We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveler rating
879
126
23
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
879
126
23
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus simple minds mount etna shuttle service stunning views sun loungers set high al saraceno large balconies fantastic hotel bottle of prosecco our honeymoon special thanks moment you arrive four star hotel fantastic stay euros per person
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018

We stayed at Villa Angela for a week in mid October. We went to this hotel based on the exceptionally large number of excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The views are wonderful and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room with a large terrace and fantastic view, like all the rooms. The room was kept spotlessly clean. If you don't want to walk down/back from town there's a shuttle they operate every half an hour which was ideal, 20 euros per person for unlimited use for the week. Taormina is beautiful but very busy so it was nice to get back to the hotel for some peace and to enjoy the wonderful views. Breakfasts were delicious with a great choice. On the road above the hotel is a restaurant (Al Saraceno) with a terrace that looks out over the region too. We had dinner there on a couple of occasions - recommend the grilled fish platter, with that, a glass of wine and the view it was simply magical. We would definitely recommend Hotel Villa Angela, it wasn't hard to see why many people go back time and again!

Room tip: All rooms have a great view and I think all the rooms are good.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank csKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

This was unfortunately the most expensive hotel we had on our road trip through Italy and not worth the money. The standard is clearly a three star not four star hotel. No idea how the Italian authorities provide these stars.. It's not a 'boutique hotel' as false advertised by the hotel. It clearly lives on its great views. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms must have been recently renovated but the furnitures are all 'rustic chic and cheap' - as if the hotel made a large order from a single supplier. The hotel is British owned. A boutique hotel usually lives on a mixture of decorative and more upscale styles, not each room looking identical.. We cannot comment on the food, On the positive side: the staff is nice and very helpful. On the negative: the hotel is up the hills and very hard to reach by car - I found it quite scary - not just because of the tiny hilly slopes but because of the Italian drivers. Not a relaxed arrival. Although the hotel has a car park it is unusable as too small (they did offer however to park the car for us - we were lucky to find a space on the street outside). Taormina itself was also a huge disappointment - a real touristy trap - one main street full with trashy souvenir stores. There is the greek theatre which is nice (however if you see the one in Syracuse it's surely sufficient). You do have the view of the Etna but maybe a day trip from Catania is sufficient. I cannot recommend staying there but if needed I'd recommend staying somewhere else 'downtown' not up in the hills.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 679theam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaorminaVillaAngela, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Angela, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear Thea

We work hard to earn the great reviews we receive and obtain them because guests are happy here and many return.

The contented guests see the ‘shabby chic’ furniture as a romantic and elegant touch for our new look interiors when the rooms were restyled earlier this year and bathrooms completely replaced.

They notice throughout the hotel the Sicilian crafted ceramics and quirky artwork, original sculptures and paintings by local artists, and appreciate their spacious room terraces from which to enjoy the amazing views of the Ionian coastline and Mount Etna.

They also appreciate that we have a car park which is free of charge, large enough for 10-12 cars and 24- hour staff who are ready to park and move their vehicles for them.

A ‘boutique hotel’ is generally small, independently owned, often with an unusual twist on traditional décor, and has friendly and welcoming staff that give it a family feel. We believe we are all these things (and more) and the guests who write the great reviews are obviously of the same opinion.

Although there are many tourists in Taormina (it’s a tourist town, yes, with souvenir shops), mingling in their midst are many of the local people going about their daily business. The lively pedestrianised main street with its paved and cobbled squares, pretty churches, chic restaurants and bars, traditional osteria and designer shops, is clean and well-kept and very safe to walk at all hours. There are plenty of interesting little side streets to explore, where locals live and work, and the beautiful public gardens offer a peaceful and shady haven.

The Greek theatres of Taormina and Siracusa are not the same, so both are well worth a visit, and it’s obvious that views of the volcano will take on different forms depending on where you’re standing. Who wouldn’t be in awe of the breath-taking view from Villa Angela, especially when there’s a colourful sunset?

Up in the hills? Yes please!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

We stayed at Villa Angela to celebrate a milestone birthday (one of those that ends in a zero) and it was absolutely perfect. The wonderful service started before we arrived when Katherine emailed me to offer a free bottle of Prosecco and make dinner reservations for the big day. We had an amazing view of Mt Etna and the sea from our large suite (it was the Etna Suite). And the breakfasts were delicious with the largest, and most diverse spread of food we saw on our whole trip to Sicily. The shuttle bus made it easy to go up and down to Taormina (and I am not exaggerating when I say "up and down!" because it's steep!), but you need to time it with their schedule. Unfortunately, we ran into some heavy rain in mid-October, so didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool, but it looked like it would have been fabulous. The staff had some great suggestions about things to do in the rainy weather, and made all of the arrangements (a wonderful wine tasting on Mt Etna one day, and a "Godfather tour" another day). All in all, I highly recommend the hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelin-Soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

My partner and I chose this hotel for our week's holiday in October as we wanted to stay in a character hotel within walking distance of Taormina, and the reviews were all so positive.

We had a superior deluxe double on the first floor, with a wonderful view of Etna. The room had everything we needed and the bathroom was lovely (although the basic toiletries were definitely not 'luxury' so bring your own). The cleaning ladies were extremely efficient (everything was spotless) and very glamorous and friendly; in fact, all the staff we met were approachable and helpful.

The weather was varied during our week, with some very hot days and some extremely wet, rainy days so we did find it difficult on the wet nights as there are only a few restaurants within walking distance and if you don't fancy going back into town (if you've spent the day there) the options are limited.

We didn't use the shuttle minibus as we were fine with the local bus service - which is extremely efficient - and also used the medieval steps down into Taormina several times (it does help to be fit; they are very steep!) . This is not a cheap hotel to stay in, and a part of me felt it was a little mean to charge extra to use the hotel shuttle bus.

The pool was very cold, but on a hot day that would be lovely. No problem with getting sunbeds but we didn't get the impression that the hotel was very busy; it was all very peaceful and although we saw a bar in the reception area we never saw anyone using it and evenings were very quiet indeed (possibly because it was end of season).

Breakfast was fine for our needs (lovely pastries) and we had one lunch at the hotel which was superb.

The balconies are large but are not at all private as there is only open trellis between you and your neighbour, and anyone standing at the end of their balcony can see into the next door bedrooms. I would have preferred more privacy.

Apart from that, I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone looking to get away from the hustle of the town and just chill out with the most beautiful view.

Room tip: If you have a whirlpool bath, make sure it works on the first night so they have time to fix it! We never had a chance to use ours.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a30lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews