraceno (see below) you will not feel cheated!
Take this into account because round the immediate vicinity there is only one noteworthy restaurant, the Al Saraceno that sits above the hotel on the Madonna Della Rocca. To go to town you can pre book the hotel shuttle (€20 per week per person), and book the trip back, not very spontaneous as you will clock watch, but useful nonetheless.
Drinks, both from your mini bar and the hotel bar are reasonably priced.
There is a walkway at the end of Madonna Della Rossa that leads down to town which at a steady pace would take 15-20 minutes. To walk up anywhere in Taormina you need to be fairly fit, it will not forgive dodgy knees, backs or anyone prone to breathlessness!
The main thoroughfare, the Corso Umberto is lively, expensive, plenty of banks, cafes, and shops, but off the beaten track lies a wealth of better value eating places and shops.
There is a lovely inexpensive cafe at the end of the Via Del Ginnasio just before you get to the public gardens.
For gifts that are not souvenir in style, visit Gifts on the Via Del Ginnasio, the shop run by a lady from the lakes has a wealth if inexpensive but beautifully different gifts.
No trip to Taormina can be done without seeing the Theatro Grecco, great views and soaked in history, €8 per person, or Castelmola.
Taxi’s, which we used a lot, are €15 from/to town. The hotel are happy to book for you.
If you visit or plan a visit to Etna, good shoes and a warm coat/fleece are a must.
All in all a lovely place, super hotel, but do remember Taormina is not hilly, it is mountainous, and to get anywhere is a trek because although as he crow flies it does not seem far, the inclines and incredible winding roads with no pavements have to be negotiated.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanforddjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 935 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

The first thing you notice upon arrival is that the hotel and the surroundings are quiet, and the front office staff makes you feel so, so welcome!! It had the feeling of coming to a friends place. The whole place is so clean, the service is exellent! We got an amazing room, with a view of Etna. A bottle of cold Prosecco and fresh fruits were delivered to our room after 10 minutes.

The poolarea with nice towels and sunebeds were clean and very nice. The hotel offers you a shuttle bus service down to Taormina during the whole day (about 5 minutes drive). The service worked perfectly!

We had some of our best meals in the restaurant of the hotel. The staff, food and drinks were amazing!

We spent our first week of our honeymoon at Villa Angela and we should have stayed there for another week as well!! For the second week, travelling around the island, we longed back to Villa Angela, the rooms, the staff, the food, everything.

See you next year!

Karin & Anders Safwenberg (Micros Fidelio), Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safwenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Set overlooking Taormina and bay this is one of the loveliest hotels we have ever stayed in. Floors start - reception, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, -1 (dining) and down steps to pool and sun area. Designed in very traditional Sicilian style this hotel lives up to its 4* status. A courtesy mini bus runs all day up and down to Taormina for 20 euro each and we considered this great value. Those wishing to walk can take the steps from the old church above Villa Angela to town - 10 mins - or further down other steps which necessitate crossing two roads - not busy. The hotel provides b & b and lunch - available until after 3 but dinner on one evening only. This was not a problem - lovely restaurant five mins away and Toarmina 5 mins on bus. Staff exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here on honeymoon with our 3 month old baby and had a lovely time. Our room had a large balcony with views of the sea and Mount Etna. All the staff were friendly and always smiling which really made a difference.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Taormina old town and the walk is not suitable for those with buggies or old people as there are lots of steps but there is a shuttle bus which goes regularly throughout the day and night. You pay for the bus but it is a lot cheaper than what you would have to pay for in taxis (I think about 20euros for the week). The hotel is about 5 mins away from one restaurant set in the hills which we went to and is definitely worth a visit. The hotel will be able to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londongirlie242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I chose the Villa Angela after doing some TA research and I am delighted to say that it surpassed all our expectations.
We have just returned after a 7 night break at this wonderful hotel and really cannot fault it.
Location, staff, rooms all 1st class. What we were really impressed by was the attention to detail in the finish of the rooms/services etc. This hotel has a cool, chic elegance.All rooms have the same wonderful view of Etna and the town below and the large balconies are perfect to sit out on. The staff are polite and helpful, always managing a smile at any hour of the day.
The shuttle bus is pretty essential for the return from the centre of Taormina but we enjoyed occasionally walking in despite the 500 plus steps.
The hotel restaurant is only open on a Monday evening which I felt was a shame as the food served was excellent and it was nice not to have to travel down into town that night.
Thanks to all at the Villa Angela for a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarebreed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

stayed at villa angela for our 25th aniversary two week stay but made short due to family problems listen everyone if your thinking off staying in sicily please please stop looking at other hotels and just go to villa angela the hotel the views the food the service and most off all the staff are the best anywere in the world and thats from me who as traveled and stayed at a lot off hotels on our travels to say what i would like about this place would fill a book just that it is the best and should be the no1 hotel in the area and to katharine thankyou thankyou for all your help your a star love and see you all soon paula and ian

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at this lovely hotel. We chose the Hotel to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we couldnt have made a better choice!

The whole hotel was immaculately clean. Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a lovely large terrace - with sunbeds and table/chairs. And what an amazing view of Mount Etna and the sea - FANTASTIC.

Breakfast was buffet style - great choices. Even some local sicilian dishes to try out!
We had lunch and dinner at the Hotel on a couple of occasions and found the food to be of a very high standard - brilliant chef.

We used the Hotel shuttle to go to the town every evening - and sometimes during the day - very efficient service. The Hotel is set high above Taormina hence the amazing views - therefore the shuttle was a godsend ! We hired a car for one day and the Hotel arranged all this for us - the car was delivered to the Hotel and it was an extremely easy process. They helped us out with maps, directions and information.

But most of all we were extremely impressed with the efficiency and friendliness of ALL the staff. They were always willing to help in any way they could and they were so friendly - you felt like you had known them for years! They made us feel really at home and we really, really didnt want to leave!

On the actual day of our Anniversary the Hotel had arranged for some champagne on ice to be left in our room for our return - this was a lovely gesture and made our day very special.

Thanks to all concerned with Villa Angela.

We want to go back !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chez3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $222 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing